×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Conversations with the Fat Girl
     

Conversations with the Fat Girl

4.0 121
by Liza Palmer
 

See All Formats & Editions

Everyone seems to be getting on with their lives except Maggie. At 26, she's still serving coffee at The Beanery Coffee House, while her friends are getting married, having babies, and having real careers. Even Olivia, Maggie's best friend from childhood, is getting married to the doctor with whom she lives. Maggie's roommate? Her dog Solo (his name says it all).

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Conversations with the Fat Girl 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 121 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked up this advance copy at the Book Expo in NYC. The cover caught my eye right away. I picked up it thinking it would be some Bridget Jones knock off - but was blown away with it's humor, the depth of it's characters and how universal the story was. Everyone has that 'fat' quality that we wish we could change - hair too curly, too short, funny looking nose - and if we changed this *one* thing our life would be perfect. This book tells a story of loving yourself exactly as you are and letting other people in... Can't wait for the next book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Loved it...finally a character that plus size girls can relate to. Hilarious with bits of social wisdom. I miss Maggie so much that I'm going to read it again. My thanks to the author. Hey, Liz...how about CWTFG part 2?
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although I found the book a little long, with a story that could have been told with less pages I would recommend this book. Maggie was very likable and someone I saw myself in.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the concept and the book itself was a refreshing look at the real side of being overweight and the guilt etc.. that comes with it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was reluctant to read this at first. I was afraid it would end being another one of those 'bitter fat girl complains throughout the whole book', but it wasn't that at all. Yes, Palmer writes what it's like to be a fat girl in our society, how it is very lonely, painful and disappointing, but she doesn't have Maggie blame her weight on everyone else like so many of these 'fat girl' books do. Rather, she knows it's up to her to change her life in more ways than just her weight. In fact, these moments where we are made aware of Maggie's pain are very poignant. The book is well written, at times funny, and has great characters. My only complaint is that it ends too abruptly. I think an epilogue would've been great.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book hits home for those of us who are on the 'plump' side. I laughed out loud many times.....even while I was reading it on the subways of NYC. A coming-to-terms, feel-good kinda book. I highly recommend this book to all!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it. A very real story
Lisa170 More than 1 year ago
This book made me think more than I thought it would. I thought it would be just a quick read that would put me in the mindset to jump back on the weight loss wagon. Well, as Maggie had realizations with the relationships in her life, with others and herself, I did too. I would have loved to see the chapter that would have followed the last page but I'll just make up my own. Fun book and one I really enjoyed reading!
harstan More than 1 year ago
They met at twelve and became best friends as both Maggie and Olivia share in common being fat girls. However, at twenty-two, Olivia undergoes gastric bypass surgery and begins to lose the pounds. Five years later, she is engaged to an obese hater, but selects the still overweight Maggie to serve as her maid of honor in spite of the horror in her groom¿s eyes. --- Ever since Olivia became skinny, Maggie has felt like an outsider to her pal. Making matters worse, Olivia has consistently let her down since the fat girl hater entered her friend¿s life. He is insulting as he does not hide his loathing of the overweight set including his disdain and scorn of Maggie. Angry over the latest putdown and her self-esteem lower than the ooze beneath the food chain, Maggie explodes at her once best buddy, but also vows to improve herself starting with the help of a trainer. Her need to improve leads to an opportunity for her first boyfriend with a man she has desired for ever but first she must believe she is worthy of love. --- CONVERSATION WITH A FAT GIRL is a deep character study that focuses on Maggie who feels alone, betrayed and shunted aside when Olivia gains a boyfriend but fails to warn him to stop his snide behavior towards her friend. The deep Maggie blames her low self regard on her weight until she no longer accepts disparagement. Her first step towards self-assurance is mental, which is more critical than any pound she may or may not lose. Liza Palmer provides a strong look at a person struggling to accept that she is an okay person regardless of her size. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had purchased "Nowhere but Home: A Novel" by this same author and REALLY enjoyed it. I was looking forward to the same writers style and excellence in plot, unfortunately I was GREATLY disappointed. The character, Maggie, was a consistant complainer and the plot drags. I'm about 2/3 through this book and have archived it until a later time. I hope the other books by this author are better because I enjoyed my first one!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'll be honest, when I decided to read this I had very low expectations that I would actually enjoy the book. However, I can say I have never identified more with a character than I identified with Maggie. The writing hits home and Liza Palmer does a great job of making the characters and the scenarios so realistic. I 100% recommend this for anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book in all the predictable ways. You root for the underdog, and you just know that she'll show her teeth eventually. As with the other Liza Palmer books I have read, I found the main character a bit of a master of self pity...and I thought her humour and spark could have been a little more visible from the start. But she grows on you as she develops - and by the end you feel outraged on her behalf and deep satisfaction as justice is served! I really like this author, I'm surprised she isn't more well-known. I like her style, and even though it is essentially chicklit, it is cleverly done and makes you think.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this page turner!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't tell you how much I laughed at the similarities between the narrator's thoughts and my own! Great read for any girl who has always felt she wasn't skinny or good enough... Quite empowering!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
fngrs More than 1 year ago
Every person who reads this book will see a little of themselves in Maggie. I laughed out loud so many times. I could so relate to it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago