×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Constitutional Chaos: What Happens When the Government Breaks Its Own Laws
     

Constitutional Chaos: What Happens When the Government Breaks Its Own Laws

4.2 13
by Andrew P. Napolitano
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this incisive and insightful book, Judge Andrew P. Napolitano peels back the legal veneer and shows how politicians, judges, prosecutors, and bureaucrats are trampling the U.S. Constitution in the name of law and order and fighting terrorism. Napolitano reveals how they:

  • silence the First Amendment
  • shoot holes in the Second
  • break

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Constitutional Chaos: What Happens When the Government Breaks Its Own Laws 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Since I went to school many years ago honest patriotic americans have revealed the courts abuse of powers. Why does it continue to get worse. Why do the economic, policital and sundry other powers that essentially influence our government allow it to destroy the Constitution? Because they chase immediate gratification of a desire rather than the perpetual protection of their rights. A supposed principle of law is that 'those who can and should prevent a crime, and do not, are a partner to it.' If you want your government back participate in it beyond paying taxes. Stop supporting the abusers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Judge Napolitano is clearly a brilliant, colorful jurist. He has developed a well-thought out criticism of the executive powers of the U.S. Government. He has littered his argument with numerous examples of how the Feds (and other governmental officials)abuse their powers. These examples run from the personal (where he was accosted in New York City) to the famous (yes, Martha Stewart rears her head). In short, the good judge has an ax to grind. In truth, his argument might have been a bit more effective if he had balanced it with some counterpoints. There is little doubt that the government abuses its power when arresting people (just ask, as Mr. Napolitano points out, some of the poor folk down at Guatanamo Bay), but the argument could have been a bit more subtle -and therefore convincing - if a more intelligent discussion had been conducted on the 'positive' aspects of aggressive police-work. In this post-9/11 world one can't totally dismiss the dangers of proper 'due process.' Unlike the American environment when our Constitution was written - when, for instance, a pony or a sloop was the fastest form of sending a message - people today have instant access with the entire globe. If someone in the apartment up the street is plotting to dispense nuclear arms on our beloved shores, this person should be stopped as soon as possible. No? The law has always been a slippier slope. And, recently, it has become even slippier.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Finally, a former judge writes what many Americans are already learning: that the United States government is out of control, no longer tethered to the Constitution. The Department of Justice and other law enforcement agencies routinely break federal law and the judiciary turns its back on citizens whose rights are violated.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Need I say more? The most disturbing part of all the government injustice, Is that 'WE THE PEOPLE' have the real power to stop all the un-AMERICAN act's being committed against US! My only question to the judge. 'How do WE correct the problem?'
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My mind exploded with new anti current administration ammo.
nookwormWC More than 1 year ago
For anyone interested in the rule of law, this book is an excellent teacher. The Judge knows our Constitution and explains it well. Should be required reading for all graduating high school seniors.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another excellent book by Judge Napolitano.  He spares no criticism of those who, clothed with the power of government, don't think twice about abusing our freedoms and liberties in the name of national security or keeping us safe.  In light of the recent revelations from Edward Snowden, it  is interesting--and revealing--how quickly our elected and appointed officials labeled him an "enemy combatant" and traitor, even though all he revealed is what most of us suspected all along.  The old adage is quite true: if government is given power, it will stretch its limit to the point of abuse simply because it can do so.  The judge makes a compelling case that it is the people who are ultimately in charge, not the government that is bent on telling us it knows best.    If we are willing to sacrifice our liberties and freedoms in the name of national security, we won't have the former and the latter won't matter.  This is the premise of  Judge Napolitano's treatise.  A must read for those who truly believe in the words of the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution and Bill of Rights. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gives you a lot to think about
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can hardly believe that a former judge who was once part of the government establishment is saying these things that I and so many other people I know think about our government. Judge Napolitano exposes the gross abuses of power that our government perpetrates every day. If you believe in freedom of speech, freedom from searches and seizures, freedom to keep and bear arms, freedom from relentless government surveillance -- you will want to read this book. This book is not about left or right, red-state or blue-state politics. It is about our rights - the rights that we have from birth because of our humanity and only a small portion of which we loan to our government so that it may work on our behalf. Some people think the government gives rights to us, but the opposite is true. We give the government only so much power and they always abuse it. This book is a must-read for anyone who believes in limited and responsible government.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a must-read for anyone who cares about liberty and civil rights in America, and for anyone who truly believes that a smaller, limited government is the best kind of government. Judge Napolitano from Fox News exposes gross government abuses of power that trample the rights of people every day He reveals how the government breaks the law every day and gets away with it. And you don't have to be a lawyer to follow his clearly stated explanations of our constitutional rights and the government's abuses of people and their rights. The stories told in this book are compelling and shocking, and will make you realize that, as they Judge says, 'The government is not your friend!' All Americans should read this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
That Mr. Napolitano has written a critique of government breaking its own laws and has had it published disgusted me. He is the pot calling the kettle black. My son and I are victims of money promoted bias he called justice.