×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Crazy for the Storm: A Memoir of Survival
  • Alternative view 1 of Crazy for the Storm: A Memoir of Survival
  • Alternative view 2 of Crazy for the Storm: A Memoir of Survival
     

Crazy for the Storm: A Memoir of Survival

3.8 59
by Norman Ollestad
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Breathtaking....Crazy for the Storm will keep you up late into the night.”
Washington Post Book World

 

Norman Olstead’s New York Times bestselling memoir Crazy for the Storm is the story of the harrowing plane crash the author miraculously survived at age eleven, framed by the moving tale of his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Crazy for the Storm 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 59 reviews.
PrudeDude More than 1 year ago
The story is interesting. The writing is fine. Unfortunately, I still wouldn't recommend this book to any of my friends or family. Call me a prude or whatever, but I would not have bought the book had I known about the sex and frequent use of the F word. I understand that the author was painting a picture of the lifestyle he grew up with, but I believe he could have accomplished that without the explicit crudeness. I read all 28 reviews before downloading the e-book to my nook. I now realize some reviews probably contained veiled references to the adult-themed content, but I'm new to this and didn't see through them (i.e., the person who said they stopped reading because they didn't care for "his writing style"). I wish books had content advisories like those for movies and music. This would be especially helpful for buying e-books, since you can't flip through the pages like you would when buying a hard copy at the bookstore. I suppose a lot of people don't consider sex and language a negative issue -- but for those who do, consider yourself advised.
Eric_J_Guignard More than 1 year ago
Compelling story and well written. Two plots of the author's life - one is the relationship with his father and growing up in Malibu and the other is him as the sole survivor in a small plane crash. Each chapter goes back and forth and soon you understand how they are related, as the strength and lessons his father taught him helped Ollestad to survive. It is a quick read and positive affirmation. Enjoyed it.
BostonJS More than 1 year ago
Incredible book. Fast read. I grew up in the 60-70's and really appreciate the work ethic, freedom, and toughness that people had back then. Today with all of the safety regulations, warning labels, and scary news stories, people are encouraged to be afraid of everything and our kids have become soft. They would never have survived through Norm Ollestad's experiences. I would love for my sheltered, Nintendo-playing ten year old son to read this book, but some references are for adults only so he will have to wait until his teenage years to read this. This would be an excellent Father's Day book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a very good book!!! It was so sad but also very funny at times. I enjoyed the chapters when they were in Mexico. I also thought it was neat to learn of how people acted in the 70's
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RChittenden More than 1 year ago
This is an adolescent coming of age memoir about survival and the fierce bond between a father and son.  Several pages in I was thinking it was a two star book but by the midpoint I was up to five stars.  Truly a wonderful book of love, perseverance, and the journey to adulthood.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow. Just because something cool happened to someone doesnt mean theyre awesome writers . This book SUCKED!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not "my kind of folks", but this is a heart-felt and well written true family story. I'm glad to have read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rusty Voils More than 1 year ago
Definitely a good read. He does jump around a little bit with dates and times. I could see how that might be hard for some too follow but it is a good book and i would recommend it.
SunuS More than 1 year ago
Crazy for the Storm by Norman Ollestad is a great book on survival and a very fun experience of Norman's life as he was a young boy to his teenager life. This book shows what Norman's life had been what he did and how his father affected his life, this also explains the story of the crash that he has been through, what he did during the crash, and how he had survived. I liked this book because it was a daring book with a strong feeling to his father, he also shows his emotions towards his family. The book shows what he had been through, divorce, having a cool father, what he didn't like about his family. He explains who his mother gets in a relationship with and why it was a terrible choice; she picked a drunk that would get angry easily and does not take good responsibility. The thing I disliked about this book is that it was very bland and wasn't much of a survival story, more about his life, like an autobiography and the events that took place in his life. It only explained a little bit about his crash on the mountain. Another thing I disliked about this was that he showed a lot of negative emotions towards people, he had been abused, had his feelings hurt, and made some wrong choices. For me it was like reading about a bad experience in life. A major theme in this book is that Norman put this book so that each chapter would change from the crash back to his normal life. Each chapter had changed and you would get into what is happening, whether he was with his dad on a road trip to see his grandparents and surfing in between, then suddenly switching into the survival of the crash and what he did to get out. Something that he did was that towards the climax where he was going to be saved, the chapters were getting shorter and shorter causing the reader to read with more adrenaline and actually feeling the emotional status, the part that everything comes together and finally finishes. Towards the last parts of the book, what I didn't like was that Norman was like a mean kid, he was a bad teen that made bad choices. He always chose to be a bad person, didn't listen to his mom, gave everyone including his mom and Nick (his mom's boyfriend) a "whatever" look which shows that Norman had a really bad attitude towards his parents. This made me feel uneasy about who I was actually reading about. What I did like was that it showed what his father had done for him to become a person to hang out with all the most popular and rich kids in school during his teen years. A lot of people didn't like him and at the same time he was one of the most popular kids. At the point where he explains this is where he says that he had tan skin and looked lean that everyone would see him as a cool kid to hang out with. It showed the affect that happen because of his father, as if his father was making his future better for him. I also realized that not a lot of people like Norman in this book except his grandparents, his mom, and his dad. I didn't quite understand why nobody really liked him, Norman's father's girlfriend always gave him a mean look, Nick abused Norman many times, when they were at a village, many people gave him a dirty look. I think people should read this book for an adventure to see how the life of a troubled young boy felt and what his journey's were throughout his life and how things had affected him. It was nice to see his life but at the same time, it wasn't too necessary. Overall this book was okay, and it has it's ups and dow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago