×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Code Blue (Prescription for Trouble Series #1)
     

Code Blue (Prescription for Trouble Series #1)

3.3 1076
by Richard L. Mabry
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the first book of the Prescription for Trouble series, “Code Blue” means more to Dr. Cathy Sewell than the cardiac emergency she has to face. It describes her mental state as she finds that coming back to her hometown hasn’t brought her the peace she so desperately needs. Instead, it’s clear that someone there wants her gone…or

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Code Blue 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1076 reviews.
Waterlylly More than 1 year ago
It wasn't very good even for what it was advertised as, which was a "medical thriller." The man who wrote it really does a poor job with a female main character viewpoint, and the poor writing of the main character made the prose agonizingly tedious to read. I made twenty pages before I simply could not continue. Also, could it have been specifically advertised as Christian fiction instead of as a medical thriller? I'm not Christian and I don't care to be preached at. If I had known that this is actually Christian fiction, I wouldn't have downloaded it at all. Why not be up front about this and save some bad reviews brought on by the bait and switch?
InMyMatrix More than 1 year ago
This book repeats the obvious over and over again. The main character seems like an idiot most of the time and the end is a laugh. Let's not even go into the typos. Could have been an interesting story although I felt like a radical religious person cornered me at dull party. I rated it a 2 because I was interested enough to read it to the end. I would not buy this book and I will not be reading any of the series. Hope this helps.
KickinLady More than 1 year ago
I agree with some of the previous reviewers, and I must say, this is the first time I'm actually reviewing a book. I found the writing a little awkward, the formatting a tiny bit frustrating (but I'm getting used to that with some ebooks, though I shouldn't have to), but what almost caused me to stop reading the book was the preaching throughout the story. I probably should add that I'm not Christian, and once I figured out the direction of the "return to church" storyline, I had to make a decision whether to continue to read the book. I did finish the book, but I will not be reading any other books of Mr. Mabry's.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was presented as medical suspense on the B&N Unbound blog. I suspect many of us expected something similar to Robin Cook or Michael Palmer. And I also suspect many of us were disappointed to find it was nothing like that. Granted, the protagonist is a doctor and parts of the story take place in her office or a hospital, but engaging medical suspense requires a bit more than that. While quick and easy to read, the story was quite mediocre and not too terribly suspenseful. My biggest complaint, however, was the Christian agenda. I feel it is inexcusable that neither the book description nor the B&N blog description called attention to this aspect. As a non-Christian, I found this aspect offensive, boring and completely irrelevant to the plot. Note that this ebook contains numerous distracting formatting errors.
TarHeelGirl00 More than 1 year ago
Cathy is trying to get a medical practice running in her hometown. She encounters obstacles at every turn, including a malpractice suit. Bad luck with past relationships has caused her to have a strong mistrust of men. Is she just being paranoid or does she have an enemy trying to sabotage her practice? While "Code Blue" should not be labeled as a big-time medical thriller, it definitely satisfies as a pleasing who-done-it. I found the characters to be likable and real. The Christian beliefs of the author reflect in his writing, but do not disrupt from the story. In fact, it does just the opposite as it adds insight to the actions and decisions of the characters. If you are looking for a clean, quick-read mystery that is both enjoyable and fun, this book is for you!
redhddgrl More than 1 year ago
Too preachy. I didn't know this was Christian fiction when I downloaded it. The story line did not make up all the talk of finding a way back to God. Plot no good.
scott9282 More than 1 year ago
The medical "drama" passages seem to be on point. But that's about it. It takes almost half the book before we're even made aware of any reasons why the main character might be disliked in her home town. Which would be a fine lead-in if there were anything "medical" about the drama, but it's all very trite. As far as the religious overtones, thank you but no thank you. I'm very happy that Dr. Mabry (the author) is Christian. But I don't need to be beat over the head with this. The book is a very thinly disguised religious tract. There are even "discussion" questions at the end of the book. I haven't read a novel with printed questions in it since high school, and those were American classics, not religious tracts. On the one hand, it was a fast read because I couldn't wait to get through it, and I dislike not finishing books I start. On the other