×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Contact
     

Contact

4.2 35
by Carl Sagan
 

See All Formats & Editions

In December, 1999, a multinational team journeys out to the stars, to the most awesome encounter in human history. Who -- or what -- is out there?
In Cosmos, Carl Sagan explained the universe. In Contact, he predicts its future -- and our own.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Contact 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was astounded when I first watched 'Contact' the movie starring Jodi Foster. I then decided to read the novel by Carl Sagan. I was hooked...this was something I couldn't put down for quite some time. I absolutely was enthralled by Sagan's balance of love, astronomy, religion, and everything else imaginable. I was fascinated by Ellie Arroway, the main character and heroine. She was absolutely brilliant, courageous, and everything else an admirable astronomer should be. She held her head high in the face of opposition and broke through all obstacles facing her way. I cried, laughed, applauded, screamed, thought long and hard about universal possibilities, religous questions, and wanted more and more with the turn of each page. I appreciate this book almost more than any other I've read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If there is one book that I had to pick as my favorite, this would be it. While it may give a lot of scientific detail, Sagan portays the work with great style and tact. His story centers around a scientificly spun story with true moral and intellectual implications that delve into the heart of the human soul. In the book issues such as the roles of politics in science, religion, love, humanity, etc. are discussed and opened up to the reader. If you have to read a book for the summer, or a break, this should be it.
steveforbertfan More than 1 year ago
I was quite disappointed in this book, started out amazing, then it just bogged down with a lot of techie, sciency stuff. The characters got lost in the very technical story, there was really no build up as to the excitement of the Message, and the Machine...well, it was almost a side story getting lost in all the droning on and on and on. A great disappointment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What1 More than 1 year ago
As is often the case, the book is much better than the movie. There were enough differences, some significant, between the two to keep the story fresh. Sagan did a beautiful job overall but I felt the science vs. religion debate was just beat to death. I know it played a significant part in the main character's development but come on, we get it already. The story itself definitley gives you the sense that there is so much more to the universe than the small rock we're standing on. I felt humbled by the thought. We (humans) were almost childlike in "their" eyes. It was like they were teaching us to walk. At some point they may teach us how to run. Great book overall.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MarcusWench More than 1 year ago
I was very surprised to find the science spokesperson wrote a piece of fiction with such human tenderness and sense of wonder, as well as being very interesting for the science and philosophy explored. I really identified with the numinous wonder of a child growing up and exploring the unknown. The book was better than the movie, in my opinion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
i Contact /i is a really great story with some very interesting characters. But Carl Sagan was a scientist, not a fiction writer. While the book featured some interesting and even beautiful passages, it is generally overwhelmed with too much science and too much technical writing. This makes for a frequently boring read. The other problem I had was with the glaring contradictions. Ellie Arroway is a woman who has had a tough time being taken seriously in her field because of her gender, while the US has a highly-respected and twice elected female President. This is one of those few stories where the movie version was actually better than the book. There were too many characters, but not enough character.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sagan's vision of humanity's first contact with an alien species is thought provoking and realistic, right down to the nuts and bolts. Almost all possible consequences of the discovery is relayed, some positive, some negative, but all very believable. If you're interested in the movie, which was good, I would definately recommend the book, which is a more intensive (and yes, satisfying) depiction of the whole first contact scenario. A great read.