×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments Series #1)
  • Alternative view 3 of City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments Series #1)
  • Alternative view 4 of City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments Series #1)
  • Alternative view 5 of City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments Series #1)
  • Alternative view 6 of City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments Series #1)
<Previous >Next
     

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments Series #1)

4.5 5571
by Cassandra Clare
 

See All Formats & Editions

Discover the world of the Shadowhunters in the first installment of the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series and “prepare to be hooked” (Entertainment Weekly)—now with a gorgeous new cover, a map, a new foreword, and exclusive bonus content! City of Bones is a Shadowhunters novel.

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments Series #1) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5571 reviews.
love-2-dance More than 1 year ago
if your trying to decide to read this series or not...dont wait! trust me. the first few pages, i cant lie, i was feeling like i was playing catch up. it starts off in the middle of a night out on the town without really explaining much. but after only a few pages i got my bearings and learned who the characters were and how they were related to the main character. WARNING!!!...after you understand whats going on, you wont be able to stop. all types of events start to happen in Clary's life which will hav no choice but to lure you in with her! its not crazy-busy but also leaves no room for you to get bored...the perfect mix. :) everytime there wasnt action or almost unbearable suspense, i was soaked up in the lust and romance of Jace and Clary. although it is written in 3rd person, it is so easy to become the characters and be overwhelmed with their intense emotion. its sad for me to admitt, and i probably would hav beat myself up for even thinking this before i read this series, but the Mortal Instruments Series goes hand in hand with the Twilight saga...or probably even better. this is definitely for people who fell in love with Twilight and just cant seem to find a good enough book to fill its spot. And although the end of this book can be heartbreaking...dont give up on it!! it gets better and better with each sequel!!!!
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.
mbriski More than 1 year ago
City of Bones is the first book in The Mortal Instruments trilogy for teens. It's an edgy urban fantasy with a roller-coaster plot, intricate and original world-building, and complex characters. Clare's combination of sarcastic humor and deep honesty makes for pitch-perfect dialogue and compelling character development. A must-read for teen fantasy buffs, this book should also be of interest to adult fans of urban fantasy. No surprise that the first two books in this series have already hit the New York Times Bestseller List-- This is some of the best stuff to hit the teen market in the last few years.
DancerGirl More than 1 year ago
This is definately one of my new favorite books. I couldn't put it down the whole time I was reading it. I know a lot of people are complaining about the ending but they need to grow up, its just a twist it doesn't mean anything. I will also say that anyone who enjoyed the Harry Potter series will love this even more. The characters are funny and sarcastic (which I love) and well developed. The book is worth the read abd you will not be dissapointed. Well for the most part. When you finish it though I highly recommend you read the next one because it hints at the end of it in contrast to the twist at the end of the first one. Or if you're too lazy for that just check out the website. Anyway back to the actual book. Its very thrilling and I have to say I thought the funniest character was Magnus. Jace and Simon were funny too but Magnus was funnier. The whole book is fast pace and full of twists. Some suprised me more than others. So, if you're into a book with lots of action, sarcastic characters, and plenty of twists trust me this book has it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cassandra Clare, the author, creates a fascinating world within our own, one where demons--more like malicious beings from other worlds; don't think biblical--menace "mundanes" (regular humans, like Muggles in Harry Potter) and need to be kept under control by Shadowhunters. Faeries wander New York City, vampires party at night, warlocks cast spells, and werewolves change at will. As for the people that populate this world, I love Clare's characters. Clary, the main character and viewpoint of Clare's third-person narration, is a strong and funny female lead. Her best friend, Simon, is witty and nerdy in the most adorable way. Jace, a Shadowhunter and Clary's main love interest of the book, is one of the most entertaining characters I have ever encountered. In fact, practically every character is funny. City of Bones is a very quotable book. Most of the best lines are between Clary and Jace, who have great banter. Recommended read.
sand7s More than 1 year ago
Very interesting and entertaining. Very good book. finished it very quickly
Nadia521 More than 1 year ago
This book was SOOOOO AMAZING! I...just...jeeze. Hold on while I find words.

The beginning was a little slow, I had to get into it. But once I did (whenever Jace was present) I just couldn't stop reading it. Spent most of my waking moments reading it, more of my unconscious nights dreaming about it. I don't know, it was like some kind of addiction. One time wasn't enough.

