×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Corelli's Mandolin
     

Corelli's Mandolin

4.5 42
by Louis de Bernieres
 

See All Formats & Editions

Extravagant, inventive, emotionally sweeping, Corelli's Mandolin is the story of a timeless place that one day wakes up to find itself in the jaws of history.  The place is the Greek island of Cephallonia, where gods once dabbled in the affairs of men and the local saint periodically rises from his sarcophagus to cure the mad.  Then the tide

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Corelli's Mandolin (2 Cassettes) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This remarkable book brilliantly captures both the horrors and idiocy of the Second World War without leaving the confines of the small Greek island of Cephalonia. De Bernieres obviously loves his characters, and consequently so does the reader. The book swings from rich humor to abject misery effectively, and the love story between Pelagia, a Greek woman, and Antonio, an officer of the Italian army that is occupying the island, is real and touching. Their love is an antidote to the barbarity closing in around them. The secondary characters also come to life, and Mussolini¿s monologues, interspersed among the chapters, are a brilliant commentary on megalomania. The descriptions of life in the village on Cephalonia are both funny and moving, the battle scenes are horrifying, and the indecision of the Italian army's brass is so stupefying it still makes you angry sixty years later. I was surprised that the book went beyond the war years right up to the `90s, a touch I had mixed feelings about. But overall I thought the book a modern classic. Too bad the movie wasn¿t up to the standards of the book; if you¿ve seen the movie don¿t be put off ¿ this is a touching book you will enjoy.
Maerajean More than 1 year ago
I like the idea and even most of the characters for this story (though a few of them are caricatures), but the author was very long-winded. While it's good for the author to be intimately familiar with all the details and back story for the events and characters of his story, the reader doesn't need or want to know all of it. With Corelli's Mandolin, the author could have cut out a lot to give the story more impact.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The vocabulary can be quite crazy and strange which is challenging but also funny. This book is very funny and although, like many books, there are slow parts it is definately entertaining and at times hilarious! I'm sure if you read it you will find yourself chuckling. I definately recommend this book - it is a very fun read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
DeBernieres did a masterful job with this book, honing his skills on earlier Latin novels. His portrayals of the Greek characters are fresh and alive. Occasionally his passages are so gripping that I've practically memorized them, and I return to read them again and again. This is a stellar job of weaving a generational story with a little known part of the world and its tumultuous history. A fine book, attested to by its phenomenal success in Britain.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When my boyfriend recommended this book to me, I had high expectations. I found the first part of the book rather disappointing, a little slow at the beginning. It however, certainly picked up and made up for the slow start and by the end of the novel, I culd not put it down. I will certainly revisit this book in the future.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book requires a dictionary. Got about 1/4 through it and decided to hang it up
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
silverfox67 More than 1 year ago
Remarkably comprehensive and moving story of the lives of Greek islanders on Cephallonia told with a combination of comedy and tragedy. Well defined characters led by a doctor and his daughter who experience the simple joys of a simple life until World War II and the invasion and occupation of the island by Axis forces changes their lives. The introduction of Italian occupation forces has an unexpected effect on the island due to the arrival of Captain Antonio Corelli and the Aqui Division he commands. This is a story that, while starting slowly, builds to events of great sorrow and uplifting decency and romance. The author tells the tale in an educational but light-hearted manner in which the history of Cephallonia and that of Greece is made interesting if somewhat and occasionally confusing. The character development is well defined which gives the story a familiarity that comes from relating to the different people in unique circumstances. A wonderful read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Beautifully written, heartbreaking and humorous with a backdrop of history, Louis de Bernieres truly captivates the reader in this epic tale.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you desire advanced diction and elevated syntax, discover this novel. Pure in story yet broad in scope, this is one of the best-sounding books I have read. Occasionally garrulous in the historical subplots, its overall lyrical quality is hypnotic. I use it for several writing lessons with my IB students, and I suggest teachers of AP and IB to consider it for style analysis!
Guest More than 1 year ago
In Captain Corelli's Mandolin the genres romance, tragedy, history and comedy have been intricitaely woven into a magical- realism novel. The result is an enchanting, heartbreaking piece of art that I have read twice to ensure to assimilate the detail, the passion in the life of the characters, piecing the historical and emotional jigsaw together. Never have i indulged in such a captivating novel. How deBerniere has sketched such vibrant characters and breathed life into them. The structure is brilliant, the moods of the chapters fluctuate to act as breaches in the novel, such as comic relief between episodes in anguish, war and loss. One would assume that such fluctuations would have a perturbing effect on the flow of the novel, such an assumption is completely incorrect. So profoundly have the elements been sewn and consolidated, there is no distruption in the flow of the novel, just brief rests for the emotions erupting inside of us to cool, and then start anew. I am adament that I will not watch the film as I wouldn't want to fracture the enchanting world that DeBernieres has painted with words.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was an amazing book that was written with a clarity few other authors achieve. The characters were multidimensional and fickle, whilst still being consistent in their humanity. Set against a magical background that is Cephallonia, this is a tale both of tragedy and overpowering love. Corelli himself is a poet-king, loved by his men, adored by Pelagia and in love with life itself. His wit, his shameless comedy, his flair for the outrageous, make the backdrop of war all the more bleak and desolate. What a fantastic read! Trust me ... this is one not to miss!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The visuals created of the people and the island make the book worth reading. Good story set in a beautiful locale.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I've read in a long time. The characters were beautifully drawn and the juxtaposition of positive human attributes of love, music, compassion and natural beauty to the barbarity of war was breathtakingly done. I couldn't put it down.At the end I was enraged by the brutalities that occurred and amazed again by the power of music and love. No one has, however, mentioned the similarities of this story to the Italian film, Mediterraneo.I wonder if de Bernieres took anything from this wonderful movie?