×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Comeback Season
     

The Comeback Season

4.1 19
by Jennifer E. Smith
 

See All Formats & Editions

The last place Ryan Walsh should be this afternoon is on a train heading to Wrigley Field. She should be in class, enduring yet another miserable day of her first year of high school. But for once, Ryan isn't thinking about what she should be doing. She's not worried about her lack of friends, or her suffering math grade, or how it's been five whole years since the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Comeback Season 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Ryan Walsh is a girl who loves the Chicago Cubs. It's not just about baseball to her, though. It's more about her dad, who passed away when she was ten years old, who sparked her love for the team. She's a freshmen in high school now, and the year didn't turn out quite how she wanted it to, with her drifting further apart from her grade school friends, Kate and
Sydney.

Everything changes for Ryan on Opening Day, when she goes to Wrigley Field to try and scalp a ticket. Though she ends up having to enjoy the game outside of the stadium, it's all worth it, for that day is when she really meets the new kid at school, Nick.

From then on, they have a relationship that builds quickly based on things like baseball and knowing when to just be silent together. Things are finally starting to look up for Ryan, when it all starts to get out of her control again. The feelings of helplessness. The fear. In the end, Ryan will have a hard lesson to learn. How to move forward, without forgetting the past.

THE COMEBACK SEASON was an amazing story about getting through the tough times in life to make it to the other side. The friendship between Ryan and Nick is warming and hilarious at the same time, reflecting the lives of friends all over the world. Jennifer E. Smith mixes life...love...death...strength...and baseball in a beautiful way that will keep you flipping the pages and ready to tread through the journey alongside Ryan. You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll be happy, you'll be mad. But most of all, you'll love this book, whether a fan of sports or not, because more then that, it's simply a story of learning how to live and thrive during the good and bad times.
DemiMarie More than 1 year ago
This is a very good book. Its not all about baseball and no all about love. It's a teenage girl's life and its very interesting. When I started reading it, I couldn't see myself getting into the book but after I got done with first couple chapters, I couldn't stop reading it. Jennifer E Smith is a wonderful author. I havent read much of her books but I would love to in the future. I recommed this book, and hope hey enjoy is as much as I did.
daniellecarolyn96 More than 1 year ago
i love this book. one day i went to the book store with my grandmother and there was a lot of books on sale. this was one of the books. i started the book one night when it was storming and i did not have power. once i start reading it i have to force my self to put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mrswink More than 1 year ago
It was funny, happy, sad, and all qualities a good book should have! I wish there was more to the end, or a sequel! I recommend to any teen looking for a good read
daddysgirl0 More than 1 year ago
I would recommend this to anyone in their teenage years. I loved this book. I cant wait to read more of Jennifer Smith's books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
80132 More than 1 year ago
If tragedy for the sake of tragedy is your thing, this is your book! Personally, I feel jerked around by this type of author. It's too formulaic for my taste: Something bad happens, something good happens, something worse happens.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is actually really outstanding, despite it's bittersweet ending. I think the author did a good job putting it in present tense third person and the writing is something to appreciate. It has a good combination of love, relationships, everyday struggles, and baseball. This book has become one of my favorite books. Some people might think places were slow, as I have read some places, but you have to understand writing and how hard it is to get a book like this and perfecting it. Writing in present tense is not an easy thing, and it's something a person who understands writing appreciates. Never the less, it's definitely worth reading and people who have struggled through death and the hardships of having friends, it's a book that you would definitely appreciate.
Guest More than 1 year ago
im a person who likes happy endings. if you are to don't read this book. some parts were so boring because there was too much detail. and if you dont like baseball dont read it. and it was really confusing. i mean i think i know how the book ended, but still not positive.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this i must say was cute but to be honest it was kinda slow. like i did read it. but i kept skipping paragraphs at times. but then there would be some parts were i would read it and love it. but at the ending i have to say i did cry. i do love the ending soo maybe if she took some things out of the story it would be better. but it was ok but like i said it had a good ending.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Everyone loves a happy ending...right? Okay, maybe yes, but The Comeback Season is twisted with a friendship of love until death takes over half of it. It's a heartbreaking story, but it's got something to teach. Not every ending is happy. It's a small comeback for reality which people seem to ignore these days. This book was written well and with problems of everyday high schoolers, social groups, and relationships along with things that could be very real with a twist of baseball, this book is one of the best books I'll ever read. A personal number one favorite.
Livybug25 More than 1 year ago
One of the best books ever!! I couldn't put the book down it had me hooked from the first page!! I definitely recommend this book to others!!