I had to re-read it because it was just that good! The ending...oh man, the ending was a heart break. I felt so bad FOR them, ecspecially Jace. I'm still praying that it was a fluke. Jace was definately my favorite character. Him, Magnus Bane, and Simon had me rolling most of the time. Their so sarcastic and witty, it reminds me of me and my friends.

Cassandra's writing is amazing, but what first caught my eye was the cover. (What hormone crazed teen skimming the library wouldn't be attracted to a book with a shirtless guy and the word "sexy" on the cover?) Yeah...that and the fact that it was shiny!

But anyways, It's a really good read for any teen into sci-fi. I put it right up there with the Twilight Saga. Something I never thought I'd be able to do. I hope they make a movie too!
LASR_Reviews More than 1 year ago
Originally posted at: www.aurorareviews.blogspot.com What if they world you think you know is more than you could have ever imagined? Vampires and werewolves walk among us. Demons and Angels are real. And the man that you've always thought was your father isn't... it's all a lie told to you by your mother to keep you safe from your real father. Fifteen year old Clary Fray is as about as average a teen as they come. She spends time with her friends, goes to dance clubs, and ... witnesses a murder? Okay, that last part wasn't so average, but even Clary isn't sure that what she thinks she sees is real. Thanks to her mother and a powerful sorcerer putting a spell on Clary to hide the magic around her, Clary has missed or forgotten a world that is just out of her reach. I originally picked up this first book in the Mortal Instruments series because of a recommendation by another YA phenom, Stephenie Meyer. She was so excited about getting to read the third book in the series before it was released that it made me curious to see what another favorite author was reading. I'm glad I took a chance on Cassandra Clare. City of Bones is chock full of fun dialogue while taking the reader deep into a fantasy world of Shadowhunters, demons, vampires, mundanes (that's what they call us humans) and werewolves to name a few. Besides Clary there are several other secondary and main characters that bring this adventure to life. First there's her best guy friend Simon that has had a crush on Clary since forever. Then there are fellow Shadowhunters Jace, Alec and Isabelle. Alec and Isabelle are brother and sister and Jace has lived with them so long he's practically a brother. Jace is the dark anti-hero of the series. He wants only to forget his past and hunt demons until he either kills them all or dies trying. I've read other reviews that bemoan the long narratives in City of Bones. While they aren't exactly wrong, I can see the need to describe the world of the Shadowhunters a little more in this first book, including the history of the Nephilim. The obvious bad guy in the books is Valentine. He's easy to dislike because he makes no apologies for mentally abusing his son early in life as well as using people with low self esteem to do his dirty work. He's on a mission, much like Hitler, to destroy anyone that isn't a part of the Shadowhunter elite. I think you'll find this book has a little bit of everything: mystery, magic, intrigue, paranormal, romance and even betrayal. I read this first book in the series straight thru and couldn't wait to get my hands on City of Ashes since I was left with so many questions at the end of City of Bones. If you are a fan of the Harry Potter and Twilight series I think you'll enjoy Cassandra Clare's Mortal Instruments as well.
bookworm_4ever More than 1 year ago
I love this book so much. It has everything anyone would ever want in a book. It has action,humor and romace. Its awesome for both genders and its WAY better than twilight. I was amazed at how good of a writer Cassandra Clare turned out to be. I love the plot of the book and the characters. A MUST-BUY BOOK.
andreagiann More than 1 year ago
This is a teen book that I read before my daughter does. I really enjoyed this book, had a good plot, was really engrossing and couldn't wait to get to the next in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If City of Bones can be described in one word, I would choose amazing. Okay, one word can't describe all of it! I loved the well thought out plot! I also love the little twist at the end! One of the best books I've read. I am sooooooooooo getting the rest of the series!
KaylaNicole_MusicLover More than 1 year ago
This is one truely amazing read. The characters had me wrapped in their story from the first page. While I have only read this first book I can already tell it is going to be a great series. Maybe even the next Harry Potter or Twilight?? I can only hope! There is sonmething for everyone in this book. Action for boys. A great love triangle for the girls. I would recommend this to anyone. It is really amazing. You will not regret buying this!
Amy_Eller More than 1 year ago
The series was so good! I loved it! It was exciting and always kept me guessing. I couldn't put it down! :)
hpfan04 More than 1 year ago
City of Bones by Casandra Clare is an amazing novel. I fell in love with Clary and Jace (Oh, Jace!!) immediately. Even though it is fantasy, it is not hard to understand the fantasy elements (like a lot of fantasy novels out there). I was unable to put it down, and once I was finished I had to immediately go out and buy the second book, City of Ashes. I am waiting very impatiently now for the third book! I am deeply in love with this series and highly recommend it, especially for those who liked Harry Potter and the Twilight Series.
Larie213 More than 1 year ago
I picked it up and read the back cover and it sounded good. It is a really good book. Alot better than I expected. I have also read the Twilight series and I liked this better. Also gave the book to a friend to read and he brought it back two days later and said that he could not put it down.
miss-vampire-chef More than 1 year ago
this book and the two to follow are nothing short from amazing!!! i read all three of them in two days-just couldnt stop!!! they have everything a good fiction should have....shadowhunters, warewolfs, vampires,demons, action, mystery,romance and more!!!! (and ALL of these are presented in the story in a non-classcial sense) this is my new fav series after twilight, harry potter and house of night! if you like any of those books&gt;&gt;&gt;&gt;&gt;&gt;&gt; this is a MUST READ...RIGHT NOW lol :-D
Taylor Thomas More than 1 year ago
I loved City of Bones! It was amazing and the best book that I have read in months! Clare's writing is filled with emotion and expression! I don't think that any other book else can top this one!
HelenaInTheForest More than 1 year ago
This book is filled to the brim with twists, laughs, and a heartbreak. Miss Cassie Clare has made you go against your sanity with this book and it's right up there with Twilight on my list. I loved it!
-Love_Books- More than 1 year ago
This was a fantastic book! I couldn't put it down, I read it in about a day. The characters are fantastic, especially Jace, and I thoroughly recommend this book to everyone and all of my friends! Definitly read this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I believing that everyone is entitled to thier own opinion, but they are wrong in this case. This book is amazingly well written. TAKE IT FROM SOMEONE WHO READS SHAKESPEARE AND CLASSICS IN THIR SPARE TIME. I have read more books in 2 years than most people read in 5. The storyline is really good. The endings are better. The way an actaul story shiuld be written. I rank it right up there with harry potter, hamlet and erec rex. A MUST READ
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVE this book so much and would recomend it to anyone looking for fantasy with some romance. It is my favorite book in the world and I love all the characters (and feel kind of sorry for Simon). THANK YOU CASSANDRA CLARE FOR WRITING THIS! I have read all the books in the series that have come out (1-4) and can NOT wait for City of Lost Souls and City of Heavanly Fire! I suggest you drop everything and read this book right now!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really liked it, except didn't like the ending as much as I thought I would. But am looking forward to reading the rest of the series! Defintely reccomend!
Madamoiselle More than 1 year ago
With most books I've read, I've felt like they started out slow and become more interesting farther into the book. Or maybe that's just me, and it takes me a while to warm up to the story. But anyways, with this book that was most definitely not the case. From the first page, I was completely into the story. I definitely think that it was a good choice to start out the story with action instead of a long, kind of boring exposition. Instead of getting all of the facts in the beginning, you get them throughout the book. Also, the story is completely original (as far as I know), and the whole book is creatively written. There are so many very, very unexpected twists, especially towards the end of the book, and I found myself really feeling for Clary and the rest of the characters. I can't wait to read the next two books in The Mortal Instruments series, and I will do so as soon as I can!
WhatsBeyondForks More than 1 year ago
I love the world that Cassandra Clare built with its Shadowhunters, Vampires, Werewolves, Magnus Bane (yes, I give him his own category, because he's just plain fun). I love Jace! He's cocky and funny, and very entertaining to read about. He's probably one of my top book boyfriends. Clary is a super character herself.  There is a huge twist! I really didn't see that one coming! Nope, I'm not telling what it is either! You have to read it to find out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely LOVE these books and Cassandra Clare. I read this book when it first came out a couple years ago, and i am sooo happy it is getting the love it deserves. Cassie Clare did an amazing job with these books, and they have completely changed my life. There is action, comedy, romance, suspence, and suprising twists in the plot. I love almost anything that is fiction and has these fiction beings like faeries, worlocks, demons, angels, werewolves, vampires, and shadowhunters, but this is more than just a love for the books, its a lifestyle for me now. The series is magnificent and you will come to love it with all your heart. These books are totally worth the money and time, and if you really want to get connected with more of Cassies books and characters, read the Infernal Devices. I am a total fangirl of both of the series, and i am a Shadow Hunter By Heart. Youll love it starting from the first page.