×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Coup d'Etat (Dewey Andreas Series #2)
  • Alternative view 1 of Coup d'Etat (Dewey Andreas Series #2)
  • Alternative view 2 of Coup d'Etat (Dewey Andreas Series #2)
     

Coup d'Etat (Dewey Andreas Series #2)

4.3 95
by Ben Coes
 

See All Formats & Editions

The wait is over—Ben Coes, whose debut Power Down was called “the must read thriller of the year” (Vince Flynn) is back and at the top of his game with a mesmerizing new novel

Wanting only a peaceful, obscure life, Dewey Andreas has gone to rural Australia, far from turbulent forces that&

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Coup D'Etat 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 95 reviews.
Henrys8 More than 1 year ago
Every bit as good as Vince Flynn. Mr. Coes first two books in this series are great. They keep you glued to the pages with all the twists and turns a good novel should. I love to read a story that is not predictable. A story where sometimes the good guys don't make all the right choices but some how regroup in the end to save the day. I look forward to reading every book in this series and to watch the characters come and go. You won't be disappointed. I would recommend that if you want to read Mr. Coes you start with the first book in the series to see how it all gets started.
Blackorwhiteandnogray More than 1 year ago
Ben did a great second book.... Well written and a good build up of suspence ...
GeronimoTempeGIRL More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, even more than Power Down, which I loved a lot. Mr. Coes's writing is more nuanced, complex, and the plot is harrowing and just brilliant. Dewey is the greatest. America has 48 hours to remove the president of Pakistan. They send Dewey. Need I say more? Coes takes you inside the actual coup d'etat, which is fascinating! The violence and tension, as with Power Down, build and build and build until you think you're going to explode.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sometimes with new authors they have a hard time following up on a great first book, that was not the case here. Ben gives you another great thrilling read with Coup D'Etat. If you like action, thriller, and great hero books, this is for you. I am really looking forward to his next book, it can't come too soon.
CBH More than 1 year ago
Sometimes the word "WOW" is used in extravagance, but not with this book! Ben Coes wrote his first book, "Power Down" and it was one of the best, most thrilling and engrossing stories I have read. This new book is of the same quality or, if possible, even better. It brings back the main character from the first book, Dewey Andreas, who is a master of all actions when it comes to helping his nation. He had been highly trained in all phases of super warfare such as Seals and Rangers are. The main story takes place in India and Pakistan but the interaction goes all over the world. Dewey had settled in secretively in Australia knowing that Aswan Fortuna was constantly searching for him. He had huge sums of reward money for anyone that could catch Dewey and 'dispose' of him. Fortuna's two sons were loaded with money too but one son, Alexander, had been killed while the remaining son, Nebuchar, roamed free. All the Fortuna's were wanted by the United States, dead or alive. Aswan Fortuna controlled or influenced many governments mostly with his money. He speaks and they jump. Fortuna had hired specialized killers to track down Dewey no matter where they could find him, if they could find him! Jessica Tanzer was the national security advisor to President Allaire. Her advice went very far in most all of the cabinet meetings. Jessica also had a relationship with Dewey that set sparks off when either name was mentioned to each of them. Their long distance relationship made life hard for them but they knew that security demanded that distance with Dewey being a hunted man. Fortuna was very influential with Pakistan's leader as well as others in the Asian area. He did all he could to change that part of the world to Muslim. Once again his money spoke tons of words and advice to any leader of a nation who could be influenced easily. Hostilities increased quickly between India and Pakistan. So many were killed, civilians as well as military. Attacks were launched increasingly and more deadly. It didn't take long for Pakistan to drop a nuclear bomb on a small town in India wiping out the entire town killing thousands of civilians. When the news spread around the world of this horrific attack, the rest of the world knew something had to be done to stop this before it grew beyond belief with much of the world being attacked, killed, and left uninhabitable. The citizens of India wanted revenge but the Indian Cabinet had to make that decision. The United States government contacted the Indian president asking for calm thinking but India was reluctant since they were the nation attacked and with all the casualties. Eventually the thought of a Cou D'état was brought up by the United States so the Pakistani President would be "removed" and replaced by a leader chosen by the United States. After much convincing, during a meeting of the United States top officials with India's top leaders, India said they would give the matter 48 hours before they would retaliate with nuclear weapons on Pakistan. Of course nothing was mentioned about a Cou D'état to India. Enter Dewey and hand selected men to track down one of the three men thought to be good to lead Pakistan after their president was removed from office. Dewey and those three highly trained men proceeded on their mission going into and out of danger constantly. If you think I am going to reveal any more of this super story, you might want to sell ice in Anta
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you enjoyed this author's first book "Power Down", you will also enjoy this read. Ben Coes is right up there with Thor and Flynn.
James GoodBallet More than 1 year ago
Mr. Coes is going to be around for a long time. This is going To be one hell of a movie...... Scott G Gilbert, Arizina
Wenzel More than 1 year ago
This book was great. Action from cover to cover. If you liked Power Down then you will love this book. Can't wait until the next one.
Lewan2500 More than 1 year ago
Was a very good book once you got started. Read the first Dewy book and could not wait for the second one to come out. Was not disappointed. After got started read it in a day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This another can't put down book. Can't wait for the third novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
...you'll like Ben Coes.
PenngroveChic More than 1 year ago
I want to know: when is story # 3 coming out. The pace is quick. The seemingly unconnected story lines all draw together neatly with a couple of surprise twists. The closure of this story leaves an entry to the next episode.
blackwolfspirit More than 1 year ago
Dewey Andreas returns as the incomparable, get it done, hero charged with an impossible task to keep two countries from initiating a nuclear armageddon. Don't we all wish we had a Dewey in our lives! The only drawbacks to this book are having work interfere with reading it and having to wait another year or so for another of Ben Coe's masterpieces.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you love Vince Flynn and Brad Thor you really have to add Ben Coes to you list. Great Read keeps you on the edge of your seat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nicely written. The book was tough to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read. Better than the first book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It could be applied as a real situation
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lots of action, well written, great plot, entertaining, its like reading vince flynn and brad thor rolled into one book
KenCady More than 1 year ago
The trouble with good guy novels like this one, where one individual must save the world since no one else is capable of it, is that we always know how it is going to turn out. Every battle our man of the hour enters is going to end with his victory. And of course the big battle at the end will resolve in his favor, even if the author does have to kill many of his sidekicks. Yet again, these stories are ki9nd of fun, and Coup D'Etat does the genre justice. It is interesting, entertaining, and the product of what seems to have been a lot of research by the author.
Anonymous 6 months ago
This book is written with the ease of a good story but with the edge of a true headline coming out of the Middle East. Thoroughly enjoyed the story and can't wait to read the next installment.
PATTI7417 More than 1 year ago
Part Jack Reacher, Victor the assassin, and John Corey. Easy to read and I have read all the books so far and am looking forward to the next book. Read them in order.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago