×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Copper River (Cork O'Connor Series #6)
  • Alternative view 1 of Copper River (Cork O'Connor Series #6)
  • Alternative view 2 of Copper River (Cork O'Connor Series #6)
     

Copper River (Cork O'Connor Series #6)

4.8 44
by William Kent Krueger
 

See All Formats & Editions

In well-crafted settings that are beautiful and unforgiving, with unforgettable characters and jaw-dropping surprises, William Kent Krueger's Cork O'Connor thrillers have drawn a flood of awards and praise. The latest in the series finds the sheriff running for his life from professional hit men who have already put a bullet through his leg. Desperate, he finds

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Copper River (Cork O'Connor Series #6) 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 44 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In the spirit of full disclosure, I report that Kent is a fellow member of the Minnesota Crime Wave, as well as the critique group I belong to, and we are friends. Having said that, let me assure you that this is a dynamite book. Another in the fine Cork O¿Connor series. Those who have read Mercy Falls will naturally want this book since it completes the arc that begins with the previous book. Nevertheless, Copper River is complete within its own covers. But there is considerably more here than resolution to the turmoil conjured up in Mercy Falls. O¿Connor, wounded by a professional killer, goes to ground in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan with distant relatives in an uncomfortable situation. Family relationships are always an important part of Krueger's novels. This book also explores some horrific circumstances that effectively demonstrate that our often common view of bucolic small-town life is sometimes at serious odds with reality. O¿Connor, fearing for his family, has taken refuge with the widow of a man he once arrested. While he heals he is drawn inexorably into the life of his nephew and the boy¿s interesting teen aged companions. That life finally leads to the uncovering of crimes first revealed in one of the most moving open scenes I have ever read in a novel in this or any genre. Krueger is a fine writer and he knows how to build suspense while telling a good story. But his real strength is in the characters he develops and their interactions. But don¿t just take the word of this reviewer. Pick up a copy and read the first page. Just the first page. Not the cover copy, or that on the flaps. Just page one. Then decide.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the best book of the Cork O'Connor series. I picked up the book while in the store and read the prologue, the next thing I know I was half way througt the book. I bought the book and took it home where I finished reading it in one day! Could nlt put the book down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
They were professionals hired by a man who believes that former Sheriff Cork O'Connor killed his son. Cork¿s efforts to reason with this man and prove he is not the culprit land on deaf ears. Thee hit men actually shoot him in the leg, but he escapes barely. Cork knows he needs a place to hide away and heal, but he fears bringing these paid killers to the only possible safe house, his cousin¿s ranch in remote Bodine, Michigan overlooking the spot where the Edmund Fitzgerald went down in Lake Superior.---------------- Cork manages to reach Jewell DuBois¿ spread where the widow veterinarian and single mother of thirteen years old Renoir fixes his leg. While Cork is a poor patient worried what he may bring to his cousin and her son, his friends seek to prove his innocence. Meanwhile Ren, his best friend tomboy Charlie, and Stash see the corpse of a teenage girl floating in the Copper River. Unable to resist, Cork investigates what seems a homicide rather than an accident, but his efforts endanger those he cares about especially Ren.--------------- In his latest Upper Peninsular Michigan thriller, William Kent Krueger displays his love for the area with his vivid descriptions that enable the audience to feel they are actually looking out at Lake Superior. The story line is fast-paced though the hero is not due to his leg injury however, the crime caper lacks some of the freshness, one of the prime strengths of the previous O¿Connor Corkers (see MERCY FALLS) as the teens in trouble seems overkill with Cork already bringing peril with him as his companion. Still Mr. Kreuger provides a solid whodunit that showcases the stark beauty of Northern Michigan contrasted with the ugliness of a killer.----------------- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed COPPER RIVER, but kept thinking I was missing some pieces to the puzzle. I now realize that Nook presented the books in the wrong order. (Series#2) I should have read MERCY FALLS before reading COPPER RIVER but Nook placed the books incorrectly. It takes the joy out of reading the last book knowing so much of what happened. Barnes & Noble, I am greatly disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ViolaDB More than 1 year ago
Phenomenal book! I am "hooked" on this series by Kent Krueger, and always wondered about his character, Henry Meloux. "Copper River" gave me all the answers and more suspense, as usual. I love mystery and suspense books, and would recommend the Cork "O'Conner series to anyone else that shares this interest in books. I have never been disappointed yet, and I will most likely, continue to read the entire series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A thin, well worn path leads away from the entrance to a large, hidden dip into forest. Its border surrounded in thick bramble and towering oaks. The dip had a sandy flooring, perfect for practicing battle moves without hurting eachother. The entrance is a hollow log that had fallen but provides a tunnel inside the impenayrable border. This is the training hollow. ~Amberstar
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm on Red Knife now, but Copper River has been by far the best in the series for myself, Ren and Charlie were great additions to the family.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy all the Cork O'Connor Series.
RonnaL More than 1 year ago
After MERCY FALLS, this is a must read.  Cork is running from a hit man.  Jacoby blames Cork for his son's death.  Though Cork got shot in the leg, he was able to make his escape to his cousin's home.  Being a vet, she has been able to patch him up.  She and her son, live in a resort park that was run by her husband before he was killed by the police.  Now, she's not too thrilled by having Cork stay with her.   Cork's friend, ex FBI, Dina Willner, has followed Cork to his hideout, but the threat to Cork takes a break when Ren, his cousin's young teen aged son, and his feisty girl friend, Charlie, find themselves caught up in murders of local children.  Charlie's is a precarious position.  She has been in and out of a volunteer shelter for kids, but it looks like someone wants her dead too. The relationships between the adults and the kids is terrific in this mystery.  The gutsy kids show the foolish bravery of young children, and the adults are pushed to find out why someone wants these kids dead.  The woodsy small town atmosphere is like a character in itself.  Definitely one of Kruger's best books in the Cork O'Conner mysteries.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
3rdsister More than 1 year ago
Loved it! I'm a fan of William Kent Krueger's "Cork" books. This one might be my favorite so far!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great storytelling, builds beautifully, Cork is a great character!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bxjj
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ZeldaMI More than 1 year ago
I started reading the O'Connor series because as a Nook Book many were very inexpsive. But, now I'm hooked on them and this one is probably one of the best stories. Cork is in hiding through out most of the story but its where he's hiding from the mobsters and what is going on that keeps you in suspense right up to the end. I think that the setting of the story lent a good bit of mystery to it and the young people involved made it easy to understand their terror and hopelessness. This is one story that Cork isn't able to be out hunting down the villans due to his injury but he gets his share of activity and helps a young boy learn a bit more about growing up. The young man is primary in the story of what is happening and helping the adults, so its a story worthy of the time it takes to read it. I hope that he is in another of the O'Connor stories, he's that interesting. Copper River is a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago