×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Crashers
     

Crashers

4.3 63
by Dana Haynes
 

See All Formats & Editions

Whenever a plane goes down in the U.S., a "Go Team" made up of experts is assembled by the NTSB to investigate. Those people - each of them a leading expert in a specific area - are known as informally as "Crashers."

When a passenger plane, a Vermeer One Eleven, slams into the ground outside Portland, Oregon, a team is quickly assembled to investigate the cause.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Crashers 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 63 reviews.
TWTaz More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down! Was it the best book I ever read? No, but it was certainly one of the most suspenseful and thrilling, and I spent the entire day with my nose pressed to the pages. I found it so interesting to read about the details that go into an investigation of an airplane crash. The author accomplished this without boring me to death with technical details. I enjoyed all of the characters and thought the villains were great without being over the top. It's hard for me to pick a favorite character, because they were all great. The ending got a little too far out there for me, but I enjoyed this book so much that I can easily overlook any "unbelievable" events. If you're looking for a fast-paced, suspenseful read with great characters, you will NOT be disappointed with this book. I really hope that the author writes additional books about the further adventures of this cast of characters!
Scott Morrison More than 1 year ago
One of the better thrillers I have read in a long time. The characters were so well developed that I was dissapointed there were no previous books featuring them. The book had layers of storylines as well. It kept you hooked from beginning to end.
CBH More than 1 year ago
WOW! What an airplane and roller coaster ride, both at the same time. Dana Haynes has written a terrific story by telling the reader about the crash of a large airliner and how the many people that form the group called "Crashers" gather from all over the United States to investigate thoroughly such a crash. At first this was not thought of as a terrorist act so the group does its thing as they do for a normal crash complete investigation (if any airplane crash could be normal). You as the reader are in every part of this trip from finding each specialist in their field of airplanes to the gathering of every piece of evidence regarding the plane, the crew, the manufacturers, and the passengers. Some may be out of the country but they are summoned quickly as every minute is so important in any crash investigation. You also are with the terrorists as you learn how they brought this plane down and their plans for more crashes for reasons you learn later in the book. Dennis Silverman is one of the key people in the investigation since the corporation that he works for manufactured the new and most modern "black box" carried in this flight. The crash itself occurred in Oregon. You start as you are flying and piloting the airliner on an approach to land when all goes wrong. Believe me when I say you will feel as though you are in the crew's seats. There were a few survivors but they were no help giving any information to assist the investigation. When the torn apart airplane body started to cool down, the "Crashers" entered the plane and, once again the descriptions make you feel like you could be inside trying to find body parts and plane parts and getting nauseous from particles of humans, blood, and bones as they are found. Dr. Leonard 'Tommy' Tomzak had retired from the Crashers but he was the closest to the crash site and felt it was his duty to assist, but instead became the leader of the entire investigation. As the many specialists of their field checked in at the site or by other means of communication, Tommy took over and instructed all what and where to do their thing. All the local and state police and fire departments were on site to assist as much as they could. Arrangements were made for a huge new UPS facility nearby to serve as the reconstruction area for the plane parts. First words or photographs noted every painful detail; then huge trucks and lifting equipment were found to lift and move the scattered airplane parts. A second airplane that was exactly the same as the crashed one was brought in and placed in the same huge hanger for comparison and detailed re-assembly. Many investigators were assembled from more fields than most of us have heard of. They worked together so well that all felt Tommy was doing a great job even though he had retired-HAD the meaningful word! I will not go into all the names involved but you can easily identify them as you read. The author has done a great writing job that keeps the reader in the story without confusing them. When the chance of a second crash is brought to the teams' attention, things moved even faster. This had to be prevented and the reason for the first crash had to be discovered even faster. Dana Haynes, please give us some more of your writing in this style. We need more authors to write as you wrote "Crashers" that will teach a highly important function of a group such as the Crashers while entertaining us and leaving us into your book
Katy-King More than 1 year ago
This thriller by hot-as-hell author Dana Haynes will knock you back in your chair until you've finished the last, explosive page!
TheCrowdedLeaf More than 1 year ago
