×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Civil War: An Illustrated History
     

The Civil War: An Illustrated History

3.8 45
by Geoffrey C. Ward, Kenneth Burns (Read by), Ric Burns, Ken Burns, Ric C. Burns
 

See All Formats & Editions

The complete text of the bestselling narrative history of the Civil War—based on the celebrated PBS television series. This non-illustrated edition interweaves the author's narrative with the voices of the men and women who lived through that cataclysmic trail of our nationhood, from Abraham Lincoln to ordinary foot soldiers. Includes essays by distinguished

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Civil War 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 44 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I feel this book was misrepresented on the review purchase page. Where are all the photographs and maps which were refered to. That was a major selling point which infuenced my purchase, I certainly feel cheated with this purchase. I love my Nook but occassionally we are getting Took!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing. It is comprehensive and well written. The photos enhance the subject matter. I have read other texts which have been interesting, yet harder to go through. This textbook covers the subject matter in a commendable manner. The material is enhanced by actual individual accounts of the war. The read was fast-paced, I could not put the book down. I definitely would highly recommend this text to all interested in the history of the Civil War.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The way the book is laid out is great. It has a lot of detailed information. There are a lot of really great pictures and illustrations. I love the brown/tin-type photos in real color rather than basic black and white. I highly recommend this book for any history lover, especially an avid Civil War buff like myself!
JDR80 More than 1 year ago
This book was easy to read and in sensible order. Not a lot of confusing descriptions of troop movements and numbers. The pictures are very crisp and animations were smooth. It also has a lot of information on lesser known "common" soldiers and nurses.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting book. Good read and the pictures help you connect with the actual people of the time. I also was unable to scroll past page 3. There seems to be a glitch in the program at that point. But all you have to do is pull up the bar at the bottom of the page and type in go to page 4 or whatever page you want. The program will take you to that page and you will be able to scroll forward from there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hugh Hendrix More than 1 year ago
This book does not work. You only can get to page #3. Barnes&Noble provides suggestion to fix that do not work.
Jeannie A Moseler More than 1 year ago
First post about this issue was August 2 - it is now August 17th and it still doesn't work -what's up with this B&N?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago