×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Cold Quarry
     

A Cold Quarry

4.2 23
by Andy Straka
 

See All Formats & Editions

The third novel in the thrilling Shamus Award-winning, Agatha & Anthony Award nominated series.

An expert falconer is shot in the back in the wilds of West Virginia. The police believe he was the victim of a hunting accident but PI Frank Pavlicek, a falconer himself, isn't buying the story. Beatings, bombings, warnings from the FBI, and the arrest of his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Cold Quarry 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Nitro, West Virginia, Falconer Chester Carew is working his bird Elo when the falcon suddenly disappears. Chester is able to track him via a telemetry recoverer, but he walks into an ambush and is murdered, shot in the back. Attending the funeral is fellow falconers Frank Pavlicek and his former partner in the NYPD Jake Toronto. Chester¿s widow wants to hire Frank, who now works as a private investigator in Virginia, to find out who killed her husband. The police tell her it was probably a drunken hunter but Mrs. Carew thinks the Stonewall Rangers, a local right wing militia group, had something to do with it. As soon as Frank starts asking questions and stirring the locals up, he is asked to ¿stand down¿ by the local police, the FBI and the ATF who have a sting operation in place that takes priority. Frank isn¿t one to back off and that is a good trait because he learns that the stingers are about to be stung. The protagonist, Frank Pavlicek is a strong willed character who is so loyal to those he cares about that when Mr. Toronto is arrested, Frank does everything in his power to help him. The events that take place in this book are a reflection of the persistent atmosphere of the United States government following the events of September 11, 2001. Andy Straka not only knows how to weave current events into his story line, but also he creates an exciting thought provoking who-done-it. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was interesting as well as being a quick read. A must for any avid reader who enjoys nerve wracking mysteries with a good twist at the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always enjoy his stories. They don't always require a lot of thought but keep you guessing back and forth. Recomended. Not a lot of violence or cussing. Prude that I am I liked that!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Frank Pavlicek, a P.I. in Charlottesville, Virginia, goes to nearby West Virginia because his friend Chester Carew has been found dead on his property. Chester had been out hunting with his falcon Elo. Now Elo is missing and Chester is dead. The police think it was a hunting accident. Frank and his friend Jake Toronto don't believe that. They begin investigating. Frank finds the police constantly telling him to go home to Charlottesville and leave the investigating to them, but he isn't convinced they are looking in the right places. Frank's daughter Nicole, a college student who is working with him in the office, wants to help with the investigation. Frank sends her back to Charlottesville to do some work in the office. She is not pleased with this, but does it. Frank isn't sure how he ever ran the office without her. As Frank investigates, he finds himself getting deeper and deeper. Jake ends up getting himself in trouble with the law. Could they be dealing with terrorists or just the local radicals? Who can they trust? In the end Jake and Frank are both in danger. The author has created great characters and the falcon hunting really adds to the story. I enjoy this series because it is often set in Virginia where I am living. I like the mystery about Jake. It really adds to the story. I hope in future books that Frank is able to have a healthy love relationship. I like Nicole working with Frank. I think this adds to the story. I hope she becomes more involved over time. The story goes so many different directions it is difficult to figure out who the killer is and why. I like the way he crafts his stories. I highly recommend this book and the whole series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The regional details of West Virginia make the story come alive. It was a page turner for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book holds your attention. However, there are alot of typos.
booksaregood More than 1 year ago
Since starting to read a new author, have found these books to br quite interesting and very enjoyable
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not a lot of substance to his storys
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
rabelsb More than 1 year ago
It held my interest to the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would highly recommend this book and all his other in this series. He is an excellent writer. Keeps you right on edge until the end. Teenager and all adults would loves these books by Andy Straka.
fairygrandmother More than 1 year ago
love learning new stuff..This and all Andy Straka series are fast paced and informative..nothing like learning and having a good read