×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Chainfire (Sword of Truth Series #9)
     

Chainfire (Sword of Truth Series #9)

4.2 305
by Terry Goodkind
 

See All Formats & Editions

With Wizard's First Rule and seven subsequent masterpieces, Terry Goodkind has thrilled readers worldwide with the unique sweep of his storytelling. Now Goodkind returns with a new novel of Richard and Kahlan, the beginning of a sequence of three novels that will bring their epic story to its culmination.

After being gravely injured in battle, Richard

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Chainfire (Sword of Truth Series #9) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 304 reviews.
gr8skeptic1 More than 1 year ago
Having read the series from first book through the ninth book within the past 2 months, I found Goodkind's presentation in Chainfire extremely consistent within the context of the series and, as importantly, within the scope of the Wizard's Rules. Since each book reveals the next Rule, Goodkind has, in a wizard-like way, actually written the content of each book with the Rule in mind in regards to content and structure (e.g., Chainfire involves seeming contradictions when there can be no contradiction according to Rule 9). The brilliance of Goodkind will by-pass readers caught simply reading a good work.
Guest More than 1 year ago
well i'm fourteen and amazingly enough i absolutely love the sword of truth series. people call me a book worm but w/e this book was grrrreat! most of mr. gookind's books really had be flying through the pages, but this one not so much...i'm not going o go on about the bad points of it because there aren't many, i love the series and i highly recommend these books =] mr. goodkind also like big words which if you don't a an extensive vocabulary i think you might get lost in this series haha
BolivarJ More than 1 year ago
In "Naked Empire", The sisters of the dark used their ability to begin creating weapons out of people, as it had been done in the time of the great war. Unfortunately for Lord Rahl, that was only the beginning. Only Terry Goodkind knows how to start a book, The ninth installment of The Sword of Truth is no exception. In "Chainfire" Goodkind defies all odds against survival, Richard Rahl faces to lose the one thing he values the most. Life itself. With superb writing, Terry Goodkind presents a book where Lord Rahl, the true seeker must find the answers he seeks for, the books starts with Richard struggling to survive after he had been almost killed in battle, and progresses to the shocking plot of this trilogy and full circle of the series. A plot only Terry Goodkind could have written. "Prophecy has been awakened, all forks regarding "The Pebble in the Pond" are tangled in this mantic root. Goodkind takes and gives what readers have been wanting to read for a long time. If you are a true fan, read this installment at your own peril. Goodkind's portrait of magic and prophecy is disturbing, eloquent, and magnificent. " 'In the year of the cicadas, when the champion of Sacrifice and suffering, under the banner of both mankind and the Light, finally splits his swarm, thus shall be the sign that prophecy has been awakened and the final and deciding battle is upon us.'" Goodkind's Chainfire marks the return of Richard Rahl as the true seeker, the author takes the foundation from the first three installments to come full circle. A rich cast of characters along with Richard Rahl in an enchanting journey through the cities of Aydindril, The Old World, The People's Palace and a place in D'hara long forgotten known as the Deep Nothing. Terry Goodkind comes back full circle with "Chainfire", the beginning of the final battle, Prophecy, and destiny. Books of prophecy are discovered in catacombs known as central sites with knowledge of no existence to anybody. However; underneath those catacombs lies a hidden secret, something evil with the ability of the total destruction of life. In the " Pillars of Creation" Goodkind gave us a book without Richard and Kahlan, there was a reason for that. Chainfire starts the trilogy that would lead Richard Rahl to the final battle . Extremely disturbing in the sense that Goodkind doesn't hold anything back. I like the way he manages to bring old characters back from previous books. Shota's comeback is everything we should ask for. All those character readers wondered about, are coming back as the final trilogy starts. I like the fact that the author is very eloquent in writing Richard's journey, in creating the world of the sword of truth. With nine reviews written for this series, I will say that I have witnessed the enchanting world of the fantasy genre. The Sword of thruth has not had a slowdown since First Wizard's Rule. Goodkind creates great characters such as the Sisters of the Dark, Shota, Nicci, but most of all, he has given readers, Richard and Kahlan. Their lives have become part of all those of us, who enjoy reading, the ones that remember every rule and every book written before this one. Chainfire is simply irresistible, superb.
Xero_Rahl More than 1 year ago
From start to finish, Chainfire took me through an action thriller to which I had to keep reading to find out the clues to what happened and what will happen. Chainfire made me want to put this book at my highest priority just to get to the next chapter, and then the next, and then the next. The suspense was relieved at the exciting climax. I was literally that guy that was yelling at the book, trying to shout to the characters about whats going on. If you've read his other works, Terry Goodkind offers an excellent next chapter in his Sword of Truth series.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Hit by an Imperial Order soldier¿s arrow, Richard Lord Rahl nears death until Sorceress Nikki uses a ¿Subtractive Magic¿ spell to save his life. When Richard recovers he learns that his wife Kahlan is missing, but in spite of his insistence and need to find her, his companions insists that he has no spouse. The Subtractive Magic eliminated Kahlan from the minds of everyone except Richard. --- While Richard struggles with his personal dilemma, his enemy Emperor Jagjang has sent his armies to destroy cities previously liberated by Richard's forces. At the same time that the prophecy books that predict a Last Battle where only Richard might save the world, it now contains blank pages as if the future reality shifted because of the erasure of a pivotal item. Finally the Emperor has conjured up an invincible blood beast to destroy Richard. Using magic to try to locate Kahlan enables the beast to find him. Desperate for information, Richard visits a Witch Woman who gives him little information and after seeing his grandfather, he worries whether he has lost mind and consequently his way. --- CHAINFIRE is a terrific entry in the Sword of Truth series as Richard struggles with personal doubts and difficult selections involving Kahlan vs. saving lives that probably will die once he leaves them anyway. The story line is action-packed and filled with strong female warriors and a fabulous killing monster, but Richard and to a lesser degree the Emperor remains the center of the tale as their decisions impact often fatal others. Though some fans will balk at loose threads, epic fantasy readers especially of the long running saga will appreciate this fine entry that showcases how multifarious ethical principles truly are.--- Harriet Klausner
stvcti More than 1 year ago
I am nearly completed reading the last book in the series (i.e., Confessor) and have enjoyed Terry's writing style, creativity and overall saga throughout. The plot is often complex, based on values of integrity, empathy, honesty, good versus evil, etc. The characters and their association with the plot are well developed. However, the author sometimes spends too much time rehashing philosophical differences, between the two factions, albeit key to the plot, which is sometimes frustrating. Additionally, past events are sometimes regurgitated in subsequent volumes in a seeming effort to educate new readers who omitted previous books. Lastly, in several volumes, the author seemed to rush the conflict resolution after spending a great deal of time developing the contention and situation. Overall, when compared to other works in this genre, this series is a great read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Five of the first six books (except book 5, Soul of the Fire I think it was called) were between good and excellent. Book 6, Faith of the Fallen was TG's last hurrah- a very good work. But after that.. and especially Chainfire.. don't waste time or money. Just garbage.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kelley_Bean More than 1 year ago
Made me sad but I Loved it, Love Richard and Kahlan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Back to what works
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago