×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Coastliners
     

Coastliners

4.1 17
by Joanne Harris
 

See All Formats & Editions

Mado has been adrift for too long. After ten years in Paris, she returns to the small island of Le Devin, the home that has haunted her since she left.

Le Devin is shaped somewhat like a sleeping woman. At her head is the village of Les Salants, while its more prosperous rival, La Houssinière, lies at her feet. Yet even though you can walk from one to the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Coastliners 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
coastliners was just as fantastic as all of joanne harris's other novels, except easier to relate to. The storyline is ingenious, its filled with twists, and its written with alot of depth, and emotion. i loved that book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can always count on her to give you an enjoyable tale full of interesting connections and insights into her characters. You never want to leave them. Wraps up a neat package and ties a bow at the top at the end. This book doesn't disapoint.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
my wife loves this author & bn had it on clearance sale so i was very happy to get it as a gift. we seem to be buying all of this author's books
Guest More than 1 year ago
I confess that I felt like I was wading in mud up to my knees for the first half of this book, but I am so glad that I stuck with it. It is such an interesting insight into people. I don't quite have words to define the insight. I just know that I really enjoy the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first Joanne Harris book that I¿ve read, and, aside from the difficulty of keeping track of French character names, it was an easy, enjoyable read. There are many family themes at work here--inter-family feuds, intra-family estrangements, skeletons in the closet. The book is also about coming home, re-establishing a sense of belonging, and the evolution of a community. Mado, the main character and narrator, is likeable, and it¿s easy to relate to her initial frustration with the villagers' pessimism that stymies any motivation to work together for positive change. A lot of loose ends are left unaddressed, though, and I had the feeling that they were forgotten or ignored, rather than intentionally left to the reader's imagination.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A pale stone building, connecting to all of the others. Its interior has plush navy blue carpet and light blue walls. It has 2 bedrooms and 1 full bath. It has a full kitchen and a small yard-space.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yes. You may join. I am leader of Fang pacj and yiur allies. I take it ice is not on a whole lot. Buy start recruiting. In her absence i appoint sendra to commder. Its the highest besides betas d alphas. Luna your a leutenant of bwhixh ther are two. Any mode questions cpme to war forever.