A good thriller is one that keeps you anticipating the outcome up until the very last page; it's one where you don't know who will live or die, and who the bad guy is until the author tells you. Dana Haynes' first thriller is one of the good ones. The only problem I have with it is that I'm done reading. Crashers is about a group of investigators with the NTSB who are in charge of discovering why a plane has crashed every time one goes down. Fresh from quitting the group after an eighteen month investigation failed to find a solution, Tommy Tomzak is thrust into the lead when he's the first person with experience to make it to a devastating plane crash in Oregon. Fearing this new crash will turn into another unsolvable mystery, Tommy is reluctant to take the lead. Things get worse for him when clues start to pop up that this plane crash may not have been an accident. Crashers is the great kind of thriller where we read from both sides of the coin; we know the plane was taken down by a geek with a laser and a laptop, but we don't know who helped him or what his endgame is. We bite our nails as Tommy and the NTSB "crashers" try to investigate the cause of the crash, waiting for them to see what we see, to discover the bits and pieces we know. This is not to say Crashers doesn't leave anything to mystery, because it certainly does; Haynes' gives us just enough to keep us craving more. A great page-turner, an intense edge-of-your-seat thriller, that is Crashers. Haynes' writing is so visual I could see everything in my mind. The best part is that I just read he's working on a sequel!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Debated on even buying this book, now I am glad I did. I never reached a point where I was bored, or lost interest. Hopefully there will be more by this Author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This author did not do her homework. A good story but her facts regarding Air Traffic Control (ATC) procedures, rules and phraseologies are 100% wrong and have no connection to reality. She doesn't know that passenger aircraft must have an IFR clearance from ATC which includes route and altitude assignment and are controlled by En Route Air Traffic Control Centers of which there are 21 Centers in the U.S. and not controlled by local Control Towers except for airport operations. In the case of this novel, that would have been Seattle, Oakland and Los Angeles Centers on the West Coast and New York in the east. Also, planes don't fly through clouds and rain without an Instrument (IFR) Clearance as there are other IFR aircraft being under ATC control in those clouds. If this part of the story was so unfactual, I have to wonder about facts and procedures mentioned for other goverment agencies. And, last but not least, Ford Motor Company does not make an F110 pickup--- how about an F150? I hope this lady will some time to do research for her next novel.
Jet_Mech More than 1 year ago
Even though I work on planes all day, and had to remember that this was fiction a few times, I still really enjoyed this one. Good character development, and a good story line (there again...it is fiction!)
Mort More than 1 year ago
great book. read it in two days. i will keep this author on my must read list. can not go wrong with this book. hope the second one is as good.
Wingman More than 1 year ago
Excellent book. It starts out with action from page one and ends just the same. You need to keep reading to find out what happens next. The characters are believable and the plot is believable. The ending after solving the the crash mystery could have been better, but still a great first book, look forward to the next one and hope that the characters in this book return.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved it from page 1. You really do not want to stop to sleep. A true page turner with characters so real. A little larger than life but I did not care.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
nataschajaffa More than 1 year ago
In an effort to do a bunch of research concerning the number one agent on my list and the thriller genre in general, I’ve been reading non-stop. I came across Crashers as one of the books my dream agent sold to MacMillan, but I have to say I was so disappointed in this book. The description of the book had me picking it up right after I bought it. I was really intrigued about learning what happens when a plane goes down, policy, procedures, etc. You have the typical elements of a thriller: short, snappy dialogue, action, high stakes and a ticking clock. However, for me, that wasn’t enough. Being an individual that has no piloting knowledge whatsoever, I didn’t have a problem with the incorrect research for piloting an airplane in this book, but I can see why a few pilots left bad reviews on the subject. Research is always key in any book. What I did have a problem with was so many point of views and characters being called by their full names all the time. It was really difficult for me to follow along and I honestly didn’t get a chance to care about any of the characters because of it. I felt distanced from them. For this reason, I couldn’t even finish the book. I think I made it about half way before I just gave up and said, “I don’t care if they all die.” There are other books in this series and I’m afraid they’re going to have the same formatting. Sometimes it works for readers, sometimes it doesn’t. This kind of book didn’t work for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
osaka More than 1 year ago
Thrilling, excellent book.  Learned what the NTSB goes through when they are called on-site.  Got involved with the characters, was shocked and surprised a few times.  Ending was a little far fetched, but still a very good read.  Couldn't wait to see how it was all going to end.  Makes me want to read Mr. Haynes other books.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the charachters and liked the way it switched back in forth between them. Kind of reminded me of the TV show 24 in the way that it moved from one persons persepctive to another at about the same point in time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not put this one down!! Characters were believable; fadt paced and well written with some great one-liners!! Refreshing change from terrorism plots.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Page turner and i learned a lot about the science of the ntsb. Fascinating stuff and a great story to boot. You wont be disappointed.
horsegallin More than 1 year ago
This book puts the reader right on the scene with the characters in the book. Keeps you right on the edge of your seat, right up to the end! Can't wait for more books from this author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Boatsm3 More than 1 year ago
At first I was not gonna buy the book. Real glad I did. There were times I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago