×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Christmas Sweater
  • Alternative view 1 of The Christmas Sweater
  • Alternative view 2 of The Christmas Sweater
     

The Christmas Sweater

4.1 324
by Glenn Beck, Jason Wright, Kevin Balfe
 

See All Formats & Editions

Based on a deeply personal true story, Glenn Beck’s bittersweet tale of boyhood memories, wrenching life lessons, and the true meaning of the giving season has touched the hearts of readers everywhere.

If you could change your life by reversing your biggest regrets, sorrows, and mistakes . . . would you?

When Eddie was twelve years old,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Christmas Sweater 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 324 reviews.
Gymbeaux More than 1 year ago
Yesterday I received an advanced order copy of Glenn Beck¿s book. Last night instead of watching mindless TV programs I began reading it. I have only read two other books cover to cover in one sitting, Living at the Summit by Dr. Tom Hill and The Little Gold Book of YES!Attitude by Jeffrey Gitomer but last night I read The Christmas Sweater cover to cover. Glenn Beck is well known for his political commentary and should anyone decide NOT to read his book because of his beliefs, it will be their loss. This is an amazing novel, not a political commentary, about a 12 year old boy who experiences rough times growing up and how he responds or better, reacts. It is a book about growing up, about believing in yourself, about having faith, and about change. The book brought back memories of people, places, things and events in my own life as a youngster that I had completely forgotten about. The book is based in part about Glenn¿s life as he explains at the end. It is a very compelling read that I not only recommend everyone reading but the book would make a fantastic Christmas gift especially if you get the collector¿s hard cover edition. Gymbeaux
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Glenn Beck didn't reinvent the wheel or come up with a message that has never been heard. That would be impossible. He did, instead give us the gift of a life lesson which is written from the heart. In a world filled with a sense of entitlement and having to have the next big thing, isn't it time that we reflect on what really matters? I believe so.
The Christmas Sweater reminds us that it isn't about the latest techno toy or sports car. It is about so much more and so much less. Well done Glenn Beck.
Warm_in_ID More than 1 year ago
This book touched me deeply. I am a cancer survivor and the message of this book was deeply understood. I am giving this book to as many people as I can afford to this year. If you don't understand the book at first read, save it until you need an attitude adjustment or a source of comfort in hard times. We all need to recognize what is most important in life and anything that can help us do that is of great worth. That is where this book is such a pearl. Deeply personal and poiniant, the message is much needed and timely for a world in turmoil.
tinac59 More than 1 year ago
My husband picked this up Friday afer work and read it that night. He passed it on to me. Now I know why he bought it, he knows what dark storms I've faced & this book was so powerful and meaningful to me.

Through the eyes of a young boy we are taught the greatest meaning of life, love and faith. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone and think it would be a wonderful gift idea.

Thank you Glenn for the gift you gave to your many fans and readers. I will keep your words close to my heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am writing to support Glenn Beck. His book is optimistic in these difficult times. It should not matter that he is opinionated on his TV show, and that he is not writing something terribly original. What matters is his desire to change the world and change people for the better. We can be happy in these tough economic times. Material things do not really matter in the short or long run! There are always going to be those who do not like him and will not like this book because they are suspicious of those who want to help others. That's too bad. They will never stop the good people of this world... those who know that despite the haters, they WILL make a difference. Ignore those who cannot see the goodness in his book.
lewisa More than 1 year ago
This has to be one of the most meaningfully, well-written novels I have read in my life. In times such as these, this novel came on the market in a timely way - more than Glenn Beck could have ever predicted or premeditated. I have given this novel as gifts and assigned it to all of my 8th-grade English students - both regular and honors. Not only does the story have a strong message, but it also has so many levels at which a reader can read and a teacher can teach!
KiKi-Tx More than 1 year ago
One of the best books for me this year. It takes you to a place where you know what is important in life. Much needed for today's world which seems to be out of step with what really matters. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Glenn Beck can be kind of obnoxious sometimes, but with politics and religion aside, this was an awesome book. I wasn't expecting it to be so good. Who knew that he could create a masterpiece out of his own expieriences in life? It was very inspiring to me to become a better person. I recommend this book to everyone. I liked it so much, I went and bought 3 more copies to give away for christmas presents!
patfan More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down, what a wonderful story! It filled my heart completely. Mr. Beck, thank you for your gift!
StrangeCloud More than 1 year ago
Glenn Beck's writing style is similar to his speaking style on his radio program: straight-forward with a touch of cynicism. Easy to read story with short chapters, compelling the reader to continue to the next chapter, and the next and the next. Based on his childhood, it's a story of suffering and redemption centered around his rejection of a gift from his mother, and his coming to terms with the self-created storms in his life. There are life lessons to be learned from this story. The earlier in life the better. Whether you agree with Beck's political positions and commentary or not, this book will touch your heart.
ChristianFictionReader More than 1 year ago
A fantastic book written by a fantastic guy. The book is genuine, like it's author. The book leaves you feeling all warm and fuzzy, like it's author. Mainly, the book has real meaning to it. It touches the heart in many ways. Brings us back to our childhood, through the words of Glenn Beck in going back to his. The ending knocked my socks off. I plan to read this book again.....soon! Great Christmas reading or anytime reading. I recommend this book most heartily! :)
CBarnes More than 1 year ago
Once I started reading I could not put it down. I cried many times. I preorederd two copies. (In addition, Glenn gave one away to our servicemen and women if you preordered two) One for me and one to give away. I will give away both with a note to pass it on.

