×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Clown of God
     

The Clown of God

5.0 11
by Tomie dePaola
 

See All Formats & Editions


In this retelling of the old French legend, a juggler offers to the Christ Child the only Christmas gift he has. “The full-color pictures with subtle tonal modulations are an integral part of the design of the lumious pages full of movement and vitality. The Italianate aspects of the setting are beautifully realized.”--The Horn Book

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Clown of God 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I believe that this book can teach a child, or adult, that in God's eyes it is better to give than receive, even if you have little to give. God Bless!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This story is beautiful in its simplicity and warmth and it has become a favorite of my family since we first checked it out of the library when my brother was 4 (he is now 22!). The sweet, simple story of a street performer as he grows older becomes a miracle-story for Christmas. It is a true reminder of how the best and greatest gifts more often than not come from the heart, not from the wallet. I have since shared this book with my young cousins and look forward to being able to share it with my future neices, nephews and children. I urge you to do the same.
linford2 More than 1 year ago
I was only recently introduced to this book and, even as a young adult, immediately came to love it. The story is well-written and contains a number of inspiring lessons. I appreciate that the book brought out how we can use our talents not only to uplift and bring joy to others, but to glorify God as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
nikvergara More than 1 year ago
Tomie DePaola is a wonderful writer and this is one of my most favorite books. Every time I read this book I cry, it is so sad but I absolutely LOVE it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
LOVE THIS BOOK!! I HAVE READ IT MANY MANY TIMES IS MY LIFE, I AM A MOTHER NOW AND MY CHILDREN ENJOY IT AS MUCH AS I DID AT THEIR AGE (and truth be told I still love it)!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! I am a mom of three ages 6, 4, and 18 mos. We borrowed it from the library and now we cannot wait to buy it. I am also a high school teacher of Spanish and I have told all the english teachers about it as well. Read more books like these instead of sending your kids to CCD. Thank you Tomie!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book. The message of doing your best for God, inspired by love for Him is beautifully depicted, inspiring devotion for God while at the same time giving a most valuable model for us to follow, adults as well as children!
Guest More than 1 year ago
and I am a college student at Yale. I've read the classics and the best-sellers, ancient myths and modern works, but none have touched me as deeply as this simple tale of a clown who gives his best...I still cry every time I read it.