it was a struggle once I realized that all of the cardboard cutout characters were proselytizing at the reader in one way or another. On the other hand it was great that it was a free Friday download. Now I know to never read another Mabry book again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the book.. it was decently written. I like Christian fiction, but it almost seemed like the author was trying to force it in there and that made it awkward in some spots. Someone else commented about the constant "preaching" and it was pretty preachy. It was also a short book, so there wasn't a lot of character development... it was almost a race to finish the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was mediocre... don't waste your time. There are so many good books out there!
NooksterMF More than 1 year ago
Very poorly written. This could have been a Lifetime movie of the week. It was that bad! I shouldn't complain since it was free, but it was no better than a cheesy Harlequin romance. *yawn* I'd give it zero stars if I could.
thebitwit More than 1 year ago
A couple hours I'll never get back. As if the writing wasn't bad enough, the book was apparently never proofed. For example, any word ending in "ff" (off, sheriff, you get the idea) is run into the adjacent word. Many periods not followed by proper spacing. Hard to complain I suppose when the price is free, but come on now, even automated proofing should pick up defects like the aforementioned.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not sure why alot of people are giving bad reviews just for being a christian fiction book. Seems that if they had read any of the reviews prior to purchasing the book, then they should have known that. Yes, the female lead has some mental struggles. Yes, i figured out who probably did it before they said. I still enjoyed reading the book and will most likely read the next one too. I gave it s four star just because i'm used to Brandilyn Collins books being such thrillers and suspensful that it was slightly lacking in that area for my taste.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Suspenseful and sweet. Couldn't put it down.
gingerjenny More than 1 year ago
combine a medical background book with a mystery and you have me hooked! I loved reading this book and couldn't wait tp finish it! A great read!
SharonALavy More than 1 year ago
Cathy Sewell doesn't just find herself a woman doctor in a man's world. She is a family doctor in a town ruled by specialists. And she has to prove herself and her abilities to gain the hospital privileges she needs to best help her patients. But someone doesn't want her to succeed. I enjoyed watching Cathy prove her worth over and over. But would it be enough? Richard L. Mabry, MD is a writer to watch. He brings a fresh new voice to Christian Fiction and medical suspense.
blue-bird More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the book a great deal. The characters were easy to "get to know" and there were some surprises. great book for an easy read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this enough to buy two more of his books. The theme is murder, frame ups, and redemption. A Christian theme runs throughout the book, not so much that it overtakes the murder mystery of the book. The book also shows that bad things happen to good people and vice-versa. Like I said I ordered two more of his books. Enjoy the read!
annelr More than 1 year ago
Cathy Sewell returns to her hometown to practice medicine and is run off the road by a black SUV. And so begins Richard Mabry's first in a series, Code Blue. From the first page to the last, there are twists and turns that keep the pages turning. Wrong prescriptions, and emergency surgeries...will these keep this young doctor from being awarded medical privileges at the local hospital. Who is out to get her? Can she trust anyone? How will she pay her loan to the bank if patients believe the rumors? Can Cathy reconcile her past disappointments with a God she blames? With forgiveness and faith, confusion and calamity, family and old flames, Code Blue is a thriller you won't want to miss. Having listened to the audiobook, I will note that Kate Udall does a great job of narration. Having captured the essence of the various characters she gives them a voice of their own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JKChristian More than 1 year ago
From the very first sentence you're hooked. It was great to find a good mystery book that is also void of bad language and sex scenes. Dr. Mabry stands on his own talent and doesn't need those kinds of distractions. You won't be able to put it down, I read it in two days.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've enjoyed reading several books by this author. Great story. He is a christian writer. The faith of the chacters is just part of the story. Great author escpecially if you like medical detail.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not get beyond page 30. Insipid, full of medical detail that does nothing to advance the story line. Seems to be Christian romance genre, although billed as mystery. I'm deleting this right now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Worth reading because it is free!