×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Cat Heaven
     

Cat Heaven

4.6 22
by Cynthia Rylant
 

See All Formats & Editions

"The way to Cat Heaven is a field of sweet grass, where crickets and butterflies play!"
With a gentle, playful rhyme, Newbery Medalist Cynthia Rylant explores all the ways our beloved cats enjoy Cat Heaven, as she did for dogs in the bestselling companion book, DOG HEAVEN. Her shining artwork illustrates a world of peace for cats in Heaven, where no tree is too

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Cat Heaven 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome. I read this to my children the night before we had to put our 14 year old cat, Maximilian, to sleep. We all cried but it allowed for grief and happiness. Letting go requires feeling that there is something more out there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's amazing how a book meant for a child can help an adult cope with the loss of their cat. Colorful and whimsical illustrations add to the simple message of what cat heaven is like. The author shows that God has a sense of humor by letting the cats sleep on His bed and taking time to make cat treats from His oven. Sweet book. I would recommend this book to anyone who has lost a cat, knows a friend that is dealing with a loss of a cat or a child that is having a hard time with the loss of their cat. It's a nice book to if someone wanted to put the hardcover book next to a picture of their cat on a shelf or mantle. Adds a nice touch and reminder of where their pet is.
IowaReader More than 1 year ago
I gave this to my 10-year-old nephew after his family cat died and he really liked it. He wanted to carry it with him everywhere he went when he first got it. It helped him deal with a very difficult thing on a level he could understand.
GRAMS More than 1 year ago
Cynthia Ryland has written a wonderful book of simple reassurance for people (of ALL ages) who have lost a dear animal member of the family. Great illustrations and lovely text. I've given it to MANY friends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. I have given it as a gift to several friends and children to comfort them after their cats have died. However,the most recent copy I bought was for myself. My 18 year old cat, Finian finally succombed to her several health problems just months after my other cat, 18 year old Tempest, had to be euthanized because she had mouth cancer. I read this sweet book (the first time in several years) and remembered and grieved my wonderful cats.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wow!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lynnelondon More than 1 year ago
To say goodbye. It wil make you smile through your tears.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kiran Masroor More than 1 year ago
a cute nice book! go cats!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was given to me when I lost my beloved D.J., my calico of 17+ years, and while it continues to make me cry because I keep her in mind while reading, it also brings a level of comfort that I'm certain all people who've lost a kitty will appreciate.
Guest More than 1 year ago
a must for every cat lover who has lost their beloved pet(and those who haven't) I love the diversity of the characters portrayed in the illustrations, will make you a believer that, yes, there really is a cat heaven, - especially great for children young and old
Guest More than 1 year ago
i bought this book when my beloved cat Rudy took ill. he has since passed on, as have 2 more of my furry friends. this book always brings a smile to my face and tears to my eyes.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My daughter and I read this book daily. She is 17 months old, and she loves the illustrations. We are animal lovers, and although I am certainly not an expert in theology, I truly believe that our furry friends indeed travel to the yellow front door to meet the angels and sleep on God's bed. Children need an explanation when a beloved pet dies, and I hope this comforts my daughter when our furry housepals are no longer sleeping by our feet.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is marvelous for people who have just lost a cat or for those who are just plain cat lovers! The illustrattions are cute and funny and the book makes you fel warm all over!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got dog heaven because my dog maui had to be put down because of cancer. That made me so very sad. My great friend got me dog heaven and i went in to tears whe reading i was so touched and wonderstruck that i cried myself to sleep. It's been 1 year now and 1 mounth and 5 days and 7 and 27 mins sence he was put down. I remeber for ever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. I have it in my bookshelf. Don't buy it for the nook.
Rodney Aberegg More than 1 year ago
How many pages does it have?