×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Catching Heat
     

Catching Heat

3.9 8
by Alison Packard
 

Life has taught Angie DeMarco that all baseball players are womanizers, and her incredible one-night stand with sexy San Francisco Blaze back-up catcher J.T. Sawyer seemed to prove it. Determined not to give in to their sizzling chemistry a second time, she's kept her distance ever since, focusing on her accounting job with the team. But now she's laid off&

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Catching Heat 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
beckymmoe More than 1 year ago
Absolutely adored J.T.! Such a great guy--a dedicated athlete, loves his family, idolizes his dad and wants to be the same kind of man he is--what's not to love? Watching him agonize over Angie in the last book had me practically salivating to get to his story :) Angie's a strong character, though hooo boy, did her parents do a number on her. Her mother's extreme bitterness over her father's infidelity was mind-boggling, and the way it warped Angie's view of male-female relationships is pretty much unforgivable. As a result, it took Angie waaay too long to figure out that J.T. was nothing like her dad, and I spent a good chunk of the book shaking my head at her in exasperation, but come around she did--thank goodness. Once again here, though, we had a black moment that hinged on a slightly over-the-top reaction from one of the characters since the thing they were upset about wasn't something that had been kept from them at all. It was a brief moment of aggravation, though, and it all was resolved satisfactorily in the end. Plus, the epilogue was abso-freaking-lutely adorable! And J.T.'s family? Let's just say I'm hoping every single one of those brothers is getting his own book :) (Even Justin...even though he's a total butthead for 95% of this book, I'm sure getting his own HEA would cure that ;)) But Angie's mother? If I never see her again it will be too soon... (shudder!) Rating: 4 stars / B+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this story!!
RomanticReadsandSuch More than 1 year ago
When I read The Winning Season I was super excited about the possibility of J T’s story and Packard doesn’t let me down.  Unlike the Matt & Kelly’s story, this one isn’t quite as angst ridden but it still packs an emotional punch.  I adore Packard’s writing style – it’s tight without a lot of unnecessary drama (which she could have easily done based on J T and Angie’s troubles) and it flows very smoothly.  I was so engaged I didn’t even notice how quickly I worked my way through Catching Heat and I was very sad to see it end, although very happy for J T and Angie.  He has three brothers though so I’m expecting to see more of the Sawyers and I’m super excited to see what Packard brings us.  Based on how much I’ve loved the two I’ve read, I’m sure I won’t be disappointed.  Full review available at Romantic Reads and Such on wordpress. (Complimentary copy provided in exchange for an honest review)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great love story. Angie and j t are wonderful together. Please continue the stories of this family
ljtljtljt More than 1 year ago
Good Book! I was so excited after reading the book blurb from Catching Heat by Alison Packard, I just had to get it. I am a huge fan of the "marriage of convenience" romance and this book is an excellent addition to the genre. This story is well-written, hot, and easy to read. Angie, an accountant, and J.T., a professional baseball player, have been attracted to each other for a long time. One evening they give into their temptations and end up experiencing the best sex of their lives. Weeks later, Angie realizes she is pregnant and then loses her job. Reluctantly, she agrees to marry J.T., in order to do what is best for both her and her child. Angie and J.T. are great together and their chemistry is heart-warming. I loved the way their relationship developed into something more, through lust, friendship and love. J.T. is a good guy, and his loving family accepts Angie into their lives with grace. I really liked this slightly emotional, nicely-paced romantic read. The characters are well defined and engaging. This is the second book I have read by Ms. Packard and it definitely won't be the last. ARC provided by NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
ysar More than 1 year ago
Angie DeMarco knows better than to get involved with a pro ballplayer. Players on the field tend to be players off the field, a fact she learned young thanks to her philandering father. So when she finds herself waking up next to the epitome of a player, she runs. But she can’t run from the consequences. Pregnant and unemployed, she’s determined to figure something out. She’s getting nowhere with job applications, unemployment checks won’t cover her expenses, and it won’t be long till she’s unable to pay her rent. But that doesn’t mean she has to attach herself to the man she was hoping to avoid, does it? J.T. is stunned to find out he’s going to be a father, but he’s determined to take responsibility and do the right thing. Angie’s not making it easy, though, first refusing his less-than-romantic proposal, and then accepting it — with a no-sex clause. She doesn’t trust him, no matter how often he shows her that he’s a good guy who can take care of her. Getting her to fall for him, to give him a real chance with her, is going to take more work than he expected. But he’s pretty sure she’s worth it. But... I don’t know if I’d necessarily call them loose ends, but there were several pieces played up in the story that ended on an odd note…if it can really be considered ending. Take Angie’s mother, for instance. Angie’s entire distrust of ballplayers comes from the way her father betrayed her mother, something her mother never lets her forget. And as expected, her mom’s none too thrilled that Angie’s gotten herself knocked up by exactly the kind of man she’s always warned her about. But after her mom plays a big role in the climax of the story, she sort of drops out. There’s just no closure there at all. And J.T.’s brother…he’s all kinds of suspicious of Angie and gives her one hell of a hard time. But then after the big scene at the bakery, that bit is kind of brushed away in favor of the happily ever after. Did he have a change of heart? See Angie for who she really was? Decide he really wasn’t concerned after all? Fall into a volcano? I have no idea. The Verdict... I expected a somewhat standard romance, since the book seemed like it was going to go with a very standard plot, but instead I got some pretty good surprises. For one, Angie and J.T. aren’t your typical characters in the got-knocked-up scenario. He’s not a philandering jerk who has to be convinced to settle down and take responsibility, and for all her troubles, Angie isn’t looking for someone to ride in and save her. While J.T.’s just an incredibly good guy, Angie is wary and independent, and it made for a really fun read. Theirs is a slow journey, with lots of time spent overcoming their hang-ups and looking deeper into the characters. Also a nice change from typical stories in this vein is that they were both just pretty normal people. Their character flaws added to the story instead of going way over the top, and seeing J.T. work so hard to win her over was just heartwarming. I liked him so much that I started getting a bit annoyed with Angie’s reluctance to give him a chance, but when I thought about it, I really couldn’t blame her. After all, it’s easy to get snowed by someone who may not turn out to be who they seem. It’s a marriage of convenience, of course, and while I obviously expected it to build up into something more, I like the way it was done — nicely paced, a few steamy moments tossed into the mix, and ultimately a sweet happily ever af