×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Come Back: A Mother and Daughter's Journey Through Hell and Back
  • Alternative view 1 of Come Back: A Mother and Daughter's Journey Through Hell and Back
  • Alternative view 2 of Come Back: A Mother and Daughter's Journey Through Hell and Back
     

Come Back: A Mother and Daughter's Journey Through Hell and Back

4.5 123
by Claire Fontaine, Mia Fontaine
 

See All Formats & Editions

In powerful parallel stories, mother and daughter give mesmerizing first-person accounts of the nightmare that shattered their family and the amazing journey they took to find their way back to each other. Claire Fontaine's relentless cross-country search for her missing child and ultimate decision to force her into treatment in Eastern Europe is a gripping tale of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Come Back 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 123 reviews.
cnb29 More than 1 year ago
This book is a heavy read and goes into great detail the abuse suffered by Mia (the daughter) and the real life struggles of the "other" parent (Claire) as she realizes, accepts and fights the past, present and future ramifications of not only adolescent sexual abuse, but drug abuse and a host of other emotional problems that can only be described as unbelievable, but true. Read this book!!! If there is a female in your life, read this and learn the power of a mother's love!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Claire and Mia's story is the most real memoir I've ever read. As the mother of a heroin addicted daughter and a survivor of childhood sexual abuse, it truly hit home. Claire's story was dead on as to what it's like to watch your child destroy her life. I've said the words and thought the thoughts in this book over and over. As far as Mia, in some cases, she said the exact same things I've heard from my own daughter so many times. As an abuse survivor, it helped me to understand so much of the pain and confusion that go along with being a survivor. For any parent who has gone through the hell and insanity that is drug addiction, this book gives some amazing insight into the hard work that is required for recovery. I hope and pray with each day that my daughter and I reach the point that Claire and Mia have.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book glorifies the organization formerly known as WWASPS. Morava was shut down. The "school" that Mia then transferred to in Utah has a known history of abuse. The book mentioned a girl who was currently held in isolation in a small building referred to as The Hobbit. There is a picture of The Hobbit on the web, along with stories of some teens who survived their time at WWASPS facilities and a few teens who did not. An irresponsible editorial decision was made to publish this book. SHAME ON YOU Harper-Collins. And shame on the parents who send/have sent their teens off to such places without visiting them first. The writing in this book reflects the ease in which decent human beings can get sucked in by an aggressive internet advertizing campaign. A cult-like primer at best. Skip this book and read about the experiences of WWASPS survivors instead.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Claire and Mia brought back so many memories to me and I think they told their story the way it should have been told. I wish all kids were required to read this book so if they were going thru this they might come forward or think about their actions.
ALEXXBABY More than 1 year ago
I have actually attended the school Spring Creek Lodge Academy in Thompson Falls, Montana. I read this book years ago when I was actually at the school. I stumbled across it looking for books to purchase for my nook and found it fascinating. Sometimes you forget about certain aspects of your life and than randomly stumble upon them. For anyone who has questions about whether this book is like all of the rest of the Memoirs out there, IT"S NOT! You should definitely purchase it whether you have had problems with addiction or not. Everyone in life knows someone who has addiction problems or experiences them yourself. It is a very good read. DEFINITELY BUY!!
Lil_PeanutLM More than 1 year ago
I first read this book on paperback form. My mother was the one who gave me the book and told me i should read it. As soon as i started the book, I could not put it down. I cried on certain parts and was truly amazed on what they went through. I finished this book in a few days and was blown away.This book went around our office for a month. Now that i have my nook, i bought it. You will honestly not be disappointed on this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down! I am a full time nurse with three kids and I couldn't put this book down! This book is completely engaging from the first page and I was incredibly sad when I finished it. I am not a person that will read a book a second time but this book is definitely one I would consider. My only regret is that I loaned it out and can't remember who has it! This book is absolutely what prompted me to begin reading again. I highly recommend this book to everyone. I hope there will be another book from this mother-daughter team.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She follows
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book to help parents know there are others out there facing the same battles, as well as showing there is a light at the end of the tunnel!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Strong Bio of two strong women. I could not put this down. Thanks to Claire and Mia for sharing their story.
GrayMagnolia More than 1 year ago
A mother-daughter journey through hell and back is as real as it gets. The writing style is informative and heart-breaking. It is a great read to understand drug-addiction from the addicted's point of view and also their families.
faith7ashley More than 1 year ago
This book was so deep. I read it in a few days....and i loved it. I really loved it.
thewanderingjew More than 1 year ago
A mother and a daughter have teamed up to collaborate and bring us their true story about the depths to which someone can descend when under the influence of environment, drugs, alcohol, and less than stellar friendships. The climb back from the bottom to the top is fraught with pain and recidivism. Tough love was the order of the day for the family and the facility which aided in the healthy outcome for this young woman. The key to this story is that the process worked although the method and facility have both been criticized and excoriated. One such place was shut down after complaints by some disgruntled participants. It was an expensive, extreme kind of boot camp but it has had more success than any other facility I have ever heard or read about. I was privileged to hear the young girl speak about her experiences and witness her remarkable recovery.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just got re-obsessed with reading, and i love to read memiors and stories about real life and triumph through hardships...but this book was really a disappointment...reading everyone else's reviews makes me feel like i'm missing something b/c i don't agree with most of them. I enjoyed reading Mia's portions of the book, but I found Claire's dialogue to be redundant and poorly expressed. Something about the manner in which she writes, i can't put my finger on it, didn't have a good flow for me. In every effort i made to stay interested, i failed. I suppose i might have been looking for more of a knock-down vividness of life in addiction and teen despair but as i literally read every other page to skim through to the end, i was left disappointed overall.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago