×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

City of the Dead
     

City of the Dead

4.2 44
by Brian Keene
 

See All Formats & Editions

The sequel to one of the most popular zombie novels of all time in a new, uncut, author’s preferred edition!

In this sequel to THE RISING, cities are overrun with legions of the undead, intent on destroying what’s left of the living. Trapped inside a fortified skyscraper, a handful of survivors prepare to make their last stand against an

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

City of the Dead 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 69 reviews.
Jtreader87 More than 1 year ago
First off its important to understand that this book is not about zombies(or at least traditional zombies). Any die hard fan zombie traditionalist expecting the classic lumbering , illogical zombies is in for an interesting twist. Keene takes the traditional zombie and gives them their greatest weapon yet-the ability to reason,communicate, think and plan. Now at this point any diehard zombie fan is thinking, "wait, zombies can't do any of that these aren't really zombies, this books gonna suck!" because that's exactly what I thought. However having said that, this book is fantastic. The explanation for why they are able to think is so intriguing and well thought out that it completely overshadows the fact that it breaks away from the tradition. The explanation(which I won't spoil for you) completely justifies their new abilities and actually adds to the suspense. The story itself is also very well written and I found myself not wanting to put the book down. All in all whether you're new to the zombie genre or are a seasoned zombie lover, this book won't disappoint.
Mistress_Lorescien More than 1 year ago
If I had read this book before The Rising, it would have made no sense. If I had read The Rising all on it's own, I would have thrown the book out my window in frustration. Putting the two together was absolute heaven. Keene needed this second book not only to please readers but to evolve the unique zombie idea he had created. The Siqqusim needed more depth, and he brought that depth quite well. I enjoyed seeing more into Ob's 'family' of sorts, how Ab's minions from the Elilum would control plants and insects once the humans were removed, and how Api's minions in the Teraphim would consume the remains with fire. Personally, I would have liked more time to be with the zombies to see how they interacted, but the book was still very well done. The happy ending (of sorts) for Frankie, Danny, and God [Pigpen's cat, if you forgot] made me cry and laugh at the same time. It was beautifully done. Brian Keene eally knows how to handle his tearjerkers and his zombies. It's all so beautiful! Btw, make sure to read- if you haven't already- The Rising. It's a must read before and even after (if that's what you choose). And one more thing... bug Keene into making one that follows up the loss of humanity. I think we'd all like to meet
nfmgirl More than 1 year ago
This book was a powerhouse of action. You hardly had a moment to catch your breath in between the attacks and battles. As fun as the first one, The Rising, but even more brutal and graphic. Full of good characters fighting the good fight, and with a healthy dose of unscrupulous and mentally unstable characters alike, you never know what's going to happen next. This book picks up where The Rising left off. Jim has just made it to his son's home, and the zombies are closing in outside. The book opens at the home of his ex-wife, while you wait to learn whether or not Danny is found alive and whether they make it out alive, and it ends at the Ramsey Towers in New York, where survivors are holed up against the zombies milling around outside. One thing I should note: This book is not suitable for children. It is extremely violent, vulgar and there are many moments of graphic sexuality, including zombie sex and multiple accounts of genital mutilation. Please be forewarned. Overall a fun story, but a little sad and depressing at times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
City of the Dead was a very interesting book because it was a very horrific and gory book but kept you in suspense because you don¿t know if the dead are going to break into the building or if another person will commit suicide. Besides that the way it was horrific was because the leader of the survivors had saved so many people he built a god complex of him self and wanted to be worshipped. Slowly his mind became corrupt and became insane.
City of the Dead starts off with our main characters Jim who is a father looking for his son, Martin who is a priest, and Frankie who a ¿physician¿ of sorts. In the beginning Jim and the crew go looking for his son and are besieged by the dead and eventually saved by Don. They then escape the town that Jim¿s son was in and went down the New Jersey Turnpike en route to the tallest and only lit building the see, Ramsey Tower.
Those that could relate to this book are more alternative types of people like those who get a joy out of a horror movie. The theme of the book is that praise someone to much and they expect it and build up a god complex as well as that it shows that the best of friends can become the worst of enemies.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A great sequeal of The Rising. Brian Keene creates an adrenaline rush of suspense while balancing it off with horror and story telling. The characters are great and feel real because of the great diologue in the story. What makes this book so great though is how it is very unique from other zombie books and films.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was awesome,I love how the zombies were unique.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a good follow up to the first novel. I read this right after reading The Rising so I was ready for the non-traditional zombie take on things. So with that said I did like this one more than the first. A good read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is THE BEST zombie book I have ever read, I couldn't put it down. I finnished it in two days.
Guest More than 1 year ago
the best zombie book I have read to date. Once you start this book it will be hard to put it down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was looking in my local library when I stumbled across this book. I started reading it that night and was finished before I had to go to school the next morning. Buy this book maybe he will make more....
Guest More than 1 year ago
Revenge is a dish best served cold and this book has to be one of the coldest dishes ever made. The creatures, created long before humans, had been pushed into a void that is between the living and hell. The immortal spiritual beings have been plotting for many millienia to get their revenge on God. Now scientists have given them the cance, by ripping an opening in the void. Now they have taken over the minds of those who have died, using them to kill and create more shells for the creatures of the void. Now it is up to a group consisting of an ex-hooker, a father desprete for his son, the father's son and a preacher to make their last stand for their lives, loved ones, the planet, and the universe. Warning: Lots of necrophilia, gresome images, and horrifying graphics.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a slow reader.I read this book in 3 days.I could not put it down.I would read this book anyday over videogames and/or TV.This book is awsome.If you like zombies this is a great book for you to read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago