×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Cemetery John: The Undiscovered Mastermind Behind the Lindbergh Kidnapping
     

Cemetery John: The Undiscovered Mastermind Behind the Lindbergh Kidnapping

4.5 12
by Robert Zorn
 

See All Formats & Editions

For seventy-five years, the kidnapping and murder of Charles Lindbergh's infant son has gone unsolved.
Evidence, opinion, and logic have discredited the notion that Bruno Richard Hauptmann --electrocuted in 1936 --acted alone. In this meticulous and authoritative account of the crime, the trial, and the times of the Lindbergh kidnapping, Robert Zorn clears away

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Cemetery John: The Undiscovered Mastermind Behind the Lindbergh Kidnapping 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
bookzilla27 More than 1 year ago
Cemetery John is one of the most fascinating books I've ever read! I literally could not put it down. Although a nonfiction book, Cemetery John is as easy to read as any popular work of fiction. Mr. Zorn makes this very complex case easy to understand without trivializing the subject. Also, he never resorts to sensationalism, obscenity or vulgarity -- and thus makes the book suitable for all readers. This book does not deal with Lindbergh's later life, as that had no bearing on the kidnapping case. This book deserves a wide readership. Obviously, it will appeal to history buffs, followers of true crime and mystery lovers. But it can be read and enjoyed by anyone who wants an absorbing and fascinating book.
SouthernCPA More than 1 year ago
Thirty years after the “Crime of the Century” was committed, economist Gene Zorn realized that he possessed vital clues concerning the case. As a teenager growing up in the Bronx, Zorn had actually overheard his neighbor, John Knoll plotting the kidnapping of Charlie Lindbergh. Gene’s son, author Robert Zorn, took over the investigation and discovered compelling evidence linking Knoll to the crime. By utilizing modern crime solving techniques and consulting top experts (there’s actually an impressive list of experts quoted in the book), the author makes a very strong case against Knoll. “Cemetery John” is a fascinating book and an enjoyable read. I highly recommend it.
cquinn5 More than 1 year ago
I saw the book in Barnes & Noble the other night on the way home from work: CEMETERY JOHN by Robert Zorn. It looked beyond intriguing. The main premise of the book is that Bronx resident Bruno Richard Hauptmann, the rightfully reviled man who was most certainly a part of the kidnapping of aviator Charles Lindbergh's baby in 1932, did not act alone. Hauptmann's participation in this sick crime, in which the kidnapped baby was killed, despite the Lindberghs having paid a hefty ransom, may well have been as a mere accomplice and follower in what was known as "The Crime of the Century." The leader? One John Knoll, whose neighbor in the Bronx was author Robert Zorn's father, Gene. Gene had shared his belief of John Knoll's involvement with Robert for years. Both father and son had unofficially worked to prove Gene's theory. Gene has since passed away, and Robert continued with researching the case. The astonishing result of what the Zorn men found is this new book. The title is taken from the fact that "John" was the name the kidnapper identified himself by when meeting with an intermediary at a Bronx cemetery, where he was given the ransom money for the child who was, by then, probably already dead. Hauptmann maintained until his execution that he himself was not "Cemetery John," though of course nobody believed him; part of the ransom money was definitely found secreted on his property. Besides, if Hauptmann had been "Cemetery John," while on trial for his life, he'd never have admitted it. 'Twas the night before payday when I spotted the book in the store, so I decided I'd come back and pick it up the next evening, once I had a bit more cash in my purse. By the time I returned, a mere 24 hours later, the store appeared to be sold out of copies. The staff had to find one for me since the rest of them had already been sold straight off the shelves. Such is the power of a well-written, entertaining and fabulously researched book. I don't want to say too much more about the content of this amazing story, since to do so would spoil it for any potential readers. All I will say is that I cannot recommend this book enough! It's the research coup of the year, and if you want a great true crime read, run right out and buy your copy today - before your bookstore runs out of them, too. Hats off to both Robert Zorn and his late father, Gene!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mr. Zorn presents a riveting account of the heartbreaking crime and of the bizarre trial that marked the end of the official investigation into the Lindbergh kidnapping. His perspective is unique and intensely personal, yet he approaches the subject with commendable objectivity and clarity. Zorn has wisely confined his analysis to observations related to the crime rather than delving into later controversial events in the life of the renowned aviator - events which clearly had no bearing on the 1932 kidnapping. I detect no hero worship in this account .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A superb and lucid account of the crime, trial and disposition of the case. highly plausible account.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a criminal defense lawyer, I have long been fascinated with the Lindbergh kidnapping and subsequent legal proceedings. This is an excellently researched and developed theory of the conspiracy and conspirators. I have no doubt that, if this case were to occur today, this evidence would be pursued and could result in capture of all persons involved.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read a number of books on this subject and on Lindbergh himself; I've also written one. Although the kidnapping, like the Kennedy assassination, can never be fully put to rest, this book offers some of the best theories of what really went on. As another reviewer pointed out, there is no reason to fault it for not discussing some of Lindbergh's later, sometimes distasteful, activities; those happened after the fact. If there is any "hero worship" here, it is justifiably in the author's admiration of his father and his dedication to continuing his father's work. It's a good book, very well written, and logically argued. I enjoyed it immensely.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hauptman was so not innocent, but he was also not alone. He was the scapegoat of the other(s) involved.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hauptman was innocent--what a railroading!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting from the first moment I started reading. If nothing else, the composite picture of cemetary John and John Knolls picture are one in the same. Never have I seen two pictures match so closely. The author has me convinced!
curbyputt More than 1 year ago
the story was just ok! it was a bit confusing at times until you remember that the story is being told as hear say.thru the author's father.