Thank you Glenn
civilwargirl More than 1 year ago
The Christmas Sweater by Glenn Beck is a sweet and heartwarming story of forgiveness and redemption. When twelve year old Eddie receives a sweater for Christmas instead of the bike he believes he deserved it starts a series of events that will teach him about what is really important in life.
a.clark More than 1 year ago
childhood and the childhood of my children. It is a wonderful and touching book on family and faith.
LauraLee More than 1 year ago
I was given a beautifully bound and author signed copy from my brother for my birthday and it is my favorite gift. This book touches your heart, mind and soul and provides a wonderful opportunity for reflection, introspection and a change of heart. One can choose to make life altering changes after reading this special little book. Mr. Beck has a way with words and most descriptions of circumstances are painted vividly in expressive writing. I found myself giggling, smiling, tearing up and actually sobbing. I appreciate it when someone can stir such human emotions where one discovers genuine feelings of their own. I plan to give this book to those in my life that I love dearly. One time or another in our lives we will all need forgiveness, grace and atonement either for ourselves or others. Thank you Mr. Beck for sharing such a personal tale.
clayton More than 1 year ago
I bought the book yesterday and finished it the same day. Was a very good book and a good story also. I would recommend this book to anyone. I have already went and bought two more to give out.
LoseTheRadiosMa More than 1 year ago
Those familiar with Glenn Beck know his life story. Those who don't will still enjoy this book, which is loosely based upon an event in Beck's life. The message is simple: we become who we are based on events that happen in our lives but we don't have to remain that person. In order to not remain in stagnation, in order to be the best person we can be, we must face the demons of our pasts & be prepared to face the demons that will come our way in the future(the storm in the story). One character especially will leave his mark on the reader. He is metaphorical on many levels, including a level of spirituality. If you enjoyed Albom's The Five People You Meet In Heaven, you'll enjoy The Christmas Sweater.
Paperlace More than 1 year ago
This story based on a true experience is very well written. Moving and witty, it provokes the reader to do some deep soul-searching. An excellent book which I could not put down.
rosiland-russell-Tn More than 1 year ago
It is a very heart warming book. It makes a "Great" Christmas book to be read at Christmas time. I think the price is a little to high. Most people who need this book to bring some joy into their life during "this"
Christmas year will not be able to afford it.
CARLA ALTER More than 1 year ago
I read this book at the urging of a friend - and read it twice! A must read for old - and young - alike. Sensitve, inspiring, amazing, and gently reaches to your heart - a reminder we are not perfect - and that's okay - as long as we learn from life's experiences. A quick read that the second time around is even better. Enjoy and grow from the reminder of Christmas past .
J_Ruhe More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down and now I read it every Christmas. It is right up there with Dickens. Thank you Glen, you make us laugh, cry and think but most of all you gave me the best gift of my life you made me love to read. Since I started watching your show I can't get enough American History I even read historical fiction. I own 2 nooks thanks to you and B&N. You are a rare gift to this country and if the left would close their mouth and open their ears they just might learn something I know I did and I used to be one of them. God Bless you Glen.
LadyJai More than 1 year ago
This was a very heartwarming story everyone should read. It is especially helpful for those going through tough times, as we all do. It explains just how things happen and they are not our fault. Atonement is the most important highlight in this book, just as in real life. Your life is yours, and the path you take is your choice. Do not blame anyone else for your circumstances. But there is always time for 2nd chances. Highly recommended!
lacajunmom More than 1 year ago
A co-worker loaned this book to me because she thought I would enjoy it and I certainly did. I read it after the Christmas holidays but realized that this is not about Christmas but about everyday appreciation. I'm not so wrapped up in critiquing someone's writing style as other reviews herein have done but rate a book on how I feel after reading it. This book stayed in my thoughts for days afterwards so I hope to one day get my own copy for my personal library. It's a book enjoyable at any age. Read it for it's content value, not to judge the writer.
RoseCS More than 1 year ago
A great Christmas tale to put you in the spirit of the season. A bit lengthy but worth it. If you perfer shorter stories, Philip's Real Christmas Story is a must.
standup More than 1 year ago
Much needed book for our times. Never heard of Glen Beck - but now I am glad my secretary gave this to me for Christmas. She told me I would love it and she was right. She is getting a bonus! Merry Christmas to everyone!