×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Conch Bearer (Brotherhood of the Conch Series #1)
     

The Conch Bearer (Brotherhood of the Conch Series #1)

3.7 11
by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni
 

See All Formats & Editions

In a dingy shack in the less-than-desirable Indian neighborhood he calls home, twelve-year-old Anand is entrusted with a conch shell that possesses mystical powers. His task is to return the shell to its rightful home many hundreds of miles away. Accompanying him are Nisha, a headstrong but resourceful child of the streets, and a mysterious man of indeterminate age

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Conch Bearer 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Conch Bearer ChitraBanerjeeDivakaruni Somdata, the head of the Brotherhood, a mystical group in India who worship the Conch, confirmed Anand's powers to him, and the other members of the Brotherhood, in a meeting when he said, "Amongst all of us in the Brotherhood who have been blessed with gifts, you have a unique one. We meditate on the Conch and draw our strength from it, but you have spoken to it. And more importantly, it has spoken to you." Anand is a poor twelve-year-old boy from Kolkata, India. Although brave and able to talk to the magical Conch, Anand doubts himself. He travels with the conch to the Silver Valley, hundreds of miles away, through a mountain range and a river to the gate of this magical place where it is always Spring. On his journey he meets many obstacles and demons try to take the Conch from him. This is a story about a boy making some very hard choices and personal decisions. Anand does all this to protect the Conch and bring it back to its rightful place in the Silver Valley. Until he gets this challenge to take the Conch to its home with the Brotherhood, he does not feel like he has a purpose in Kolkata. The Conch Bearer is a very emotional, vivid and exciting book. I recommend it to anyone who wants to read about an amazing journey of courage and adventure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bookmomnyc More than 1 year ago
In America, it is difficult to find good fiction about India for middle grade readers that are neither to baby-ish (picture books) nor too adult (arranged marriage). This book is one of the few that is great for a wide range of readers, including adults who may enjoy young adult fantasy. The books moves along quickly and is fun to read. The Conch Bearer has many classic elements of childrens' fantasy: an absent parent, longing for magic in the every day, an ardous journey, a treasured and powerful magical object, learning to trust new friends, a discovery of hidden abilities, a secret world, just out of sight. This book is not particularily orginal in those respects. What makes this book different is its setting: India. The author incorporates elements of modern day urban street life in Kolkatta (Calcutta). Poverty, orphaned children, open markets, the sights and smells of the streets are party of the story backgrounds, but luckily, we don't get mired in this. We also see the varied topography of India (inlcuding the Himalayas) as the main characters are entrusted with their task and struggle on their journey. All in all a fun, fantasy read for fans of the genre with a different setting. It is a great book to share as family if you are making a trip to India as it is appropriate for ages 7 and up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a young reader,like 10 of age, this book took me a bit to start but once getting to know the characters I found myself reading page after page. It was intriging trying to figure out who was the enemy. boy was I in for a surprise to discover it would be someone else. I do recommend this book to mystery,magic and adventure seekers!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I LOVED this book. It was full of magic and suspense and even had a usefull moral at the end of the book. It was great! Don't forget to read its sequel, 'The Mirror of Fire and Dreaming!' Both are real page turners.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Have you ever found a book that as soon as you pick it up, you can't put it back down? Well, this book is like that in all ways. This is a magical book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found the book to be too similar to the Lord of the Rings story. even the name of the villian is Surabhanu, so similar to Saruman. and the paragraph where it mentions the old man showing Anand, the conch shell the first time. The way in which it was written and the magnetism that the conch emanated seemed to be too similar to the magnetism emanated by the Ring for Frodo Baggins, Smeagol and the others. Expected something more original from Ms.Divakaruni !!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This lady goes to my church in Houston, TX. She was selling the book there and I got her autograph and the book. IT is a good suspenseful book that you can't put down. You should read it.