×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Cod: A Biography of the Fish that Changed the World
     

Cod: A Biography of the Fish that Changed the World

4.1 46
by Mark Kurlansky
 

See All Formats & Editions

An unexpected, energetic look at world history on sea and land from the bestselling author of Salt and The Basque History of the World

Cod, Mark Kurlansky’s third work of nonfiction and winner of the 1999 James Beard Award, is the biography of a single species of fish, but it may as well be a world history with this humble fish

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Cod: A Biography of the Fish That Changed the World 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 46 reviews.
knittingnancy More than 1 year ago
I am old enough to remember my Norwegian immigrand grandparents, talk about codfish like was indeed, delivered to the virtuous directly from the hand of God. I recall seeing these fish, longer than my fathers' arm, displayed on crushed ice in the markets of Reykjavik in the early 70's. I also recall how upsetting it was to hear that the Canadians had place a ban on fishing cod on the Grand Banks in 1992, due to the threat of potential collapse of the cod biomass in the Atlantic. This is a quick and breezy ode to the North Atlantic species venerated by most of the world's population. Sprinkled with WONDERFUL recipies, it should appeal to those interested in cooking great simple food like grandma made, and enviornmentalists concerned with the failures of bad regulatory policy. The writing is engaging. Even if you are not thrilled with the prospect of a cod fish dinner, everyone interested on continuing to live here on earth should to try to understand how humans need to mitigate the past the destruction of all of earth's bounty. My husband is an often "commercial" fisherman. My stepson is trying to earn a living in the same profession, and watching the government attempts at stewardship of American territorial waters is like watching a Shakespearian tragedy from the stage wings. Even if you know the outcome of the story, you still weep. I'd like to know that one day, my great granchildren will be able to enjoy a fine cod fish dinner on Christmas Eve.
Alex1047 More than 1 year ago
This book may seem to be focused on the significance of cod in history but it goes much beyond that to encompass a broader, richly detailed history of humanity with cod at its central focus. In a way the book isn't a narrative just about cod, but of the contributions that have been made possible in large part due to cod. Highly recommended
Laenaya More than 1 year ago
Read this book for an anthropology class and it is wonderful. It ties together a variety of cultures and their use of cod and gives it a historical perspective. Very interesting.
SMILINBILL More than 1 year ago
Fascinating Read.!!! Absolutely wonderful book about this Historic and Significant FISH. Would sincerely recommend this as a very interesting account of a fishery we all have taken for granted.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting book - full of surprising historical detail. The story of cod might seem a little bland - but the book grabs the reader from thie first pages. Thought provoking.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was an excellent book, and i loved it. The last 30 pages are just recipies though.
GBSfan More than 1 year ago
Who knew what an impact one species of fish could have on the history of the world? But impact it, cod certainly has. From England to Iceland to Newfoundland, Spain, the US and Scandinavia, cod figured prominently over the several hundred years. What could have been a very dry read was made quite compelling by Kurlansky. He included the politics, the biology, the economics and the environmental impact while always remembering the humanity that depends on the sea for their livelihood. Kurlansky also nicely ties in the topic of another of his books, "Salt". Seems that cod could not have become such a staple around the world without it. A short, but information packed book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She woke to burn on her wrists. "Wha-!," was all she could make through the gag tied around her neck. Straining against the tight ropes, she realizes she was na<_>ked...A call put for help was transformed to a strange grunting sound. Her chest, and limbs were in pain, skin burning at the friction. Her mind races, and it hit her in the face. Hard. She was up for se<_>x.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
On
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I know you said preferably females, but will you accept a guy?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
K )) Lilly looked around wildly scared as hell. She struggled agenstert her ties face wet. As she tried to remov the bands on her feet and wrists their plastic cutting into her skin. She growled stupidly as she left befire gettin taken to leave her pocket knife at home. She growled eyes and cheeks wet. As she lookedup every few seconds hoping cody wont try to contain her again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago