×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Chosen (Guardians of the Word, #1)
     

Chosen (Guardians of the Word, #1)

4.1 52
by Jolea M. Harrison
 

Chosen is a fast-paced, vividly imagined epic fantasy adventure - location; Hell, Purgatory, the Demon's Lair, and Hell is everything it's cracked up to be when you're running for your soul.

Dynan Telaerin finds himself on a corpse-strewn hillside, uncertain if he's dead or alive, charged with saving his ancestor, the most powerful

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Chosen 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
Katya_Sozaeva More than 1 year ago
Dynan and his twin brother Dain don't know it, but they are born in fulfillment of an ancient prophecy, and if they can't live up to their destiny, it could mean the end of the world, brought about by the demon Belial. It all beings when Dynan finds a dangerous talisman while taking part in an archeological dig, and it ends up with him needing to find the originator of his line while in the spirit world. It is really hard to describe the basic plot of this book without ending up giving spoilers, so I'll have to leave it there. What I will say is that this is an amazing work of science fantasy (a fantasy story set in a science fiction world, I guess is the way to describe it) - the characters are developed wonderfully, the history is outlined enough to help the reader understand what is happening, and there is a perfect blend of character development and action to keep fans of both schools of writing happy. Anyone who enjoys a good story, especially in a science fantasy vein, should absolutely love this book - I highly recommend it and suggest you take the time to track it down and read it as soon as possible.
Nytechilde More than 1 year ago
What an imaginative concept!! I loved this book! If you enjoy fantasy/sci-fi, you cannot go wrong here. Fantastic characters and beautifully structured plotline. A nice mixture of "science" and the basic elements of fantasy, blended into a gripping tale.
MattJDrumm More than 1 year ago
CHOSEN is a wonderfully written Science Fiction\Fantasy story that centres on Dynan and Dain Telaerin, Identical twins and Princes of Cobalt who discover they were born with a destiny to save not only their world but every world and every person in existence. The writing is so good that it grips you from the first word and will not let you go until the last word and even then you'll still find yourself saying WOW. The characters are vibrant and fresh and exciting and the "world" created by Jolea while being full of SciFi and Fantasy is also very human and very believable, It is easy to imagine these events taking place and even to find yourself going along for the ride There is action, adventure, love, death, revenge, greed, political intrigue and everything else you could possibly want in a good story that you WILL enjoy and you WILL want to read over and over again. If you're looking for a great new book series to read I cannot recommend the Guardians Of The Word enough, So grab yourself a copy of Chosen and prepare for one fantastic and thrilling adventure and then you can go find the sequels!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I picked this up from best books, an app., where you can find booksfor free. And I saw this book, Chosen by Jolea m. Harris, And usually I don't pick science fiction, I usually pick horror novels, but this book looked good, so I read the readers' review , and I decided to give it a try, and I am so glad I did, It was extremely entertaining, and it was a great read, so I am tryingto ge Ms. Harris next book Myth. She has a great style of writing which I liked and it wasn't too descriptive, which was great, and I am looking forward to any other books she has written. Toeveryone else who reads this, I say Please get this book, ylu will like it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading Chosen by Jolea M. Harrison. I was gripped from the first words and couldnt get enough. I finished Chosen in about three days. Pros: The writing was so descriptive! I felt like I was seeing through Dynan's eyes. In fact the void chapters were so descriptive that I had nightmares lol. I thought the story flowed nicely and that it was a great conceptual idea and not at all what I expected from the plot summary. And I loved it. Cons: At times I felt it was the Dynan show and everyone else was along for the ride. The prophecy referred to twins but it seemee as if Dain had no purpose outside of being the other twin. 90% of the time he's "off screen." I'd love to see more about the royal family and their roles. My biggest complaint is that I cant seem to locate the next book Myth previewed at the end of Chosen. And it is killing me to see where this plot goes now!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I lived the book. But i wish the author would have explained alot of things in more detail and i hated the fact that she jumps from on scene to another overall GREAT READ!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can not wait for the next book to come out. This story is a must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for Myth to come out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Though sometimes difficult keeping all the characters straight I found the story to be strangely compelling. I am eager to read the next book - the ending of this one makes it clear that the story hasn't ended.
Anonymous 12 months ago
Archaeolibrarian More than 1 year ago
This book is a blend of science fiction and fantasy which works incredibly well. You also have soul spirits, demons, wraiths as well as the monks and Guardians of the Word. The story is rich and in-depth and will leave you wanting more. The world is well thought out and the characters all play their parts incredibly well. I don't think there is a single character that I thought could have had more development. Saying that, this is solely for this book because I can see that the story and characters both will continue to grow and advance as the series moves on. It is hard to say anything more without giving away any spoilers so I will leave it there. What I can and will say is that I can definitely recommend this to all fans of both Science Fiction and Fantasy. Whilst it is free, what you got to lose? Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really wanted to like this book, but I just couldn't get a grip on the story even though I read about 400 pages into the book. The characters just weren't real to me and I couldn't fall in love with either the good or bad guys.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed the book. Am now waiting for the remainder of the series to be available as Nook books for purchase. Anyone know when that will happen?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While I don't usually enjoy science fiction - I'm more of a medieval fantasy fan - the space travel and computer elements are not elaborated so much that they overshadow the medieval/feudal society elements of the book. Well worth reading the whole series! Fewer typos as you go and well written. I cheered for the heroes and despised the villains. I cried my eyes out in the final book - King.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved loved loved! It wasn't what I expected, but kept me hooked!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jen-L More than 1 year ago
Love it :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago