×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Courting Trouble
     

Courting Trouble

3.9 46
by Deeanne Gist
 

See All Formats & Editions

Tired of Waiting for a Match-Made-in-Heaven,
She'll Settle for One Made in Texas

Whether it's riding bikes, catching snakes, or sliding down banisters, Essie Spreckelmeyer just can't quite make herself into the ideal woman her hometown--and her mother--expect her to be. It's going to take an extraordinary man to appreciate her joy and spontaneity--or so

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Courting Trouble 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 46 reviews.
YoungLC More than 1 year ago
I love books that show people with problems and issues and must learn to trust God in those situations.
JoannaTX More than 1 year ago
I've read 4 Deeanne Gist novels now, and Courting Trouble and Deep in the Heart of Trouble are my favorites. I like that Essie is spirited and makes misktakes. It's always easier to relate to characters that do. But my favorite part of the book is when she finally forgives herself - it's really one of those sappy touching moments. I read it all it one go, so I think you can guess how much I liked it.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Courting Trouble Deeanne Gist Bethany House, Jun 2007, $13.99 ISBN: 0764202251 In 1894 in Corsicana, Texas, thirty years old Essie Spreckelmeyer is tired of being a spinster so she decides she will find herself a husband. The eccentric woman selects widower Hamilton Crook, but he refuses to look at a woman who rescues snakes into submission and rides a bike like a man in public. Instead he goes elsewhere for a new wife. Soon after her latest disappointment that massacres her self esteem especially when it comes to attracting a man, Essie meets charming drifter, Adam Currington. They are attracted to one another and he makes it clear she has what it takes, but will he stay with the new and approved Essie when he knows she has better suitors than wanderlusts like him? --- Essie is the key to this late nineteenth century inspirational drama as she learns to accept herself, which leads to confidence and others accepting her beyond being a ¿nut¿ to avoid. The audience will enjoy following the heroine¿s coming of age as Adam teaches her to thine own self be true and the townsfolk begin to see there is more to her than just eccentricity. Deanne Gist provides a strong historical tale starring a likable individual finally understanding that God had not abandoned her to a life all alone and that she should thrive to be all that she can be. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Must Read!!  This book was a very good and fun to read. It keep me very entertain and can't wait to read the sequel!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this story. It was nice to have the main character not be perfect.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful read set in Texas in the laste 1890s. Essie is adventuresome, strong-willed, independent, naive, and badly in search of love. She is blindsided by a smooth talker and learns a hard lesson. Essie's strong faith helps her come to terms with her future. The logical follow-up to this book is Deep in the Heart of Trouble, another 5 star Gist book.
grandma-honey More than 1 year ago
Interesting, different, kinda predictable. Though I did grow quite fond of Miss Essie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even though the ending of the book is not what one would think, I was thoroughly entertained. I couldn't wait for the sequel.
Joy Smith More than 1 year ago
I love books by gist, but didn't care for this book all that much. I liked the se
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Shermaria Major More than 1 year ago
This book was surprisingly good. Christian novels like this are usually boring but this is something special.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PenNameIN More than 1 year ago
Raed it all, but wasnt my fav by this author. Not sure if I liked main character at all, or enough to read next in series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Renee Godi More than 1 year ago
another of Gist's well written stories. It's hard to find a hood Christian fuction author. I've enjoyed all her books.
AMHblogger More than 1 year ago
In thinking back and really reviewing the book, I discovered a little more I saw and have gotten out of it. It took me until the middle of the book to get me hooked to where it was hard to put it down. I saw myself in several character roles throughout this book, some good and some bad. But, by the very end, I saw myself in a character's role I didn't expect, which was also where I received the most revelation from. In my own life, I was seemingly trying to fill certain voids instead of letting God fill those voids when the time is right. It helped me to see that I need to take things in perspective and at one step at a time. God knows my needs and desires even though I want to take things into my own hands and at my pace. I need to step back and trust Him. It's a struggle, but it wasn't intended to be easy. This is a very good book with a very well written and absorbing story. (This was my first from this author and this genre).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
The book was a little sad but pretty good. Really wanted to know how the story would end. After she turned thirty, Essie Sprecklemeyer is tired of waiting for a husband. So she picks one from a list and sets out to convince that potential husband. Easier said than done. Throughout the book, I felt a little sorry for Essie. Glad that her family were supportive especially near the end. Ending was good. Nice that Essie has good friends like Mrs. Lockhart and Harley, just to name a few. Not to mention that she loved things like bicycling and wearing different kinds of hats, not caring what other people think. Worth a check if you're a fan of author Deeanne Gist and her other books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago