×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

City of Fire
     

City of Fire

4.2 9
by Thomas Fitzsimmons
 

The rough streets of the south Bronx. Home to countless gangs, pimps, and hustlers. A land where a gunshot is as common as a baby crying. A place where a day without a murder is an oddity. But this place is home to many, and it's where ten-year police veteran Michael Beckett has spent most of his time. Beckett has policing in his blood. He's from a long line of New

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

City of Fire 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Shanynn More than 1 year ago
City of Fire grabbed my attention from the very first paragraph and had me engrossed until the very last word. The author, Thomas Fitzsimmons, being an NYPD veteran, is able to open a window on what it is like to be a police officer in New York City. Between the covers of this book are interesting and varied characters in a captivating story that will give you insight to the cruel brutality of what greed can do to the human psyche in some, in contrast to the fearless determination and bravery it takes in others to halt the bloodshed of innocent lives. At the same time, Fitzsimmons' refreshing writing and undeniable wit has integrated humor as well as a touch of romance into this genuinely enjoyable page-turner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Overwrought, silly and inaccurate. Don't quit the day job, TF.
blueberryNY More than 1 year ago
The authentic portrayal of a borough losing its battle for survival provides a great background for Fitzsimmons' smart and intricate plot. The characters are well-developed, sympathetic, and completely believable. The fate of D'Amato stands out as both frightening and tragic. Variations in narrative perspective add to the build up of tension in the novel. Beckett is a memorable character, and the author leaves an opening for his possible return. Hope it happens!
Dave55fire More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was excellent. It was a total page turner with lots of twists and sub plots. You felt like you were there in the gun fights as well as being confronted by IAB. The characters were very real. You felt all the pain and anguish of the characters. Wish the book was longer. Hopefully Michael Becket will make a reurn!! An over all awsome read. Thanks Tom!!!
fwbopp More than 1 year ago
The combination of characters and style draws you in. A real page turner.
DG76 More than 1 year ago
Having read virtually all of the major writers of mysteries and detective stories, Thomas' Fitzsimmons, new novel, City of Fire, is an exciting and absorbing novel with real-life characters especially the policeman-actor Michael Beckett and his partner and the sleazy evil criminals. This is a great read, and I can't wait for the next installment
MFBX More than 1 year ago
The writing was so strong your senses came alive with the sounds, sights and smells of the South Bronx. As a New Yorker I can attest to the authors ability to transport the reader to the very streets he patrolled, as a member of the NYPD. Mr. Fitzsimmons is a writer that has set-off a Five-Alarmer with this book and I look forward to many more alarms to follow.
BronxAngelReview More than 1 year ago
This book grabbed me from the first page. The writng is crisp and fast paced. It's gritty and funny and sad. It's obvious the author was a real cop. Hope he's got more books in him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first time I've read a book of this book. I must say that I had to finish the book to the end. It kept me intrigue. Before getting to the end I already new what was going to happen. I just read through just to make sure I knew what I knew. The