×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Cold Service (Spenser Series #32)
     

Cold Service (Spenser Series #32)

3.2 29
by Robert B. Parker, Joe Mantegna (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

When Spenser's closet ally, Hawk, is brutally injured and left for dead while protecting booking Luther Gillespie, Spenser embarks on an epic journey to rehabilitate his friend in body and soul. Hawk, always proud, has never been dependent on anyone. Now he is forced to make connections: to the medical technology that will ensure his physical recovery, and to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Cold Service (Spenser Series #32) 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
S4Hfan More than 1 year ago
I loved it... I am and have always been a die=hard Spenser Novel's fan... Some of his books in the so long ago time span in the list of the novels have not been up to his regular standard, but Cold Service was!!! I highly recomend this book and novel if you are a long time Spenser fan! Great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you're into super-macho, monosyllabic navel-gazing, this is the book for you. I got through it, wondering how Parker would wind it up, and found the ending as disappointing as the rest of it. (I got to the last page thinking, 'Huh?') I don't know how Parker could write some of this pop-psychological stuff without rolling on the floor, laughing. As Hawk's girlfriend said, 'Spare me!' This is definitely not Parker's best -- not even close.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read all the Spenser novels and am currently reading them in chronological order for the first time. I made an exception and read both School Days and Cold Service because they were new. I was shocked by the shallowness of the book, the totally unrealistic plot, and the changes in Susan's role as well as Hawk's. My first thought was 'Who are you and what have you done with Spenser's author?' Needless to say, this one rates a 'pass' on my list of Spenser novels to re-read two years from now when I once again delight in reading the series. There is only one other Spenser novel that I didn't care for (Pale Kings and Princes). If you loved that one, you can probably disregard my review. However, I highly recommend checking out the first few pages before purchasing it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read Robert Parker for years and usually love his stuff. His early books are the best. I like the Jesse Stone and Sunny Randall characters,too. But this book was a bore, the plot thin. I just didn't care what happened. I thought it was just me, but my husband also read the book, and agrees it is hardly up to Parker's standards. Left me, um, cold...
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was really disappointed this isnt one of his best. If you took all the curse words not much left. Plus who can say all those names.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read many Spenser books in the past, and this was the worst by far. Spenser and Hawk have become almost like invincible cartoon superheroes, and every couple of chapters Susan chimes in to explain 'the code' between the men - otherwise she has no function whatsoever. The only Parker book I'll read now will be the Jesse Stone series and least he's almost like an actual human.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I agree with other reviewers that this was not Mr. Parker's best; between the Ukranian mob and the Boston bad guys, it became confusing at time; however, when it comes to dialog, Parker is the master! Even if you skip over the narrative and just read the dialog, it's worth it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found the book boring and very difficult to follow. It did not hold my interest. Usually I cannot put Mr Paker's books down. This one was hard to pick up at times. Won't stop me from reading whatever else this master writes.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As an avid fan of Robert B. Parker, whom I consider a master of the genre, I was terribly disappointed in this book. It won't stop me from buying his next one, but this one won't pick up any new readers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was not Robert Parker's best Spencer novel. It was slow reading for me, boring a lot of the time. Also there was too much time spend on the 'lingo' talk between Hawk and Spencer. BUT I will say if you pay attention to all said throughout the novel, then you will see that there is more complexity to the ending than meets the eye.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Parkers newest has all the characters Parker fans have grown to love,on both sides of the legal 'fence'. And this time Parker takes you deeper inside the 'psyche' of both Hawk and Spenser, as Hawk learns (maybe for the first time) what it's like to be afraid. This newest 'Spenser' novel does even more to blur the line between good and bad, as Spenser and Hawk (once again) step over the legal 'limit line' to, this time,avenge an attack on Hawk. This is a good 'Spenser' story, with alot going for it. It is, however, not one of Parkers best.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Most of the time Spencer sits around and talk and talks and talks. Lots of charters? yes. Lots of dead peope? You Bet. Still, the worse Spencer ever? I admit it. I am a huge fan and I even like that last Sunny Randall book, but this one...! Parker finds a WMD, He kills all his readers through comatoses.
Guest More than 1 year ago
An excellent book, as are most of the Spencer novels. I think there was a little too much of Susan and her need to over analize things. She redeamed herself in SMALL VICES, but she can annoy the hell out of me sometimes.