×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Cold Mountain
     

Cold Mountain

4.0 252
by Charles Frazier
 

See All Formats & Editions

Winner of the 1997 National Book Award

A New York Times and Globe and Mail Notable Book of the Year

Charles Frazier has created a masterpiece that is at once an enthralling adventure, a stirring love story, and a luminous evocation of a vanished land, a place where savagery coexists with splendour and human beings contend with the inhuman solitude of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Cold Mountain (SparkNotes Literature Guide Series) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 252 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I literally could not put this book down once I started reading it. With the turn of each page, I found myself becoming an even more curious and eager companion on Inman's journey. The unspoken connection between Inman and Ada is one most people can only long for. Ada's transformation is equally inspiring. Never before have I so highly recommended a book to friends, and never before have I recommended a book to strangers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
There is a depth and richness to Mr. Frazier's reading of his book which makes the unabridged audio version superior to the printed one. At 449 pages, and with many long passages about the characters' thoughts, emotions, and world they inhabit, reading the book can - at times - be a stretch of one's patience. But when you listen to the book, you are transported by Mr. Frazier's voice to a world that is deep in belief, experience, and characters whose lives become part of your own. Having listened to Garrison Keillor on NPR's 'A Prairie Home Companion' for many years, I cannot help but make an overwhelmingly positive comparison when reflecting on Mr. Frazier's ability to draw you gently but unyieldingly into the triumphs and tragedies of the characters' lives as well as the spirit of the land along the Blue Ridge in the western Carolinas. Like Mr. Keilor, the author has deep roots in the territory that he describes, and there is simply no substitute for the kind of familiarity found in writers who draw well on their native surroundings. Note #1: Get the unabridged version of the tapes. Don't sell yourself short with the abridged. You don't really gain anything, and you'd lose a lot... Note #2: Women read a lot more books than men for a variety of explainable and unexplainable reasons and this book has the many elements guaranteed to attract the female audience. But I want to say this is a bonafide winner for men also, especially since the tape can become part of commuting to work. As a man, I am always wary of the way authors of historical novels can transform characters - especially men - into Jane Austen period pieces. Saps or heroes or whatever. Not true with this one. Mr. Frazier tells it straight on. It is a novel to be respected. Note #3: Although it is set during the Civil War, the major military events are distant and described in tragic remembrance. But the local version of the war is ever-present and intense. It's a very personal set of experiences framed by civilian life under a military rule that is mediocre, savage, and inept. For a fine novel on a major military event of the Civil War, listen to the tape version of 'The Killer Angels', a profile of the key decision-makers (both large and small) at Gettysburg.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have written a review about this book when I first read it and I must say it really is a wonderful fiction piece. I read this novel during the junior year of highschool, and now as a Graduate Student who has a more in-depth understanding on literary works, this books still continues to hold up and remains in my top-3 books of all time. Although some casual readers may be turned off by the length of it, I suggest stick with it and you will not be disappointed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
There must be something wrong with many of the people who wrote those negative reviews. this book was definetly one of the best storys i have read in a long time and i am an avid reader. i know everyone is entitled to their opinions but come on guys! many reviewrers are saying the book was long, drawn out, and hard to understand. Well obviously no one has the capacity to see what beautiful writing really is these days. this book will keep a seasoned reader compelled beginging through end. Caution: not for readers who find themselves picking up the latest book in the gossip girl series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
a classic
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book portrays a great love story during the Civil War. Inman the main character is an injured soldier who escapes from the hospital in search of his true love, Ada. Both of their journeys are being followed as they are on their way to see each other. Their journeys are long and difficult with many obstacles and challenges, that delay their reunion. It is the love and devotion they have for each other that keeps them going and determined to see one another. Ada doesn't know much of how to raise a farm, but when her father dies, she has no choice but to learn how. Ruby contributes to her knowledge of her new responsibilities. Also after her father dies Inman becomes the one thing on her mind. What she doesn't know is that she is also what he thinks and dreams of to help him get through his tough circumstances. If only Inman would have known that the war was going to last much longer than he thought, he wouldn't have signed up to fight in it. He wouldn't have wanted to be away from her for as long as he had been. One theme that is throughout the book is the separation that they place on themselves in order to find true understanding in the world and each other. This story is expected to be one of a great soldier's experiences during the Civil War, but turns out to be one of how love has no boundaries. I enjoyed the novel because it is very different from anything I have read before. It made me think and really intrigued in the characters. I liked following the stories separately and watching them come together near the end. What I didn't like was how long it took to come together. I think that other should read this because it was a learning experience, as well as, a great book to read. It doesn't just give you something to read, but it gives you something to think about while you're not reading it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I avoided reading this book for a long time because I am not generally interested in reading about war or senseless violence. But I finally picked it up because of all the accolades by critics. It is actually not very well written at all. It is boring and too wordy. It seems the author just took a creative writing course and overused his new-found tool, description. The detail is distracting and much of the story just is unnecessary. It is very disappointing. With so many great books to read and so little time, I'm sorry I wasted time with this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent book
DoranneLongPTMS More than 1 year ago
A wonderful story; I am so pleased I finally read this book. I loved reading about the life, in that day and age.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ben_Lopez More than 1 year ago
Cold Mountain takes place during the civil war and follows the journey of the book’s protagonist Inman, A confederate soldier who wakes up in a Virginia hospital recovering from his wounds. Inman decides to abandon the war and returns home were Ada Monroe, Inman’s lover. This book is entirely written in two perspectives, Inman and Ada. Inman is an intelligent, sturdy and sensitive man who is troubled and traumatized by the carnage that takes place during the war. Inman attempts to regain his hope and his conviction in a brighter world against violence and cruelty. When Inman escapes from the Virginia hospital his voyage begins as he heads toward North Carolina to his home in Cold Mountain. During his trip Inman meets a vast amount of people who help and stop him from continuing his journey home. Inman is also being chased by a local militia who hunt down deserters of the war. When I first picked up this book from the library I thought I made a very big mistake, reading from the first pages I lost my apathy for the book, but as I continued to read the book I became very curious about what would happen next to Inman in his journey. Charles Frazier does a glorious job of portraying the book, as I imagine him walking through the forest and visualize his thoughts and feelings. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
See above.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After three weeks and 70 pages I closed the book to go to something else.
Alaska-Kath More than 1 year ago
Read the book and then watch the movie. Well worth the time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Frazier is as much a poet as a novelist. Cold Mountain is a naturalistic story, part adventure and part romance. Fans if Mccarthy will enjoy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MPA More than 1 year ago
This book was great in so many ways. Historically interesting. Really gave you a feel of the trials of living through the Civil War. And the love story was intense and I couldn't put the book down. I'm going on to read more of this authors books....I'm hooked. I highly recommend it. It would be great for a book club....lots to discuss!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago