×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Coming Up for Air
     

Coming Up for Air

4.1 34
by Patti Callahan Henry
 

See All Formats & Editions

Ellie Calvin is caught in a dying marriage, and she knows this. With her beloved daughter away at college and a growing gap between her and her husband, she doesn't quite seem to fit into her own life. But everything changes when her controlling mother, Lillian, passes away. Ellie sees her ex-boyfriend, Hutch, at the funeral, and learns that he is in charge of a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Coming up for Air 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im a 20 year old woman and I felt this story was excellent! It's a must read for women in general. I really enjoyed the writing style, I found it easy to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great story about strength, secrets, and love set in a beautiful, southern landscape. It left me inspired to never settle. I couldn't put this down!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books. Ellie is your ordinary forty-something woman coming to some realizations about her life after her mother's death. I am from Alabama, graduated from Auburn University and only someone from Alabama could describe with such detail especially The War Eagle Supper Club. How refreshing! Every woman should read this book especially if you are forty something or just at a crossroad in your life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. Once I started reading it, I could not put it down. I could relate to the time period of Lily's journal. It only took me a weekend, and I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a disappointment! The story is boring, the characters implausible and generally unlikeable, the writing awkward and amateurish, with tiresome attempts at similes and metaphors that look as though it was part of the writing assignment to hit a quota. I often found myself re-reading the same sentence several times trying to make sense of it because of the awkward wording or phrasing. As for the "big mystery," you won't even care what it is, because the characters are so self absorbed and annoying. I hate it when I feel as if I've wasted my money on a book!
TBee More than 1 year ago
With a mysterious flare, Patti C. Henry weaves a tail about a woman discovering a secret past that shocked her regarding her recently deceased mother. It is a time of discovery and realization from the present & the past. This story brought real issues alive in facing a parent's death. I could relate to the content and characters of this excellent book. Having read all of Patti Henry's books, I believe that each one is better than the last! Look forward to her next tale.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LindaR58 More than 1 year ago
My lucky find, new to this author and first read.  Wonderful story told, full of wisdom and experience, and one I will be recommending to all I know.  Give yourself the gift of reading this one,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my first book by Patti--it was very good and held my interest. Sometimes those first loves stay with you forever as it did with Elli.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Finally a great read for a forthy something woman. A story about love, secrets and sacrifices. It was inspiraing. As I read the pages I felt it was talking about my feelings. Enjoyed reading it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago