×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Coming Up Roses
     

Coming Up Roses

4.3 26
by Catherine Anderson
 

See All Formats & Editions

From New York Times bestselling author Catherine Anderson comes the emotionally gripping story of a woman who must overcome her painful past before she can accept a good man’s love...

1890, Oregon. Recently widowed Kate Blakely is struggling to make ends meet on her small farm while trying to heal from the scars of her late husband’s cruelty.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Coming up Roses 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
GypsyPA More than 1 year ago
This is a re-published book, not a new title! The cover is different but this book has been around for a long time. The social issue the story is about was well written and thought provoking and it is a good read; however I felt it was deceptive and would like my money back as it was previously published.
judiOH More than 1 year ago
this is a tale that will touch hearts everywhere, as well as expose a part of life most of us would rather not see. an abusive father dies leaving his widow and daughter emotional wrecks. the cowboy next door saves her daughter from a well and a nest of rattlesnakes. she nurses him back to health, no small feat after a lot of bites. over time she learns to trust again, and love blooms. however, she is arrested for the murder of her husband. making her life miserable is the brother of her dead husband, just as crazy as her husband had been. this is a story of abuse, and how love can bring about a healing, and let some one that has suffered abuse have a happily ever after. catherine anderson's stories are feel good stories. i love catherine anderson stories. you will too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another good one from this author.
madsnjaxmom More than 1 year ago
I love Catherine Anderson, I have read every book she has published. The only down side is that when I start her book I can't put it down so it only takes me 1-2 days to finish it & wait till he next book comes out.
Luv2ReadAG More than 1 year ago
Everyone should read this book!!! It is a wonderful story!!! I could not put the book down and read it in one night!!! I was barely able to function the next day but it was so worth it!!!!!
jsurfergirl_1 More than 1 year ago
Great book from start to finish. Couldn't put it down...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
:( The sample has so much intro material it does not even include any of the text of the actual story. How are we supposed to geta feel for the writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is another good story by Catherine Anderson. She doesn't disappoint in this book of love, betrayal and healing. The characters were all well developed, the hero and heroine lovable and the villains were properly evil and the little girl was enchanting. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a warm love story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story was touching. I laughed, I cried, and I cried some more. Loved it!!
Rabid-for-Romance More than 1 year ago
I found the original edition of this book at a garage sale, and, oh, man, I was instantly hooked on Catherine Anderson's books! This story tugged on all my heartstrings. When I saw it come out again with a pretty new cover, I grabbed a copy. Now I am reading everything Anderson writes that I can get my hands on. I can't believe it took me so long to discover her. Wow!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great Read!!!"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All her books are highly recommended by me.
Anonymous 4 months ago
ReadsWithGranddaughters More than 1 year ago
This is a book that is a treasure. I could not put it down, reading it every moment I had free. Set in 1890 southwestern Oregon, Kate Blakely, recently widowed, is trying to make ends meet, raising her four-year-old daughter, Miranda. They suffered greatly when her husband of five years was alive, and are still having nightmares from the abuses each received. Starting anew, Kate rises above the past and seeks to move forward with as normal a life as possible. When her neighbor, Zach McGovern, risks his life to save Miranda, Kate feels she owes him everything and takes him in to nurse him in the hopes that he will not die. With Marcus, who works for Zach, and the doctor checking in, the healing begins. But when Ryan, Kate's brother-in-law, steps in to claim her, she finds him to be worse than her husband was. There are secrets Kate and Miranda share, and now she isn't safe. As secrets become revealed, Kate must face consequences that may tear her whole life apart. This is a soul-wrenching, heartbreaking, and absolutely well-written story that will not let you down. I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pika_ More than 1 year ago
If you're in the mood for a well written, charming period piece romance look no further. I've read a couple of Catherine Anderson's contemporary and historical fictions and so far this one is my favorite. I feel like it had the most heart. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
S-Leatherman More than 1 year ago
This book is absolutely amazing. It doesn't project some "falsified" romance, it shows the truth behind scarred lovers! Really keeps you wondering what is going to happen next! This is also the first book I have read by Catherine Anderson, and if definitely will not be the last! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The sample was 22 pages long and you didnt even get to the first page of chapter 1. Really its called a sample so that should at least be a few pages of chapter 1!!