BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cert Pre-Owned NOOK Simple Touch

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

Highly recommended

posted by Taptygin on November 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

In regards to the LOVE/HATE review from 1/30/2012

I want to say first and foremost--I have had three nooks myself. I first started with the 1st Edition and loved it. Then the Nook Color came out and had to have it. Loved it as well but found that I had to charge it every other day because I read so much. And I also fou...
I want to say first and foremost--I have had three nooks myself. I first started with the 1st Edition and loved it. Then the Nook Color came out and had to have it. Loved it as well but found that I had to charge it every other day because I read so much. And I also found that I basically did not need all the bells and whistles that a Nook Color provides. Which is great for most, but for me--just not a necessity. I have since then bought the Nook 2nd Edition Simple Touch and ABSOLUTELY love it. I had an issue where my battery was messing up and thank goodness for the protection plan I bought. I took it into the store and they worked on it and so forth and found that the battery was some type of a "zombie battery" and therefore replaced it along with my protection plan for free. It was so Customer Service friendly to be able to just walk in with a problem and have it fixed within minutes and with no hassle. Amazing feeling!!
I have also bought the simple touch for my children, for my in-laws and step mother. So all in all--we have 8 nooks in the family now and are so happy with the results. I would not recommend anything else but a Nook for your E-Reader!! Hats off to Barnes & Noble for creating the simple touch--it is my favorite.

posted by 5859311 on February 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Great E-reader

    I got the Nook Simple Touch reader almost as soon as it came out because I had been looking for a E-Ink based reader that was a good size and quick to turn pages. The Nook was absolutely perfect and I have read many books on it since its been a wonderful experience. I also love that i can go into my nearest B&N store and¿ read for an hour for free!!

    7 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Highly recommended

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    An incredible piece of tech and a tremendous value. I bought my

    An incredible piece of tech and a tremendous value. I bought my reconditioned Simple Touch 6 months ago. I have a Nook Color, and I have an iPad, so I wondered if I would really use this e-ink unit. I'm not an e-ink champion or an "LCD screen hater." In fact, I think the whole LCD "eye-strain" case is poppy-cock. That said, I can tell you that this beauty still receives a lot of my reading time, and it's just plain pleasant to use. The light weight, the simple touch screen, the incredible battery life, the simple sync with my other devices - it's just a great package.

    All for $19 more than Amazon charges for just their cover / light. Do I wish I had the recently released lighted version?- sure, but for the money, this is fantastic.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    My Nook has changed me from a non-reader to an avid reader! I'v

    My Nook has changed me from a non-reader to an avid reader! I've read over 40 books in less than a year. I can slip it in my bag and read it where ever I go, no holding my place, no finding the page I was on when I put it down. It's lighter than a paperback or a hard cover. I just love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Hello, this is a great device, light and portable. At first, I w

    Hello, this is a great device, light and portable. At first, I was skeptical about buying it, especially with so many reviews saying they received one with problems. But mine arrived and it was perfectly fine! No scratches, functions perfectly.

    What kept me from giving 5 stars was that the page turn buttons are slightly hard to press and require a little force. Also, rubber/plastic back is susceptible to fingerprints.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    This is an excellent reader EXCEPT for the fact that the PDF ren

    This is an excellent reader EXCEPT for the fact that the PDF rendering
    is absolute crap, and you can't read simple, commonplace files like TXTs
    and HTMLs at all. If you can deal with all that -- find work-arounds
    -- then the Nook Simple Touch is worth every penny. Because it is such
    a superior reader in every other way, I'm still rating it five stars.
    Yes, it's just that good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Love my Nook Simple Touch. I use it a couple hours a day almost

    Love my Nook Simple Touch. I use it a couple hours a day almost every
    day and have had no problems for the 7 months I've had it. The touch
    screen is incredibly easy to navigate, far better than the 1st edition.
    Battery lasts forever. Small and light. My only negative is that maps
    and illustrations are very difficult to see, as you cannot re-size them
    like you might on a tablet. The refurbished model looked new.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Gave my better half one to quell the demands, great decision. S

    Gave my better half one to quell the demands, great decision. She goes virtually everywhere with it, reads all sorts of material and browses with it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2014

    I love the nook but unfortunately have had bad experience with (

    I love the nook but unfortunately have had bad experience with (a) not working properly (b) phone cust. ser. unhelpful. (c) then sent me another but it turned out to be a pre-owned one, not a replacement of the NEW one I had bought.
    I still have trouble getting it to open an new book and have several that it won't open at all. Aside from those problems I find the Nook to be a wonderful way to be able to read as much as I like and as I'm an avid reader with many interests nothing could be more perfect than to have whatever I want to read at the touch of a button. It's light weight, easy to read, comfortable in the hands (I also have advanced arthritis in my hands and shoulder) and great for my late night reading that doesn't disturb my husband.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    your product is the best. the best escape in nook ereader. tha

    your product is the best. the best escape in nook ereader. thank you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love the nook trying to get 2 for daughter n laws for christmas

    Love the nook trying to get 2 for daughter n laws for christmas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1