×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Claws and Effect (Mrs. Murphy Series #9)
     

Claws and Effect (Mrs. Murphy Series #9)

4.5 21
by Rita Mae Brown
 

See All Formats & Editions

CLAWS AND EFFECT

Winter puts tiny Crozet, Virginia, in a deep freeze and everyone seems to be suffering from the winter blahs, including postmistress Mary Minor “Harry” Haristeen. So all are ripe for the juicy gossip coming out of Crozet Hospital–until the main source of that gossip turns up dead. It’s not like Harry to resist a mystery

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Claws and Effect (Mrs. Murphy Series #9) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Okay! You can post in camp first, since I gotta wait for Sapph first anyways... :) Busy day, sorry I haven't been on. I should be good tomorrow. Night!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oh yeah, I was only planning on posting once or twice more here. We can have them head home whenever! I probably won't be on much tomorrow, but we'll get things rolling asap! I'm off to work now! I finally cracked Jordan into letting me continue doing perimeter checks on my horse, he's convinced I'll be thrown off and roll down a cliff and die lol! <p> Spirit walks close beside Lavamist as they head downhill. He can tell she is anxious still, although Horseclan territory is now in sight, so he curls his tail with hers and picks up the pace some. This way he could catch her if she fell, but they could still keep a good pace. "Almost home," he purrs, touching his nose to her ear as they go. ~Spirit
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But medical info not accurate. Insurances stopped paying the room charges per day around the mid-90s, if not sooner. And administration does not have access to medications. I would be suspicious of any administrater who tried to gain access. I worked in hospitals for nearly 40 years. By the late 70s, if not sooner, all medications were locked up. Why would administration need the keys? Where I worked, we had automated medication dispensers in use by the mid-90s. Anyone who could gain access to that needed an access code and a password. Later the individual's fingerprint replaced the password in most cases. Very few doctors ae granted access-usually just anesthesiologists. Most doctors won't get supplies or medications themselves anyway, they expect the nurse t do that for them. And I've never seen an EKG machine kept in the basement-it just isn't practical. So I can't help but wonder how old the research is. But I love the characters even though the story line is a bit far-fetched. Guess just need to suspend my disbelief.
d__m More than 1 year ago
This story was full of characters and enjoyed all the "family" like people of Crozet. Of course, Mrs. Murphy, Pewter, and Tucker are full of fun and take care of their Mama, Mary.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I started reading this book because we had to chose a mystery book to read for my Challenge Language Arts class. At first it didn't catch as cat can, but after a little while, I was hooked. I stayed up late one Friday night while finishing the book, which had a very suspenseful climax. I loved it as I'm sure many cat lovers will. My favorite character is Pewter because of his funny personality.
Guest More than 1 year ago
An intriguing mystery once again. purr-fect. keep them coming please.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Read one Mrs. Murphy mystery and you have to go back for more. Rita Mae Brown has done it agin with the CLAW AND EFFECT. I purr a deserving best-seller.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At the western most point of the clans territory a sharp and jagged piece of land creates a mountainous barrier. Aside from one small opening, the land beyond is completely cut off. The opening is somewhat hidden unless searched for, and isn't big enough for anything larger than a fox to fit through. Just as the sun creeps over the clan side of the mountain, Dove slips silently through the bramble laced cave to the otherside. Here, unlike the Horseclan territory surrounded by mainly praires, this side of the mountain is shrouded by a dense forrest. Tall oaks, vines, and thickets shade the entire land as far as the eye can see. Once down in the forest, Dove finds her way by memory. Without knowing the way, no cat could find anything in this dense, dark woods. "Lavamist can practice her mighty tracking skills and find her own way," the lithe shecat mutters to herself in her ever unhappy mood. If Lavamist even makes it this far, the two guardians that sit night and day completely hidden at the entrance of their land could run ahead to warn Solstice of her arrival without her ever knowing. <br> Dove perks her ears at the sound of a creek and quickens her pace. The woods finally parts to reveal a hidden meadow, completely surrounded on either side by the ominous woods. There is a small creek at her paws, once dry and the site at which she'd dumped Baby's body, now babbling gently with cool water. Ahead, an old abandoned twoleg nest sits half crumpled on one end. She can see where Spirit lurks outside the den, away from the others hidden in a tree. Her green eyes narrow slightly, irritated that he is still sulking from Solstice rejecting his idea to let Lavamist live. Solstice had different plans now, and not even his son or his opinions would change them. Dove crosses the creek on a fallen log and goes to the twoleg den she calls home. As she steps into the shade of the structure, no one acknowledges her. This is not unusual, and Dove heads to the back of the den where the food is kept to eat. Solstice stops her first, stepping forward from the second level loft where he spends most of his time. "Success?" He inquires, black fur barely contrasting with the darkness of the den. Dove nods, dipping her head in respect before looking up to meet his yellow eyes. "If she's half as smart as you praise her to be, she'll be here soon," she says. At his satasfied feral grin, Dove continues on to retrieve a meal. She sits on a ledge with a view of outside, looking dangerous and lethal as she eats. ~Dove <p> Since Solstice needs to meet up with Lava alone, perhaps Lava can lose her way in the forest and then Solstice will find her. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She saw the rabbit. It was cautiously padding from its hole. She crept slightly further, freezing when she snapped a small twig. The rabbit froze for a second as well, sniffed the air, and took a little step back. Once it resumed what it was doing, Shadowcat pulled herself to pouncing distance. She crouched and leapt, her claw grazing its ear, then sinking into the rabbits body. It fell helplessly, flopping its legs all over the place. Shadowcat gently picked it up, resisting the urge to snap its neck and finish the job. She padded back to her own camp. She was going to give it to the newest kits, Genuine and Flamekit. She was going to test their natural skills.