×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

City at the End of Time
     

City at the End of Time

3.5 20
by Greg Bear
 

See All Formats & Editions

In a time like the present, in a world that may or may not be our own, three young people–Ginny, Jack, and Daniel–dream of a decadent, doomed city of the distant future: the Kalpa. But more than dreams link these three: They are fate-shifters, born with the ability to skip across the surface of the fifth dimension, inhabiting alternate versions

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

City at the End of Time 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Chrissysc77 More than 1 year ago
First book that i absolutely could not finish reading! I could not figure out what was going on in the 100 pages I read. It might have been from intense boredom that i zoned out while reading it, but I believe it is from the lack of explanation from the author. I hated it!! I feel I wasted my money!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am usually a fan of Greg Bear, but his was disappointing. While there are big scientific ideas at work in this novel, they are buried and difficult to work out. They are so poorly developed that the novel is really a fantasy rather than than hard science fiction. After all, the good guys win by joining, what in any other work, would have been called "magic stones" -- here, they are "summing stones." The characters are poorly developed and most of them are uninteresting. They are merely vehicles for a plot that grinds along until it ends with something very close to "And then a miracle occurs." Now, it's possible that Bear was trying to avoid having a scientist character who would lecture for pages about the science at issue. That is a noble undertaking. But it's not an excuse for putting the science in a Cuisinart, scattering it through the book and among the characters, and never developing it fully.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you wrote a poor review of this book, odds are you didn't read the entire story. If you didn't read the entire story, your opinion cannot be trusted. You missed the boat. This story is great. Without spoiling anything, the "chaotic" structure matches the themes involving time. The visuals portrayed are both abstract and detailed. Same goes for the scope and change of perspectives. If you're ready to think and read, here's your story. Let your eyes glaze while your mind takes it all in and tries to organize and understand what you're reading. If you don't respect this story, you don't understand Greg Bear as a writer.
S-III More than 1 year ago
It leaves you feeling empty. The plot is really good, and the characters are solid, but the way he presented them was weak. The pace was so slow I thought this was a mystery novel. What happened to the Bear that wrote Eon?
SableT More than 1 year ago
This book was incredible. The story of an evil that devours time and the rush of past and future heros to stop it. I really don't want to say too much but this was an awesome read. The way the the characters in the story shift and move through time is dynamic and inventive. I can praise this story forever. Read it! Nothing further.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Seattle, three people (Ginny, Jack, and Max) separately and with no seeming connection see a newspaper ad that stuns them. The advertisement states: ¿Do you dream of a city at the end of time?¿ Each can answer in the affirmative as they have had visions of a dark desolate landscape of a devastated wasteland they also share in common a form of amnesia in which none of them know anything important from their respective pasts. They only have just flashes of urban desolation. ---------- They respond and soon learn they are the Protectors of time. An enigmatic, at one time seemingly omnipotent race has created a million-year sentient species experiment. Now after a hundred trillion years the ancient Kalpa is the last vestige of true knowledge and is rapidly deteriorating as the universe dies. The insanity of chaos fills the vacuum. The trio understands their mission is to save any form of awareness of being to pass on to the rebirth and know the danger they face in attempting this, but consider the alternative nothingness. --------------- THE CITY AT THE END OF TIME is not an easy or fast-paced read but worth the time for those science fiction fans who appreciate a very complex story line that increasingly turns even more complicated as Greg Bear explores an ontological theme. The key characters especially the threesome, the ad taker, and those at the Kalpa discussing the end of times seem real enough to have the audience feel the countdown to the big crunch has begun. The hope is that the trio will save a flicker of light that survives into the universe reincarnation that the Kalpa inhabitants believe will occur. Mr. Bear provides a well written cerebral sci fi tale.------------------- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm going to start reading this, maybe in a few days. Is this worth my time?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago