×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Complete Short Stories of Ernest Hemingway
     

The Complete Short Stories of Ernest Hemingway

4.2 65
by Ernest Hemingway, Charles Scribner (Preface by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

THE ONLY COMPLETE COLLECTION BY THE NOBEL PRIZE-WINNING AUTHOR
In this definitive collection of Ernest Hemingway's short stories, readers will delight in the author's most beloved classics such as "The Snows of Kilimanjaro," "Hills Like White Elephants," and "A Clean, Well-Lighted Place," and will discover seven new tales published for the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Complete Short Stories of Ernest Hemingway 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 65 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Curiosity led me to read this book. I wanted to know what Mr. Hemingway had written that would earn him both the Nobel prize in literature and the Pulitzer Prize. My conclusion was that the author was able to touch the inner feelings of the hardest hearts. His descriptions of scenes as well as experiences were expressed to the extent I had never read before. Sometimes it was almost uncomfortable with the sharing of human suffering and emotions. His vast knowledge of historical events, the world in general and other languages was amazing!
BM_Hargrove More than 1 year ago
Ernest Hemingway is one of my favorite authors and this has a great selection of his amazing stories. I would definitely recommend buying this if you are a fan or if you just want to find a new author. I love reading these stories over and over again!
Don Congjuico More than 1 year ago
i have the hardcopy for this and this is indeed one of my timeless treasures that i love to read over and over again
Guest More than 1 year ago
How nice to have all these stories in one book. There were many that I had forgotten about. My favorite is still 'Hills Like White Elephants', but I also love 'Homage to Switzerland' and 'Old Man at the Bridge.' I highly recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of Hemingway and/or a lover of tight, snappy prose. These short stories are easy to read. Hemingway was known for writing short, declarative sentences which makes reading these stories a quick,convenient escape anytime you need it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Every time I reread this collection of short stories I find that I love it that much more. Hemingway's stories covered all range of topics, but mostly he deals with the human heart, in its relation to nature and with others. There is no need to talk about his style of writing because his 'tough, terse' style is legendary. I do wish that 'The Old Man and the Sea' were included here instead of by itself. I tried to pick my favorite Hemingway stories and I couldn't narrow it down to any less than 21. ¿An African Story¿, ¿The Battler¿, ¿The Butterfly and the Tank¿, ¿Cat in the Rain¿, ¿A Clean, Well-Lighted Place¿, ¿Fathers and Sons¿, ¿Fifty Grand¿, ¿God Rest You Merry, Gentlemen¿, ¿Hills Like White Elephants¿, ¿Indian Camp¿, ¿The Killers¿, ¿The Last Good Country¿, ¿The Light of the World¿, ¿My Old Man¿, ¿One Trip Across¿, ¿The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber¿, ¿The Snows of Kilamajaro¿, ¿Soldier¿s Home¿, ¿The Three-Day Blow¿, ¿A Train Trip¿, and ¿Up in Michigan¿. There are few writers that I've found that can handle the short story as well as Hemingway. If you are interested check out the short fiction of Franz Kafka, John Cheever, Shirley Jackson, Nathaniel Hawthorne, and Mark Twain.
Guest More than 1 year ago
the only complete collection of hemingway's short stories. and he was the master of the short story. this is a collection that should be on everyone's shelf. there is nothing i can say, you have to read it.
Merns More than 1 year ago
Talk about "undefeated"! This is the reigning champ.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Hemingway was best as a short story writer. And there are many small masterpieces within this volume. Who wants to read the short story at its finest should read this work.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Forced to write a report on an Author I never read before, I boughtthis book and was AMAZED! I had to reasd 'Big Two-Hearted River'. Many of whom Ih ave talked too hated it! I absolutely LOVED it. A wonderful book to include in yoru home Library. -Danielle* -16
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book contains all of Hemingway's short stories. It convenient to have all of the masters short stories in one volume.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the Finca Vigia collection. I'm a huge Hemingway fan to begin with and was always looking for a complete set of his short stories to read. This book covers it. From his classic character Nick Adams stories to the Spanish civil war. Hemingway as well always has as part of his stories drinking/women or in a lot of his stories women always portrayed as evil/food/restaurants etc invloved and I like that. He has a way of drawing you into a story and this began for me from the For whom the bell Tolls and the Sun also rises. Bottom line- you will not be disapointed in this book/great stories from a legend in American writing. A side note- Finca Vigia was Hemingway's home in Cuba for some years and thus the title to the book. DNC.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this selection of short stories by the greatest of all writers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago