×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Cradle in the Grave (Zailer & Waterhouse Series #5)
     

The Cradle in the Grave (Zailer & Waterhouse Series #5)

2.7 11
by Sophie Hannah
 

See All Formats & Editions

“A perfectly executed psychological thriller” (The Guardian) from the internationally bestselling author of The Wrong Mother and The Other Woman’s House

Television producer Fliss Benson is surprised to discover that her superstar boss, Laurie Nattrass, is stepping down from his post. She’s even more surprised

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Cradle in the Grave: A Novel 2.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
ShadowSeeker More than 1 year ago
If you've ever read a Sophie Hannah psychological thriller then you know what you're going to get. Having read all previously released novels by the author I was only mildly impressed. It's much the same thing of reading Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons. You know the formula, so once you've read one, you know what to expect in the next. That is my biggest complaint about the novel. It follows the same cookie cutter format she's used in the other works. The story is mildly interesting. I found the arc to be believable, but I knew who did it after about the first third of the book. All I wanted to know was why and after four hundred pages, I didn't even care about that. I don't mind using a formula, but use your talents to trick me into believing it's something new and exciting. If this is your first time reading her books, then I'll still tell you to pick up the book and enjoy. It's a good book and well written, but after reading the others, it's a bit stale and underwhelming.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm a HUGE fan of this writer and looked ready for a good mystery with this book, but it fell short of the goal line. It was good (meeting back up with main characters Charlie and Simon) and so-so (mystery). I got hooked on her by reading The Dead Lie Down. Try that book first......you won't be sorry you did. Don't start with this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This should have been left out of the series. Seems as though it was written in a hurry
sandiek More than 1 year ago
A killer is on the loose in England and he has very specific targets. He is obsessed with the topic of women accused of killing their babies. Some of these women have been convicted, some found not guilty. Some have been released on appeal to a general consensus that they were innocent, while others have been released but may well have done the crime. The obsession spreads further to doctors who testified either for the prosecution or the defense, especially one doctor, who is about to have her license revoked due to her testimony in scores of these cases. Fliss Benson becomes entangled in this web due to her work. She works in television documentary production and is an assistant producer at a company whose star is determined to tell the story of these women. He perceives them all as innocent, and is instrumental in getting several released on appeal and in hounding the doctor who was instrumental in putting them behind bars with her expert testimony. Suddenly, the star decides to leave for another company and the documentary is dumped in Fliss’ lap. One of the released women is terrorized on the street and then another one is killed. The killer leaves a card with four rows of what appear to be random numbers on each of their bodies. Fliss is pulled even further into the mystery when she begins to receive the same cards with the same numbers. Can she solve the mystery before the killer targets her? Sophie Hannah has written a series of taut, engaging mysteries. The characterizations are fresh and striking. The interplay and politics in the police department are worth reading the book for, with the interesting character of DC Simon Waterhouse, a detective who can figure out the most complex motivations. This book was originally published in England as A Room Swept White. Readers of mysteries will be captivated and rush to read more of Hannah’s work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A poor read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Buy if you are fan. A little hard to follow but that wont stop you from being up all night reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MedTech80 More than 1 year ago
This book was awful. There were way too many characters to keep track of and nothing about any of the supporting characters stuck out so that I could keep track of them. I felt as though I needed to take notes to keep track as they all blended together. The plot was all over the place. It was poorly written and clearly a smattering of short stories/ideas thrown into one book. There were too many loose ends in the end and zero point. I can usually read anything and be entertained, but this book proved to be the exception.