×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Children of the River
     

Children of the River

4.3 81
by Linda Crew
 

See All Formats & Editions

Sundara fled Cambodia with her aunt's family to escape the Khmer Rouge army when she was thirteen, leaving behind her parents, her brother and sister, and the boy she had loved since she was a child.

Now, four years later, she struggles to fit in at her Oregon high school and to be "a good Cambodian girl" at home. A good Cambodian girl never dates; she waits

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Children of the River 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 81 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We read this book for lit groups and it was amazing! It is a lot of love and emotional feelings. This book keeps you on your seat. I didn't like that most of the names were Khmer so they were hard to pronounce or even hard to read. This is a great book and i recommend it to people looking for a great love story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is not the real version , the original has like 300 pages and this one only has 168
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to read this book for school. I liked reading it to learn about the history of cambodia. I had never even known about what happened there. I thought sundara was a good protagonist because she had a lot of internal conflict. But i thought the romance was a little underdeveloped. I dont really get what sundara saw in jonathan other than that he was good looking.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book ten years ago when I was in seventh grade and it has stuck with me all these years!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lilmudduckmuffineater More than 1 year ago
Very good book. It is fiction but based on a real life war and customs of certain cultures. It made me glad to be me and live in this time. It's sad and makes you want to hope for the best when you know you'll only see the worst. To be torn away from everything you know and and everyone you love must be very hard and it was hard not to get emotional when reading parts of this book. If you have read this and didn't feel a thing there must be something wrong in your compassion department. Overall I say read it if you already haven't. I read this in jr. high and I enjoyed reading it again at the age of 22
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
My seventh grade geography teacher gave me this book to read, while I was out of the country. I mean it meant well, but I was disappointed. The hardships before their journey to America and the language barrier I can understand, but I was put off by the romance between Jonathan. It felt out of place and it ended up consuming the rest of the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book demonstrates the great and terrible aspects of life and just how hard it is to cope with them. The main characater, Sundara has a strong sense of courage trying to preserve her traditions and culture of Cambodia, while also trying to adapt to a new American lifestle. She goes against many of her fears and still is able to give space to what she truly desires from within her heart.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It was an assigned book when I was in junior high and at first I thought it wouldn't be very enjoyable, but it turned out to be one of the best books I have read. It made me cry at least three times. Must read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book starts out weird but then it really gets interesting. this book keeps your hopes up until the end. it has a powerful message that evolves slowly but it captivates all readers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book ¿Children of the River¿ was one fine book. It was like a journey through the past with romance, and action. It was about a girl named Sundara who had to move away from her county because of a war in Cambodia. Sundara had to make a choice between her family, and an American boy named Jonathan, she liked. So I recommend that everybody read this book. It will make you think about things like Sundara really had a bad time of it, or my life isn¿t bad after all, it will change your thinking. Today people in the world still have to live like they did in the story. At first, you may think the book is boring but it not, it gets better later. During the war in Cambodia, Sundara had to go with her aunt to the United States. While Sundara was in school in the United States people were dying in Cambodia for no reason. If you really think about it, things like that are probably still going on somewhere right now. Also, in her culture, she had to marry someone her parents choose even if she was in love with someone else. Arranged marriages still go on today in other cultures. The best part of the book was the romances in the middle of the book, which is about Sundara and Jonathan they were trying to sneak out at night. Sundara was the main character in the story. She was a very quiet girl that didn¿t know how to speak in English that well until later.