×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Cowboy Christmas
     

A Cowboy Christmas

4.2 9
by Janette Kenny
 

See All Formats & Editions

One Starry Night

Reid Barclay doesn't have time for Christmas, not with trouble brewing at the Crown Seven Ranch. He's got prize thoroughbreds to protect and a long-ago wrong that he wants to make right. But the beautiful cook who's taken over the ranch kitchen is a welcome distraction, even if Ellie Jo Cade burns everything from gingerbread to roast beef.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Cowboy Christmas 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The cover does not go with the story. This book is based in the 1800's... not my normal style read. I could not get into this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TSteiner More than 1 year ago
4.5 Stars I¿m not a huge lover of holiday themed books, but I am a lover of Janette Kenny. This is the second book I have read from her and I do believe I am hooked. Ellie Jo Cade is a woman on a mission. She must save her father from trouble. She has come to Maverick, Wyoming to work as a housekeeper to be able to spend the Christmas holiday with her long lost father and to convince him to give up his vision of revenge. Her father doesn¿t want her there and despite that she stays on, but doesn¿t have a clue what to do in the kitchen. She works hard and is bound and determined to make it work. Though the job is only until the beginning of the year, she puts her whole heart into it. Too bad she is losing her heart to the owner of the Crown Seven Ranch, Reid Barclay. Reid is in trouble. In a week he is marrying a woman he feels obligated to marry, but doesn¿t love, needs to find his two foster brothers and he also needs to come up with enough money to buy out the final shares to the ranch. Now his temporary housekeeper is stirring feelings in him he hasn¿t felt in over year and his prize possession has been stolen. Can a rancher ever catch a break? Both Ellie and Reid have had hard childhoods. Ellie¿s was filled with an absent father and Reid¿s was filled with complete desertion. Ellie never gave up hope or love for her father and though she knew they would never have a fulfilling father/daughter relationship, she still loved him with all her heart. Reid on the other hand has never known love until he was a teenager. The moment he found his foster father, Kirby Morris, he finally knew what it felt like to have a family and he is determined to never lose that feeling. Now he is in the fight of his life to save his home. He doesn¿t have time to deal with his growing feelings for Ellie. He has a ranch to save for himself and his brothers. Duty calls and Reid will do anything that needs to be done. Lately some of my books have been exhausting to read, drawing out emotions that were draining and just tiring me out completely. What I loved about this book is I was not frustrated, annoyed, or angry. I felt a loving glow from start to finish. This warm feeling had nothing to do with the holiday, but with the love that Ellie and Reid provoked in me. This simply is a feel-good book. On that note, if you want a solid holiday themed book you will not find it here. Christmas was the holiday, but not the focus of the story. I am going to devour all the books in The Lost Sons Trilogy. Next book in the series is In a Cowboy¿s Arms and then the new release Cowboy Come Home. I am definitely in the mood for hot sizzling cowboys and the women that drive them crazy. Bring on the steam!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bookmomNH More than 1 year ago
Love it. This book take you to the ranch and you feel for the characters. I can't say enough good things about this book. A fun loving romance with lots of thrills to keep you reading all day long..
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1894 in Maverick, Wyoming, Ellie Jo Cade arrives from Denver as the new cook at the Crown Seven Ranch. Her employer Reid Barclay thinks she is beautiful, but has doubts she belongs on an isolated ranch where he raises thoroughbreds. His initial impression of her not belonging on a ranch proves correct when she burns everything she bakes. Ellie Jo wants to make the holiday season like those she remembered enjoying at one time in her life, but cannot adapt to the wood burning, make that food burning stove. As her employer tries to catch a horse thief, her uplifting spirit proves contagious as he and the cowhands appreciate her efforts although not her food. As Ellie and Reid fall in love; he must make it right with his foster brothers Trey and Dave as they agreed as youths to take care of each other at the Guardian Angel's Orphan Asylum and she must reveal her secret and pray for a Yuletide miracle. This is a terrific Americana tale that will have readers believing they are on a Wyoming ranch in the late nineteenth century as one can smell and visualize Ellie Jo's cooking fiascoes. The story line is warm and uplifting but fast-paced with a strong lead couple and support cast. With a fine overarching mystery tied to upcoming other "Foster Brothers" cowboy romances, fans will enjoy spending some time celebrating A COWBOY CHRISTMAS. Harriet Klausner