×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Cold Fire (Spiritwalker Trilogy #2)
     

Cold Fire (Spiritwalker Trilogy #2)

4.3 49
by Kate Elliott
 

See All Formats & Editions

Cat Barahal and her beloved cousin Bee think they have reached a safe place to shelter. But the Cold Mages who are conspiring to take them prisoner are closing in. The warlord who hopes to conquer all Europa is convinced their destiny is to aid him, whether they want to or not. And the man Cat was forced to marry is back, as vainly arrogant and annoyingly handsome

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Cold Fire 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The beginning of the book dragged a bit...and was a tad confusing. But once it got going everything fell into place. The twist and turns keep you turning the page...and the little hints of romance were so nice. Vai and Cat's little dance was so enjoyable. I was giggling like a school girl. Vai is a great character. I look forward to how he will get out of his current situation.
Humbee More than 1 year ago
Cold Fire" is first of all a cinematic read. I was delighted by the visual imagery Kate Elliot was able to invoke. What a unique author I found her to be in this particular area. It was if I could see her characters in clothing with their weaponry in their settings, vividly. It's a rare thing to experience such a talent. This is not only a good book, it's really fun to read. Kate Elliot is a stand out writer in this genre, in my opinion! World-building and the time symbols here were so interesting. I often get lost in such genre when they aren't well configured, and it's easy for me to get bored when that happens. This book easily held my avid attention. Not only that, but I was smiling all the way with the way things were interwoven...worlds and human access to magical forces, Romanic calendar, Creole~Caribbean flavor, a post tramatic induced Iceage, steampunkish influence, and more. I just loved it! I didn't want to stop reading it. Ms Elliot's characters are believable and beautiful "visually," which I can't emphasize enough. It was easy to fall in love with Cat's dark and dangerous ex-husband, too. He's just irresistible! And, Cat is the consummate strong heroine. She's a force to be reckoned with, but she's also womanly and caring on other counts. It's hard not to make her a favorite. My readers often ask if a 2nd book in a trilogy can be read alone, or if one needs to read the original book first. I didn't read the first book. I found this one to be easily self contained with good references to the 1st book. That didn't stop me from wanting to read the other one, however. I will absolutely want to buy the 3rd book, too! This is an author all ages over 12 would thoroughly enjoy reading. A book most satisfying in the genre. I can only highly recommend it. It's not hardcore fantasy/syfy. Another really great YA to Adult Crossover Fiction. 4 stars
Ernest Flatt More than 1 year ago
I realy liked this book. I tore through it in record time for me and i cant wait for more! It was such vivid imagery and I couldnt help rooting for Vai.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Entertaining all the way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the first Cold book but reading the 2nd one has been a bit nerve wracking. Characters brought back, everyone meeting in one place, fighting, running through corridors and in the end.......I'm lost. I would like to see one of the many ongoing plots solved just to feel like someone was successful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yup she came upstairs do u want fallen angel or regular
chbrown21 More than 1 year ago
Book is a bit long winded and sometimes repeats itself (guess it has to do this in case you forget parts.) That being said this is a very interesting read and will keep you reading past several midnights. Plan to buy the third and last book because I have no idea where all this mayhem will end up.....only the next book will reveal!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the second book in one of the best trilogies that I have read in a while. The story of this strong woman coming to terms with who she is and charting her own course despite the obstacles made this and the other two books difficult to set aside. So glad that I can speed read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Maggaroony More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, as well as the other two in the series. They are all very original, with well-defined characters with plenty of flaws, but ultimately heroic. There is something for everyone in this book with a little romance, a few zombies, some battles, lots of fantasy, and even some sports. I recommend this book without reservation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put down the first book in this series. So I had to read the second. It was still a fun read, but it took a little longer to get through. What I liked most is that all of the same characters appear from the first book and Cat finally makes her decision about Vai!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really love this story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book moved faster than the first one. Cat has developed well without a total loss of naievety, but still has room to grow in the third book. There was enough adventure and fewer history lessons than the first book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BloomSM More than 1 year ago
This book started off slow again but at least this time i knew the characters. I was happy that Vai and Cat finally got together only to find them ripped apart again can't wait to see how Vai escapes.
violapig More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down. I keep waiting for the romance to blossom and the war all at the same time. Such a gripping story. Can not wait for Cold Steel to come out! Magic, love, fighting, etc this book has it all!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cold Fire was much worse than the first book, so disappointing in fact that I didn't bother finishing it. There was a complete 180 degree turn in character from the Cat in cold magic. If you were expecting to find the strong independent and fearless Cat again you will be crushed to find she has become immature and anxious making hormonal decisions bereft of the intellect she once possessed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved the first book of this series and waited for cold fire for so long that when I read it I felt a little disappointed. This second book lost the charm of the first one, albeit it was more "epic" than the first. Maybe it was because the second book had much more characters than the first and there were a lot of twits and turns I was blind sided by(which is no really a bad thing in retrospect..). Maybe I felt like Cat was more helpless here than the first, or maybe I'm just frustrated the third book is taking FOREVER like this did!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago