×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Complete Stories
  • Alternative view 1 of The Complete Stories
  • Alternative view 2 of The Complete Stories
  • Alternative view 3 of The Complete Stories
<Previous >Next
     

The Complete Stories

4.3 26
by Flannery O'Connor, Robert Giroux (Introduction)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Winner of the National Book Award

The publication of this extraordinary volume firmly established Flannery O'Connor's monumental contribution to American fiction. There are thirty-one stories here in all, including twelve that do not appear in the only two story collections O'Connor put together in her short lifetime--Everything That Rises Must Converge

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Complete Stories 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I was an English major in college, I studied Flannery O'Connor and wrote a thesis on her work. At first, I thought her work was very offputting because some of her stories were grotesque and preachy. Then I began to realize her genius: The ability to portray ordinary people who undergo extraordinary changes in their lives. Her stories are gems of revelation, straddling mystery and manners.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Flannery O'Connor's dark tales tell stories that plumb the depths of human nature. Far from a shallow portrait of humanity, O'Connor sees right through our dissembling and points to the true problem. She is the closest thing to a truly great writer America has had for many years. Her stories are witty, horrifying, and brilliant.
puzzleman More than 1 year ago
What a collection of stories! Well written, usually very light and humorous. Then a knockout punch that leaves you dazed. Some may find the prolific use of the N-word offensive, but it probably captures the South at that period. Others also may say there are critiques of the religious, but I say it merely captures the Southern nature at that time. All humanity, across all cultures and time periods, shows the same brutality and small mindedness. Some stories will ruin you for a day with their blowaway ending. Very powerful, very good, a must read. And I have 150 pages to go.
Buckaroo More than 1 year ago
I have not ready any of Flannery O'Connor's work prior to purchasing this collection, and boy - what I have been missing! This is a complete collection of all of her shot stories, including ones that have not been published in book form before. Each story is unique, and sends you on a journey that can be sometimes sad, echantingm and even shocking! Definite one for anyone who loves a great short story. Can not put it down - wish she had written more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sdfbvgfng
kyohin More than 1 year ago
You know you are reading something spectacular when you find yourself holding your breath. The word awesome has been overused for quite some time now, but it neatly describes this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent writing, character studies -
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
devour_lit More than 1 year ago
If you love Flannery O'Connor's short stories, get this book. She remains one of America's finest writers and her tales never get old. "Parker's Back", "Revelation", "Good Country People", "A Good Man is Hard to Find", and many others are in this collection. GET IT, READ IT, LOVE IT!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago