×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

CivilWarLand in Bad Decline
     

CivilWarLand in Bad Decline

4.3 12
by George Saunders, Joshua Ferris (Introduction)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Since its publication in 1996, George Saunders’s debut collection has grown in esteem from a cherished cult classic to a masterpiece of the form, inspiring an entire generation of writers along the way. In six stories and a novella, Saunders hatches an unforgettable cast of characters, each struggling to survive in an increasingly haywire world. With a new

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

CivilWarLand in Bad Decline 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a great read for anyone. I enjoyed it to the fullest. It is almost as good as his second book. Amazing read!!
NathanDPhillips More than 1 year ago
Saunders' comedy at its most raw. This black comic collection stands in contrast to the more lighthearted, though in my opinion better "Tenth of December". The stories seem to take place in the same world, one different than our own but frighteningly recognizable.  I highly recommend this for everyone.
jlgc More than 1 year ago
Civilwarland in Bad Decline is a collection of short stories and one novella written by George Saunders. George Saunders has a unique view of the human condition. The book was hard to put down. The stories are set in the United States, but it is the United States sometime in the future or it is a parallel dimension. The stories are darkly humorous and disturbing. The portrayal of the human condition is disconcertingly accurate. These are stories of normal, flawed people who try their hardest and often fail or are taken advantage of. I wouldn’t recommend this book for youth, it is most definitely an adult book. There are a few disturbing scenes. Issues such as murder, sabotage, and slavery are discussed. Surprisingly, I found it worth my while.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
:( l love you. I'll never stop loving you. &#167&alpha&weierp<_>h&iota&pi&alpha+D&alpha&epsilon&eta&gamma&pi&iota&#167=&#9825&hearts&#9825
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
EXTRAS~~~Accents: Rawbones: American. Bombkill: Heavy Russian Accent. Doctor: German accent when angry. VEHICLES: Rawbones: Cybertronian Motorcycle, a carbon copy of a Harley Davidson Chopper model, though slightly bulkier and 'Cybertronized.' Barrier: monster truck Cybertronized. The Doctor: something like that, tough, obviously bigger. Bombkill is Ratchet's alt mode though completely red. NOTES: this is set in the 'TFPRIME' reality, some time before the War for Cybertron. (At least 3 decades before, if not thousands of years before). Just one thing: Masterspark's appearance is quite similiar to the Transformers original looks, (before they copycat earty vehicles) in the movies (something like that), though he is more 'skinny' and taller. THIS IS ORIGINALLY WRITTEN BY OVERLORD BALDER.******************************(goto next result for Chapter 1)
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the boss dudes! Some guy told me that this book is the bossenest book around. Read it and you to can be totally bossinated you boss dudes!