×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Confessor (Sword of Truth Series #11)
  • Alternative view 1 of Confessor (Sword of Truth Series #11)
  • Alternative view 2 of Confessor (Sword of Truth Series #11)
     

Confessor (Sword of Truth Series #11)

4.4 314
by Terry Goodkind
 

See All Formats & Editions

Descending into darkness, about to be overwhelmed by evil, those people still free are powerless to stop the coming dawn of a savage new world, while Richard faces the guilt of knowing that he must let it happen. Alone, he must bear the weight of a sin he dare not confess to the one person he loves…and has lost.

Join Richard and Kahlan in the concluding

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Confessor 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 314 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kay, so these are the best books i have ever read in my entire life, and i've read ALOT of books:) Whenever i try to compare any other book to these books it makes the other book seem small, unimportant and not worth my time to have even a passing thought about them in the presense of these wonderful character changing stories. My journey with Richard and Kahlan has been filled with smiles, tears and heartfelt feelings and i am sad to see it end. These books have meaning beyond measure and feel more important than anything i have ever experienced. These books took me to new heights of excitement and life as i shared everything i had through words and paper and embraced everything they had through the book as well. I feel Terry Goodkind just used a book as a tool, a passageway to the stunning force of life. These books were SO much more than a mere ocupation of my time. I rate these books with a rate off the scale not because of the amazing story, but through the feelings they represented and the meaning they stood for. I shout out to everyone not because of the touching characters, or the skill the writer has, but for the meaningful base of this story and everything they stood for. I shout out because of the importantness of everything this story, this LIFE shares with the reader. These books are so much bigger than a STORY to experience, they are a LIFE to live with pride and love. This story didn't dig deeper in my heart than anyone ever has with the amazing romance,excitement, plot, and everything else amazing it possesses, it taught me to open up and be proud with the powerful meaning just behind the beautiful cover. I don't know how to better explain this to you so i guess you're just gonna have to come close, brace yourself, and open the cover to catch a glimpse of what this story holds dear inside:) read these books, and experience the otherworldly embrace of life.
d-f-schmidt More than 1 year ago
Perhaps many people were let down in the reading of the series because they misunderstood the reason for the books. I can't disagree there. I thought I was getting into something very different, but in the end I came to understand and I found it edifying, though perhaps confusing (but probably not confused). Perhaps some were let down by the thickness of the philosophy, perhaps others by the values of the philosophy. I can't blame these readers, because it sure was difficult for me to read some parts. But I did read all of them. The books, as it turns out, are about the spirit of man. They indicate that given the courage to do what you feel is right, you have to do it. And being wily helps. And while education may help as well, some things can be learned only by intuition and if you don't have that, you're a machine that someone else molds. The world could do with fewer organic machines. And in this book, Richard eradicates these machines in a very surprising way. And the books show how well loved and influential a man can be in any of the situations that Richard had found himself in. In this book, taunting Jagang, he keeps the final match's score even until the last period, and demonstrates Jagang the Just's justice, which even incites a battle amidst the siege. Still no one knows Richard's real name. And this book very well ties the world of dragons and magic to our own. And it even describes at least two of the covers of the books in this series, as a nice touch. If you have suffered through all the previous books--and were able to read them fully--you probably have what it takes to finish this series, and you will probably be satisfied. And it may even be a good book to begin the series with in order to better understand the reason behind the storytelling. If you didn't like the rest of the Sword of Truth, you probably won't enjoy this book either. Personally, I was frustrated in the reading of some of the books, such as Soul of the Fire and Faith of the Fallen, but in my estimation, each of all 12 (including Debt of Bones) progresses the story and has something of a lesson to learn.
Daniel Bansley More than 1 year ago
Couldnt put it down
DJB07 More than 1 year ago
Another great novel by Goodkind.
Sliph More than 1 year ago
Truly an epic adventure worthy of the time spent to read it. It was not always a smooth ride but it was one hell of a ride nonetheless. Thank you for this perfect ending, it really couldn't have been done any better. I am only saddened that it had to end, I wish it could have gone on longer afterward if only to see more in depth what happens to all the characters.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This series of books was one of the finest I have ever read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
the whole sword of truth series is a spellbinding and captivating tale of magic,love ,and life. I love the way Goodkind weaves his spell through all the charicters from wizards first rule all the way to confessor. Goodkind out did himself!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been reading Terry Goodkind's books since I was twelve. I know, I know, that's pretty young for his writing style, but I was hooked after the show (Which paled considerably in comparison to this). Anyway, these books have been there for me for a long time. For me to finally read the last Sword of Truth novel is not just the end of a series. It's the end of an era. I have learned things from Terry's books that would have taken forever for me to discover on my own. I am a better person because of Richard and Kahlan and I value myself now in ways I never thought about before. Even though there are still more Richard and Kahlan books he is coming out with for us to read, I know I will never abandon these books, and just like I have never forgotten the day I first held Wizard's First Rule in my hands, I will likewise never forget this day, the end of this series. The end of an era. These books taught me how to grow up. There is nothing I could trade to equal what Terry Goodkind has done for me through Richard and Kahlan, what God has done for me through Terry Goodkind. I have wanted to be an author since I picked up Eragon, and thanks to Richard, Kahlan, Zedd, Cara, Nicci, Adie and all the rest of the company, thanks to Terry Goodkind, I now know what it means to be one. I don't know if I will ever be a great author. I don't even know if I will have what it takes to be one. But I will have tried my best, because that's all any of us can do. I seek the truth of life for myself. My life is mine alone, and I intend to rise up and live it.
Miss_Tabbi More than 1 year ago
Terry Goodkind is simply amazing. He is an artist. The characters in his books are so human, so real. The depth of his writing is beautiful. There are messages to live by in these books." Focus on the solution and NOT the problem", "Accept truth. Don't be a blind follower" "By rejecting truth one embraces death"... They are highly philosophical. I can honestly say that I have come to appreciate life...to love life because of them. They opened my eyes to a whole different view of things. They have made me more confident in who I am. The power of oneself, once realized, can be one of the most powerful forces out there. "My life is my own." That being said, I can see why they are so hit and miss. I believe, to truly appreciate Goodkind's power of writing, you must hold both literature and philosophy highly. Where they are a great story, a true EPIC FANTASY, they have a depth to them that isn't grasped by a lot of people... These are not books you pick op and skim through, or read fast. If you are that kind of reader, I wouldn't expect much out of this series. You will lose the beauty of it, the underlying genius. More often than not, I hear that these books are "okay". My enthusiasm usually goes overboard at that point..."I LOVE THESE BOOKS!" I highly recommend this series to anyone who doesn't just pick up books and read them, but LIVES the books AS they read them. For those who let what they read really sink in and not just regurgitate what they see to their brain...DON'T PASS THIS SERIES BY!! Mr. Goodkind has given us something beautiful, and I for one will treasure it always.
MongooseVL More than 1 year ago
A great end to a great series. I only wish you had more of my favorite SF authors and their books...Pournelle, Heinlein,Stirling, Drake ,and so on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book, in fact the final trillogy that finished this series was great. The writing, pace and characters are spot on. The only down side is that the series is finished.
Heather Hagert More than 1 year ago
This book not only tied together any loose ends and brought back together all of the remaining beloved characters but it summed up the potential damage that can be caused by fanatical religion. I was only slightly irritated by the never-ending struggles of Richard and Kahlan, but was also able to identify with them in a way. I believe that those two characters represented not only the best of humanity, but the struggles humanity experiences. Goodkind goes far beyond fantasy, since he seems to use fantasy as a cover for realities that occur religiously, psychologically, physically, governmentally, prejudicially, and philosophically. If all you want is pure fantasy, than the representative aspects of the the last three books will either disappoint or bore you. I would encourage you to look beyond the surface words, especially because it might help prepare you for "The Law of Nines". In essence Terry Goodkind is my favorite author and is a true literary artist!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been following the Sword of Truth Series for several years. I am happy and saddened at the same time that this book has been brought to a Conclusion by Terry Goodkind. This book is well written and I found myself going trough several emotions as I read. I had to fight the constant desire to skim and jump to the end anxious to see if Richard Survived or If Kalan pushes her captor to far and he acts on his promise to degrade and abuse her. I wanted to know why Racheal slipped off at the end of the last book. There were just so many side stories I was wondering how all of them could be brought to a satisfactory conclusion. If you are a fan or just getting started with Terry Goodkind you will not be disappointed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Is there any doubt as to what kind of world we live in? Creation can not exsist with out Free Will and self determination. Freedom is the gift of magic bestowed upon us from the Creator. How I wish and dream to gaze upon what lie beyond the magic gate. After thousands of years in our every day real world of twisted control such bewitching stories as these eleven books written by Terry Goodkind , almost help me to believe that through freedom and self dertermintion it coud be possible to step back through that gate into the wonderful world of creative, magical possibilities.
