×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Coalwood Way: A Memoir
     

Coalwood Way: A Memoir

4.7 19
by Homer Hickam
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the #1 bestselling author of October Sky comes this rich, unforgettable tale. With the same dazzling storytelling that distinguished his first memoir, Homer Hickam takes us deeper into the soul of his West Virginia hometown at a moment when its unique way of life is buffeted by forces of time and change.

It is fall 1959. Homer “Sonny”

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Coalwood Way 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Cavin Farris More than 1 year ago
i loved the rocket boys, coalwood way, and sky of stone by homer
that_one_dude More than 1 year ago
The Coalwood Way By Homer Hickman This book is a memoir of Homer Hickman's life in Coalwood West Virginia. Coalwood is a mining town where you either mine for your live or you get lucky as a teenager and leave on a scholarship for football; but Homer has other ideas in mind. Him and his friends (The Rocket Boys) start building rockets and their hopes for college. This book tells about Homer's tragedies and his greatest moments in Coalwood. I thought this book is great for any member of the family. This memoir is full of sadness, comedy, and happiness. The ending of the book will leave you feeling full and satisfied. I recommend this book to anyone who likes to read or is a West Virginian
Guest More than 1 year ago
Im only half way through the book and I just can't put it down. After seeing the honorary movie, October Sky I just knew that I had to read the book. It was awesome and true mix of heart and desire. And if you loved October Sky, you'll definetly love The Coalwood Way... Its absolutely one of the best follow-up books that i have ever read...i cant wait until I'm done and can begin reading Sky of Stone...
Guest More than 1 year ago
AWSOME BOOK, COMBINES CHILDHOOD DREAMS WITH FAMILY DRAMA!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
redsfan19 More than 1 year ago
"The Coalwood Way" is a "sequel" to "Rocket Boys" and "October Sky", but it is unusual. The story takes place in the during the time period of the original books, but, being a memoir, it focuses on different things. Almost all the characters are the same in both stories, including the Rocket Boys, Homer and Elsie Hickam, Jake Mosby, and Miss Riley. However, some characters are less significant, such as Dorothy Plunk, and a few new characters are introduced, such as Dreama Jenkins and Ginger Dantzler. The main difference between the two stories is that while "Rocket Boys" and "October Sky" focus on rockets and the science fair, "The Coalwood Way" is mostly about problems in Coalwood, WV. Although a great book for both teens and adults, "The Coalwood Way" is more fun to read if you have already read either "Rocket Boys" or "October Sky".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
There is something about Mr. Hickam's writing that draws you in immediately. It seems that each and every word that he writes is meaningful not just as a word in a sentence, but in the overall context of the novel. It is almost like poetry, but a kind of no-frills, down-to-earth poetry. But it is not really the words that you recognize when you read the novel. It is more the way he tells you the story, the patient, completely trusting way that you learn about him. He writes this book for the whole world to see, and you get the feeling that he bares his soul and trusts you completely. It is this trusting ability that he imparts that is so compelling about his works because although he is a great writer and shaper of phrases, it is ultimately his voice, even more than his message, which will keep you focused in the novel. Moreover, he has a gift of being able to impart whatever feelings he has at the moment onto the page, and in doing so, puts you into his world. This novel has been called an equal of Rocket Boys, but I think that in some ways, this novel is even better. It focuses more on the people of the town instead of showing Mr. Hickam's childhood. I also find this novel more honest and realistic of the his life. There are parts in Rocket Boys where you don't get the full story and which are covered in this book. These parts may not be the wonderful, life-always-turns-out-great kind of stories, but that's life. I think that the idea that life's not always fair, but you do what you can is conveyed even more clearly in this novel than in Rocket Boys. Having said all this though, I must admit that I like Rocket Boys more. It is not that this book is written more poorly (no, on the contrary, this book feels more mature), but simply because I enjoyed the details of Mr. Hickams early forays into the world of rocketry in that earlier book. However, The Coalwood Way is most certainly my second favorite book and I would recommend everyone to read this fascinating memoir.
Guest More than 1 year ago
There is something about Mr. Hickam's writing that draws you in immediately. It seems that each and every word that he writes is meaningful not just as a word in a sentence, but in the overall context of the novel. It is almost like poetry, but a kind of no-frills, down-to-earth poetry. But it is not really the words that you recognize when you read the novel. It is more the way he tells you the story, the patient, completely trusting way that you learn about him. He writes this book for the whole world to see, and you get the feeling that he bares his soul and trusts you completely. It is this trusting ability that he imparts that is so compelling about his works because although he is a great writer and shaper of phrases, it is ultimately his voice, even more than his message, which will keep you focused in the novel. Moreover, he has a gift of being able to impart whatever feelings he has at the moment onto the page, and in doing so, puts you into his world. This novel has been called an equal of Rocket Boys, but I think that in some ways, this novel is even better. It focuses more on the people of the town instead of showing Mr. Hickam's childhood. I also find this novel more honest and realistic of the his life. There are parts in Rocket Boys where you don't get the full story and which are covered in this book. These parts may not be the wonderful, life-always-turns-out-great kind of stories, but that's life. I think that the idea that life's not always fair, but you do what you can is conveyed even more clearly in this novel than in Rocket Boys. Having said all this though, I must admit that I like Rocket Boys more. It is not that this book is written more poorly (no, on the contrary, this book feels more mature), but simply because I enjoyed the details of Mr. Hickams early forays into the world of rocketry in that earlier book. However, The Coalwood Way is most certainly my second favorite book and I would recommend everyone to read this fascinating memoir.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading all of Homer Hickam's memoirs, and this one was no exception. He pulls you into the small town of Coalwood, and like many who have come before me, I was reluctant to leave. The Coalwood Way adds another dimension to the Rocket Boys, concentrating more on Sonny as a person, showing his fledgling attempts at love, and the struggles with his father. This one is a must read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
   'Rocket Boys' (aka October Sky) was indeed a great novel with a fantastic story. Its sequel is as well, although it is a decidedly different book, both in content and tone. I loved both and marvel anew at Mr. Hickam's ability as a writer to turn the mundane into glory. The novel begins with a brief retrospective (although Hickam is clever to place it within the action so it doesn't seem as if he's bringing the reader up to date, especially the reader who hasn't read October Sky). All his main characters are firmly in place by the end of Chapter One. Where October Sky was really about Sonny's relationship to his father, The Coalwood Way is really his mother's book so keep an eye on Elsie! It is important to realize that The Coalwood Way actually takes place during the same timeframe as October Sky, actually before the science fairs. Readers who think they know the October Sky book because they've seen the movie are often confused by this if they start the series with The Coalwood Way. People, the movie is filled with errors about this story - Sonny (Homer) didn't win a scholarship! Sonny didn't quit school! Sonny didn't go to work in the mine! The true October Sky story is vastly richer than the good but essentially simple-minded story told in the movie. In the Coalwood Way, we learn so much more about the Hickam family, its relationship to Coalwood, and the really harsh rules that govern the people who live there. Although she actually occupies only a small part of the story, probably the most fascinating character is Dreama, the girl from the rough town of Gary. All she wants to be is a Coalwood girl. I won't reveal what happens to her except to say her tragedy represents all the is wrong with Coalwood society although its aftermath represents all that is good. To sum up, this is a grand book. For Jan Karon fans, this is the Mitford tale told true, and far, far richer than those books. Still, if you like Karon, you'll love Hickam!
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Rocket Boys' was indeed a great novel with a fantastic story. Its sequel is as well, although it is a decidedly different book, both in content and tone. I loved both and marvel anew at Mr. Hickam's ability as a writer to turn the mundane into glory. The novel begins with a brief retrospective (although Hickam is clever to place it within the action so it doesn't seem as if he's bringing the reader up to date, especially the reader who hasn't read October Sky). All his main characters are firmly in place by the end of Chapter One. Where October Sky was really about Sonny's relationship to his father, The Coalwood Way is really his mother's book so keep an eye on Elsie! It is important to realize that The Coalwood Way actually takes place during the same timeframe as October Sky, actually before the science fairs. Readers who think they know the October Sky book because they've seen the movie are often confused by this if they start the series with The Coalwood Way. People, the movie is filled with errors about this story - Sonny (Homer) didn't win a scholarship! Sonny didn't quit school! Sonny didn't go to work in the mine! The true October Sky story is vastly richer than the good but essentially simple-minded story told in the movie. In the Coalwood Way, we learn so much more about the Hickam family, its relationship to Coalwood, and the really harsh rules that govern the people who live there. Although she actually occupies only a small part of the story, probably the most fascinating character is Dreama, the girl from the rough town of Gary. All she wants to be is a Coalwood girl. I won't reveal what happens to her except to say her tragedy represents all the is wrong with Coalwood society although its aftermath represents all that is good. To sum up, this is a grand book. For Jan Karon fans, this is the Mitford tale told true, and far, far richer than those books. Still, if you like Karon, you'll love Hickam!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wow, I thoroughly enjoyed this book as I do with all of Mr. Hickam's novels. I really felt as if I was in Coalwood. I think it is amazing how he remembers his past experiences so accurately. :)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved October Sky. I love The Coalwood Way. There's something about Mr. Hickam's writing that just tickles me in the right way. I read him and pretty soon it's as if I'm right beside him and we're having this adventure together. I can't think of another writer that so absorbs me into his writing. If you have someone who needs cheering up, this book would make a great gift. It cheered me up and I wasn't even unhappy! My class and I are reading it aloud for the holidays. So far, all smiles!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was surprised to find that although there's a lot more to this book, in the end, it was a Christmas story. And a story of miracles. Mr. Hickam has a rare gift, to make a memoir read like a novel yet you can feel the underlying truths. It isn't often I can say a book has changed my life. This one has. I urge everybody to get this book for anyone troubled about life. There are wonderful answers here and they really go beyond Christmas. Even after Christmas, I would give this book to anyone sick or afflicted or spiritually troubled. Mr. Hickam doesn't write about rockets. As he says in his opening paragraph, he writes about lessons of life, or truth, as Coalwood gave him the vision to tell it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My heart and soul have been stirred by this book. I have been trying to figure out some things about myself lately and then somebody gave me this book. I hadn't read October Sky but if it's half as good, I can't wait to read it. Sonny Hickam tells a story here of true values, of miracles, of passionate truth. I'm in love with all the wonderful people of Coalwood. I especially liked the story of the deer on Christmas Eve. I will be assigning this one to my class to see how a memoir should be written.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I lost sleep reading October Sky and now Homer's done it to me again! The Coalwood Way is very different than October Sky yet it had the same means to capture my imagination and not let go. The Rocket Boys are all there, and Homer's folks, and the people of Coalwood, and some new people, too, yet I sense this book is much more spiritual than the other. Homer tells of fighting a kind of sadness that he couldn't figure out. I tell you what - I'm giving this book to all the people I know who aren't happy with their lives. I think there are a lot of answers here. Oprah, are you listening????