×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Chocolate-Covered Baloney
     

Chocolate-Covered Baloney

4.3 13
by KD McCrite
 

See All Formats & Editions

The last thing April Grace wants is more change in her life—but that’s exactly what she gets! Plus, April has a new mystery to solve when Myra Sue starts sneaking around and acting very suspicious!

From snooty new neighbors to starting junior high to getting a new baby brother to having her grandmother get a boyfriend,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Chocolate-Covered Baloney 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
JodyJ More than 1 year ago
I did not get to read the first two books in this series, and you really do not have to, to get the drift of what is going on although I am going to order them because I really enjoyed this book, April Grace being my favorite character of course. I love how she snoops around trying to be the little detective to find out everything that is going on in her household to no avail. April Grace is very blunt, with her witty and straightforward humorous perspective on life. This is set in the 70’s and April Grace goes through many changes and struggles that young girl’s today face, she reminded me so much of myself at that age. You will fall in love with April Grace, and many of all ages will find themselves relating to her I am sure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
May, June, July, August, September, October, November, December. The Confessions of April Grace book[s] were amazing. I wish K.D. Mcrite would write more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a fantastic book and yes you should read it
TWJ_Magazine More than 1 year ago
If you're a fan of books for tweens and teens, then you'll be a fan of K.D. McCrite and her lively young heroine, April Grace. This series takes place in the 1980's, before the age of cell phones and social media...which proves that tweens are pretty much the same regardless of the decade, and deal with the same kinds of issues. In Chocolate Covered Baloney, April Grace has a lot to deal with. A grandmother she's never met before shows up on the family doorstep, acting like she's family and ready to move right in. April's older sister, Myra Sue, is keeping secrets and acting mysterious, and April Grace still isn't quite sure how she feels about neighbors Isabel and Ian. In the third novel of a series (Confessions of April Grace), the title character lives up to her name...her middle name, at least. She learns a lot about showing grace, forgiving in love...and finally gets to the bottom of Myra Sue's secrecy...in the nick of time. April Grace is spunky and confident, and speaks her mind. She reminds me a little of the 80's sitcom character Punky Brewster...if Punky knew Jesus! Her family adventures are always fun and full of faith and love...with lots of humor thrown in for good measure. I've enjoyed the entire series, and Chocolate Covered Baloney lives up to its title. I highly recommend the first two titles in this series as well. (The Wordsmith Journal strives to guide readers to books of personal interest, with the understanding and respect that what appeals to some may not appeal to others. Therefore we attempt to keep our reviews focused on content, genre and style. The rating is necessary to make use of Goodreads and Amazon. It reflects the reviewer’s own level of enjoyment, but the review is intended to be informative for the benefit of all readers.)
book4children More than 1 year ago
This is a great book for a tween girl. April Grace is such an adorable character. I loved her to pieces. She was interesting, funny, and witty. The entire book is full of good, believable characters. The writing is clean and entertaining, while conveying the story and message clearly. Honestly, I just loved this book and would recommend it to any girl ages 8 and up. While this is the third book in a series, it also can be read as a stand alone novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the title and then the story. Chocolate-covered Baloney is marvelous! Bravo! I want book four now! JeanieL
AmandaKlopping More than 1 year ago
April Grace Reilly is a sixth-grade girl who definitely knows her own mind.  And in her topsy-turvy world, that's a very good thing.  She's got a grandmother who's dating a pastor from a neighboring church, an annoying sister who thinks she's God's gift to the soap opera world, and a Big Mystery on her hands.  To top it all off, April Grace's non-existent other grandmother drops in out of nowhere and becomes all too existent.  How's a girl supposed to stay on top of all of this? This was a delightful book to read.  April Grace has got the spunk and personality to match wits with Ramona Quimby any day of the week.  The first person point of view is very effective in this book.  We really get a great sense of April Grace's wit and frustrations with the people in her world.  She does read younger than sixth grade - but that's a very good thing, in this reader's mind.  A book like this would appeal to readers in fourth grade and up.  It's a very good example of middle grades fiction - and probably the best middle grades fiction book I have read in the Christian genre. The best part about this book was the writing.  McCrite is a very talented writer.  Chocolate-Covered Baloney has such amazing voice, and such skillful show-not-tell writing.  This is a book that any girl in the middle grades can enjoy reading.  I highly recommend this book . Disclaimer:  I was provided a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
April Grace is back! This is the third installment of April Grace, and the third one I have read and reviewed. As a fully-grown woman, I can't believe what passes for "reading material" for young women today. I have a hard time believing that young women can connect with the vapid characters, sorry plot line, and crass language. (Does that make me a prude? Maybe.) The fact that this series of books doesn't fall into those traps is what brings me back. April Grace always seems to find a mystery to solve, and we again follow along with a goofy cast of supporting characters including her sister. When I finish these books, I pass them along to my teenage cousins (young women currently ages 19 and 21), and they both enjoy them as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing! It is funny and very entertaining! XD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Now I didnt rate it because I didnt read it, is it a good book? I need to know because I want to read it! JUST WONDERING
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There is no message to be taken from the novel. It simply is a description of events that have taken place. In choosing Chocolate-Covered Baloney, I felt like reading something lighter and fun. I wanted that feeling of being a tween when I anticipated and dreamed of what life would be like in the coming years as I grew up. With the date of January 1987 on page 2, I was taken aback. I don’t think I even remember 1987! The novel has great chapter names, such as, ‘Oh to be Abducted by Aliens!’, ‘The Ways Spies Spy When Wind Blows in Their Eyes’, and, ‘A Real, Live Screaming Mimi,’ keep it entertaining. Along with the grandmother, April Grace’s paternal grandmother, who has the best sayings – ‘Good gravy, it is some kind of cold out there!’, ‘I sure do hope the deer stay off the highway. I can’t see a blessed thing after dark.’, ‘April Grace Reilly, what on earth are you doing, lolly-gagging in the old-lady aisle?’ Although I do not know where the Chocolate-Covered Baloney title came from - I don’t think it was even used in the novel – it is an easy read with short chapters. As an adult, though, the book drags.