×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Catch of Consequence
     

A Catch of Consequence

4.5 14
by Diana Norman
 

See All Formats & Editions

A captivating historical novel from the national bestselling author, as Ariana Franklin, of Mistress of the Art of Death.

Makepeace Burke serves Patriots at her late father's tavern on the Boston waterfront in 1765 and hates the redcoats with a vengeance. But even she can't watch an angry mob drown an Englishman. She rescues him and nurses him back to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Catch of Consequence 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
eagle3tx More than 1 year ago
Historical Fiction. Insightful look at pre-Revolution Boston and late 18thC London society. Strong, independent female lead makes this book worth the read. The 12thC England Henry II 4-book series, Mistress of the Art of Death, is better.
Indy25 More than 1 year ago
I will not waste your time by a summary you can easily surmise from other reviews. The bottom line: I read a lot of historical fiction, and this was as solid a researched piece as I have read in quite some time. The cadence of the speech, the rich detail of people, places and things-the author did her legwork. For the first half of the novel, I was spellbound. The characters truly lived and breathed and I with them. The second act of the book failed to draw me (for reasons I cannot indulge without spoiling the plot), and for that reason, I have little interest in reading the sequel to this book. But if you are looking for a solid read and willing to wade through a bit of convoluted introspection, go ahead and buy this book. I don't think you'll be disappointed.
lazydayzmom More than 1 year ago
All of Diana Normans books are amazing and captivating. Her other books under the name Ariana Franklin are even more so. Her death this past year is a great loss in the literary world.
Nat-the-Cat More than 1 year ago
This was a Great book. I loved Makepeace, and my copy of this book will stay in my library.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was a little slow to start, in my opinion, but once I got into it I couldn't put it down! Makepeace is a strong woman who is able to survive no mater what life hands her. I really enjoy historical fiction and this book did not disappoint.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1765 Boston, tavern manager Makepeace Burke despises the English crown and aristocracy for what they are doing to her and her fellow colonists. However, that does not stop the twenty-four year old from rescuing Sir Philip Dapifer from drowning in the Charles River. Her Good Samaritan deed leads to her ostracism from her friends and other patriots.

Philip falls in love with his savior and returns the favor by sneaking her on board a ship bound to England. They marry on the vessel, but Makepeace finds life in England worse than Boston because the locals treat her with scorn for being a Yankee. As she adapts to her new life, Makepeace stays true to her beliefs of equality across the Anglo Atlantic, between classes, and between genders.

Though in many ways Makepeace is an anachronism seemingly more suited o live in today¿s society than the pre-Revolutionary War era, readers will admire her spunk. The story line enables the audience to taste life just before the war in Boston and London with an emphasis on the disparity of opinions. This fascinating dual look at the dichotomy make for a vividly fine historical tale that shows Diana Norman can paint multiple perspectives without dismissing either side inside an entertaining romance.

Harriet Klausner