×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Coach: Lessons on the Game of Life
     

Coach: Lessons on the Game of Life

4.1 23
by Michael Lewis
 

See All Formats & Editions

"[Lewis] has such a gift for storytelling."--New York Times
There was a turning point in Michael Lewis's life, in a baseball game when he was fourteen years old. The irascible and often terrifying Coach Fitz put the ball in his hand with the game on the line and managed to convey such confident trust in Lewis's ability that the boy had no choice but to live up to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Coach 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
PattyPD More than 1 year ago
This powerful little book can be read in an hour. It totally keeps a focus and takes the reader along. As an avid sports participant during the years the author refers to 14-18 I can appreciate his advice. I sent the book to my grandson and suggest every grandmother do the same - the insight will be obvious to any youngster involved in early sports competition. PattyPD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Piper
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book rocks and an amazing read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Followme More than 1 year ago
This quick read will put you in the proper perspective for your child's sports endeavors. As a recovering "helicopter parent" this book reminded me to back-off and let the system work.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you have experienced life in the sports world while growing up at all you have probably encountered a coach just like Coach Fitz. Every single parent with children in sports should read this. Especially the over zealous parents causing more harm then good. You can only protect your children from the world so much. This book proves that real men and women rise up into great human beings with the right direction in life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Anyone striving to teach children the most important of life's lessons would do well to read and share the wisdom found in this book. Despite its title, the book is well worth reading.
Guest More than 1 year ago
THERE IS ALOT TO BE SAID ABOUT THIS LITTLE BOOK,HOWEVER THE LIFE LESSONS THAT I LEARNED FROM THIS LITTLE PUBLICATION OF COURAGE . ITS ALL ABOUT WINNING AND ITS WHAT YOU MAKE OF YOURSELF ON THE INSIDE. THIS LITTLE BOOK WILL HELP YOU STAND TALL AND LEARN SOME GREAT PRINCINPLES THAT WILL HELP YOU IN YOUR WORK PLACE IN OTHER WORDS ITS A GREAT PLAYBOOK FOR THE GAME OF LIFE. IF YOU HAVE A FAMILY MEMBER WHO IS CURRENTLY IN HIGHSCHOOL,COLLEGE OR A UNIVERSITY PLEASE GET THEM THE BOOK 'COACH' OR BUY IT FOR A FRIEND OR FAMILY MEMBER CAUSE IT WILL CHANGE THERE LIFE FOREVER.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Michael Lewis reveals the reality to what has become of today's kids who don't expect to have to work hard for their rewards. It was also a reminder to me as a parent that while trying to protect my children, I must also let them experience the harder aspects of life in order for them to grow up to handle the pressures of being an adult later on. I e-mailed all of my husband's competitive softball team parents and the parents of my son's travel baseball team to recommend this book. Quick read - 2 hours tops!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is short and sweet. The subject of this book is a throw-back to the old style of coaching. I'm not talking about an abusive coach, but one who knew how to get a kid's attention. His teaching was not so much about winning and loosing ballgames, but winning at the game of life by facing adversity and overcoming those hardships that they were surely going to face and taking resposibilty for ones own actions. The subject, Coach 'Fitz' built men by instilling in them the qualities of responsibility and perseverence and doing your best. Not only the author but Peyton Manning was one of his pupils and Manning aplauds 'Fitz' and his style of coaching and he credits him with making him the man and player he is today. Coach 'Fitz' does not baby his players or bow down to today's whinning parents. He is loud and tough, but make no mistake, he has his player's best intrest at heart and prepares them not so much for the major leagues but for the preasures and difficulties of life. The author illustrates that kids may not have appreciated the coach and his meathods at the time they played for him, but he prepared them for manhood and most appreciate him now and the lessons that he taught. This a good book for fathers and mothers who have kids involved in competitive sports.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's a genuine account and very well written. Much like A Coach's Salvation but more serious in its approach. Athletes, too, must start trying to understand their coaches better.