×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Carpathian (Event Group Series #8)
     

Carpathian (Event Group Series #8)

3.6 27
by David L. Golemon
 

See All Formats & Editions

THE WORLD's most enduring MYSTERIES are about to be revealed.

Rumors of the seemingly magical victory that allowed the Exodus of Israelites from Egypt have resonated through the archaeological world for decades. However, new evidence has been discovered that points to an explanation of how the ancient Hebrews destroyed the unstoppable army of Pharaoh with

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Carpathian 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The premise and story line are interesting but the writing and editing were poor. This effort would be a poor first book. Not something I'd expect from an experienced author.
sandisadie More than 1 year ago
Before I got to page 100 I was seriously sorry that I'd purchased this book.  I've read all of Goleman's Event series and this just seemed to have been written by someone else.  Or maybe the editing was done by a novice.  All of a sudden though, Mr. Goleman must have taken over because the writing became crisp, the sentences became shorter and the story more readable and flowing.  An example of the poor writing - sentences had to be read several times in order to figure out what was being told.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Who edited this book. Idea great, read...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WOW WOW!!!! This is by far the best book of the series of eight. The ending will BLOW YOU AWAY....... Never saw it coming. This is one fantastic book - the entire series is just the best ever..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I agree with the Anonymous posting of 9/18. A difficult read and a very disappointing entry into the Event Group Series. The storylines in this book were extremely confusing and I found myself separating the storylines; reading each storyline separately and then trying to piece together each storyline into a complete whole. In this book the author's "voice" was very different from his other books, which leads me to ask who really wrote this book. Hopefully, the next book in the series will be better than this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for the next in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What happened? I cant believe DLG wrote this! Or did he have a parnter in crime doing most of the writing? Did anyone edit or proof read it? Way to many mistakes and way to many inconsistant with the storyline. Zallas said no one is to go to the castle yet two pages later Ryan and Pete is standing in the main hall of it! Jack, Sarah, Pete and Mr. Ryan is caught and in a suite with Zallas when Janso entered. He sees the Americans and and Zallaa explains they are to.ve arrested for burglery. Janso then stated that Gina is missing. Then some fifty pages later he tells Zallas that Gina is missing and the 4 Americans are missing too (uh?) Zallas stated the Americans probably checked out and left, taking Gina with them (double uh?). The most elite group ever put together and they acted like bumbling amateurs without a plan. And "Colonel Jack Collins, United States Army and Congressional Metal of Honor Recipent" was at a loss of what to do, even asking Sarah, Pete and "Mr. Ryan" (?) "Recommendations?". For Pete sake, they're in hotel suite with a wet bar, no guards in the room and not tied up! It took Janos Vajic, a secert agent, to come to thier rescue by breaking a windown with a simple chair (yes, a chair) and then told them how to exit the room! How embarrassing for the most elite group ever put together! And even I would know to keep my mouth shut and not make a sound while riding in top of a cable car with Zallas inside, unlike Jack and Sarah! Unless I missed the part where it said the car was sound proofed? Madam Korvesky refused pain meds because any introduction of toxicant or opiate would interfere with the spell casting but she sure didn't mind that morphine! I could go on and on, but in the end the most elite group of people ever put together was luckly to have the Golias (oversized german sheppards) and a band of seriously sterotyped gypsies to complete this important, history changing "Event"! And what is with that overplayed "cliff hanger" ending? Trying to get people to buy the next book just to see what happens??? It was never done in the books before, why start now?????? Maybe its just me, judging from all the 5 star rating this book recieved, but it just was NOT up to DLG standard of writing! I always thought the more you write, the better you become?
LaScrabbler More than 1 year ago
Typical of the Event Group series-fast moving, great background, and favorite characters. This could be one of my favorites. Novel idea on an age old Biblical story. Couldn't wait to find out the end answers but disappointed that the story had to end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic!!! One of the best books of this type I have ever read!! I hope he follows this up with another that is just as good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The whole series has been a good read.   I hope Golemon keeps the series going.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
fast moving. entertaining. an interesting theory on an ancient event.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read, as are all his books. I look forward to the next one and hope it picks up where this one ends.
TeriHam More than 1 year ago
worth the wait.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mr. Golemon has hit his usual stride with another page turner. Good thing that I was on vacation when I started the one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
arbjamesAJ More than 1 year ago
Add myths, legends, secret operatives, Gypsies, and a little bit of science, mix well, et voila, you have Carpathian!  A top secret US government agency, known as the Event Group, goes on a search for a previously-unknown wolf species (known as the Golia) that is connected with one of the Lost Tribes of Israel and had direct impact on Biblical and historical events.  Of course, they are not alone in their quest as international forces collide, although each group has a different motive.  What secrets have been hidden in the Carpathian mountains for over 3000 years? The book began with a lot of action that promised non-stop thrills.  However, once I got to around page 50 the pace seemed to really slow down for quite a long time as the narrative jumped around all over the place (both geographically as well as in time).  At a certain point I actually wondered if I'd be able to finish the book.  However, once all of the various groups vying for the same prize finally came together in the same time at the same place, the action picked up and was truly non-stop until the end.  Interestingly enough, this is the second new book that I've read in the last couple of months that was set at least in part in a new Dracula's Castle tourist attraction, the other being Stoker's Manuscript. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago