×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Confession
     

The Confession

3.8 5165
by John Grisham
 

See All Formats & Editions

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

BONUS: This edition contains excerpts from John Grisham's The Litigators and Calico Joe.

An innocent man is about to be executed.
Only a guilty man can save him.
 
In 1998, in the small East Texas city of Sloan, Travis Boyette abducted, raped, and strangled a popular high school

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Confession 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5165 reviews.
biff More than 1 year ago
I have read all of Grisham's previous books. I love the Firm & Pelican Brief. The Confession is not one of my favorites books. The build up to the coda was just ok, but the preachie, liberal ending is too much, even for a avid reader of all genre. Leave the preaching to my rector & stay with writing like you did in the begining. So many of my favorite authors have stooped to tearful whining, that I may have to find someone new to read. I will give Mr. Grisham one more chance, then I'm done.
lawabidingTexan More than 1 year ago
An obvious rant against the death penalty and the criminal justice system in Texas, disguised as a fiction thriller. It is a Grisham quality story but there is too much preachiness. This was covered in his nonfiction book.
OCGIRL More than 1 year ago
I anxiously waited John Grisham's latest release. I just finished it and was very disappointed. The writing was okay, the characters, predictible and the underlying political anti-detah penalty message, sappy and overdone. Mr. Grisham has now been added to the same list that James Patterson is on - an author who used to be compelling but who now is adequate, at best. I'll wait for the paperback the next time.
Balina More than 1 year ago
I have read all John Grisham books, and this one didn't disappoint. Loved it.
BusyProfessional More than 1 year ago
Not a hint of suspense in this book, not a hint of plot twist. It read like a treatise against the death penalty, not like a novel. Very disappointing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You have to be a Grisham fan to appreciate this book. I thought it was wonderful and an easy read. Could not put it down always wanted to see what happends next. I would say buy it, nothing negative about it. Read for pleasure don't over read and you will enjoy. Would make a good movie. It's a good travel book.
Lawprofessor More than 1 year ago
I admit that I am only half way through this book. I would stop now but I hate that I paid for the book so I will finish it. There is no story. There is no drama. There is Mr. Grisham's diatribe against the death penalty and nothing of interest to the reader. Isn't there an editor out there helping him write...someone who can tell him that the book lacks a story, lacks drama, lacks interesting characters, lacks movement? His earlier works were terrific and will always be among my favorite books. Lately, he has lost it.
-TESSA- More than 1 year ago
This one will arouse many emotions as the peek into how the system works and could very well not work and put a lot of innocent people away or allow a guilty person to go free. This is a frustrating look into human nature at its best and at its worst. This can be a frightening book for some to swallow but that's not to say that the reader will not be totally entertained and totally enlightened to things he may not have been exposed to before. The reader will taste every human emotion, a lot of ugly ones, but I guarantee that this book won't be put down for very long. Very well done! Well worth the time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was okay but definitely served to expound the personal views of John Grisham. He kind of already did this story with his nonfiction work. Overall it was okay, but totally predictable while repeating the same things over and over.
ThatOne More than 1 year ago
Sadly, this was another below average book by John Grisham. No new ground was broken. Sometimes the book/plot strayed or stayed in place. I was hoping for a page turner, and I guess I got one. Except that when I was rapidly turning the pages it was because I could easily figure out what he was going to say without me having to read it. I wouldn't recommend this book at all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a huge John Grisham fan and I have loved everything he has written. This book, though it flowed well was a little tedious but I can understand, given the storyline, that it had it be. I was expecting a different ending, especially since Grisham has already touched on death row in The Chamber and you expected that ending. This story left me a little dissatisfied, well more than a little, I wanted all the hope I carried via the 'good guys' to not have been in vain...I guess in today's times I just wanted a happy ending...
enlightenment More than 1 year ago
I am a born and bred Texan who applauded the "express lane" headed in to death row. However, in this novel I recognized the murder plot which actually happened near the Red River several years ago, I believe, and the irony of an innocent black man was not lost here. John Grisham ALWAYS has a way of making me take a step back to re-evaluate my opinions. I can argue both sides of the death penalty so well with my students they don't know which side I am on, but after reading An Innocent Man and now this novel, I really don't know where I stand. Thank goodness for updated technology, but is it really enough?
Drac7117 More than 1 year ago
I would tell anyone who likes John Grisham novels to buy this or to anyone who want to start to read his stuff to start here. From the second you pick it up you are sucked in and can't wait to see what happens. Just like The Firm you can't put it down. Buy the book, ebook, or cd.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read EVERY J Grisham book and enjoyed them. This is just a lazy cash out D- book . The death row story is in the Chamber and is hard to get interested in again. I can normally pick up a J G book on Friday and finish over the same weekend. Not the Confession I have to force myself to pick it up. PASS ON THIS 1.
mousetater More than 1 year ago
A good enough story, but somewhat predictable, and definitely not up to the quality of other books by this author. He should stick to quality and not worry about quantity.
sygram More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the eBook and had a hard time putting it down. The story flowed very well and didn't slow down at all. This story made me reevaluate my own views about the death penalty. Yes this is fiction but it is easy to see how this could happen in the real world.
Praetor More than 1 year ago
Wow! If you're looking for a book that generates a variety of emotions... this is it. No doubt this story is influenced by Grisham's personal views but the strong characters and page turning race against time is engrossing. Viewed from the lens of a "non-lawyer", the frustration of the justice system becomes even more pronounced. Hope, anger, sadness, redemption. Great story-telling from Grisham as long as you don't get caught up trying to read into his political viewpoints.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book from an amazing writer. It's a real page turner and worth the buy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really like this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great plot. Believable characters
MartiMH More than 1 year ago
Wow!!! I was extremely excited just reading the cover what an explosive captivating novel could not put it down. I found myself walking,watching T.V. and reading "The Confession" I could not part with it. John Grisham has done it again, I am a true fan or your work. You make what would ordinarily be a boring painful subject such as Law and turn it into interesting must read material. Marti from California
Dr_Don More than 1 year ago
starts off good. But about half way through it becomes a party line political primer. After I realized this, I had to force myself to finish. Grisham has a "hollywood view" of the death penalty and he stuffs it in your face. His characters that portray the other side are all made out to look like bigoted, ignorant, idiots. I'm done reading any more Grisham.
BLCMontna More than 1 year ago
Very good book! Always been a huge John Grisham fan. Was not very impressed with his last book (Ford County) but he has indeed redeemed himself with this one. Really makes one pause and consider the "death penalty" it means to all involved. Will be waiting for his next book!
Debifaye More than 1 year ago
This was definitely a page turner. This is the most emotional book John Grisham has written since A TIME TO KILL. The story line touched me in a way that I never expected. I've never been a proponent for execution and I hate it even more so after reading this book. What this fictional family went through hide me in bouncing around from anger issues to tears. If you think you believe in the death penalty, read this book. You may very well change your mind. I applaud the fact that John Grisham wrote a book on such a hot issue.
KenCady More than 1 year ago
This is a powerful book detailing the inadequacies of the Texas death penalty system and the way it approaches a death penalty trial. Texas prides itself on the number of executions it has had. Even those who support the death penalty will be appalled by the way the courts rubber stamp convictions where defendants are often represented by poorly paid attorneys with limited resources. The appellate courts seem to have reneged on their duties to become rubber stamps for the lower courts who approve these convictions. The treatment of people given the death penalty in Texas is appallingly inhumane as the inmates wait several years for their appeals to be heard and most often summarily denied. The fact that rich white people have noting to fear in these cases underscores how much the death penalty falls on those with the least money. Grisham does a great service by providing such a close look into this system. The novel remains full of tension as various unknowns are pursued. I admit that after reading a lukewarm review in the NY Times the day I started the novel that I had lowered my expectations, but Grisham really delivers on this one.