Guest More than 1 year ago
From the very first book Wizards First Rule, Goodkind has had me spellbound. I love his way of writing and introducing new characters always and keeping the old characters fresh. He's always making it seem all hope is lost for Richard Rahl and Kahlan, but Richard always seems to pull through. Confesser did get very technical towards the end, but i think we needed a little of the background to understand the powers of Orden. And it made it that much better understanding the magic of the book. I thought he made a great ending to a wonderful series. I highly recommend this book along with the whole series. One of my favorite series i have read.
ReadForeverDW More than 1 year ago
Riveting - Action and story keep you on the edge of your seat.
Antonio Chiles More than 1 year ago
Terry Goodkind is a great author but it seems that theres ALWAYS something getting between Richard's and Kahlan's love. This whole "chainfire spell" seems to be yet another uneccasary obstacle in their story. Remember book 1 & 2? Thats two problems in just 2 books. Remember Faith of The Fallen and Soul of The Fire? Add another 2 problems right there. On top of this theres the "chainfire" problem. Thats 5 problems in SoT involving Richard's and Kahlan's love (and thats NOT counting Shota's omen about their 1st born child). Overall it was well written and deserves a buy. The ending is spetacular and unexpected. This series will always be one of my favorites.
Timothy Murphy More than 1 year ago
Easily one of the best books i have ever read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In Confessor, Terry Goodkind ends a fantastic voyage we all took with Richard, Kahlan, Zedd, and all the other characters we've grown to know and love. I re-read the other ten books in the series before I started Confessor, although I probably didn't need to since the author does a fine job of recapping what has happened before. Richard and Kahlan get a proper end to their love story, as do some other characters. The Imperial Order also gets a proper ending, without compromising the nature of the characters involved. I enjoyed seeing how much characters like the Mord-Sith and Nicci have grown and changed, and what happened with some characters we hadn't seen much in the last few books. Terry Goodkind wrote a very satisfying ending to a great book series.
sptlightstar More than 1 year ago
I cannot begin to describe how inspirational Terry Goodkind's fantasy writing is. Richard Rahl and Kahlan Amnell are probably the two most selfless, couragous, strong, and good characters I have ever encountered in any book. Although times have been tough for them throughout Goodkind's Sword of Truth series, they always strive to do what is right and fight for the betterment of mankind. Goodkind's climatic conclusion picks up right where Phantom left off, throwing the reader right into the plot. The only critique I have, which is based off of all of Goodkind's books, is that this book ends too quickly! I wanted to hear about the lives of the characters more, just to know they were all right and such. Richard Rahl's heroic actions are inspirational and his message is quite clear, "Your life is yours alone. Rise up and live it." Goodkind's works are an accurate social critique of the world around us, and he gives us the formula to live the best life we can. I highly recommend this series to avid readers who like a challenge!
Sweetiepiesteph More than 1 year ago
This final installment kept me on the edge of my seat to find out what happened to Kahlan and Richard after Jagang got a hold of Kahlan. I finished it in 2 days because I had to know! I've fell in love with this series and was not disappointed in the final book. I thought it was a great ending to an amazing adventure but I also feel an opening was left for more. Then, I heard a new Richard and Kahlan book is coming out next year and am jumping for joy! I want to see these two finally have the time together they deserve and maybe some wizard kids and a female confessor, not male as per Shota. If you've already read the rest of the series then get this book! I totally disagree with others that the characters were changed. Kahlan was under a spell, duh, and Richard didn't stop fighting to get her well. Everyone seems to have a different take but I felt it was worth my time and this series has captured my heart in a way no others have even more so than Anne McCaffrey's dragon rider series.
mel89jo1971 More than 1 year ago
Confessor was wonderful. It takes you in and makes you feel the struggle that Richard and Kahlan go through. It was a wonderful ending to the series. I hated to see it come to an end. I would recommend the Sword of Truth Series to anyone who would listen. The only problem is I wish that Terry would write more about Richard and Kahlan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the final book in a series of 11. I greatly enjoyed this book and the rest of the series.
Eowyn_De_Rohan More than 1 year ago
I have just finished all 11 books. I found the serious rather good, but felt it might have been two books too long. This might be because I read them one after another, so of course there was a lot of repeating. I do know at one point I thought they could have just talked Jagang to death and ended things sooner. But I read them all, straight through and did not tire of reading them, though I did skip alot of the long speaches. Don't judge the book by the tv serious, except for the names and place in time there is little in common with the books.
GoodChristian More than 1 year ago
His characters and stores are riveting.