×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Crazy Rich Asians
     

Crazy Rich Asians

4.3 92
by Kevin Kwan
 

See All Formats & Editions

Crazy Rich Asians is the outrageously funny debut novel about three super-rich, pedigreed Chinese families and the gossip, backbiting, and scheming that occurs when the heir to one of the most massive fortunes in Asia brings home his ABC (American-born Chinese) girlfriend to the wedding of the season.
When Rachel Chu agrees to spend the summer in

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Crazy Rich Asians 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 92 reviews.
Bobby_Tenison More than 1 year ago
For a debut novel you can't get much better than this. I picked it up because I thought the title was funny and was very pleasantly surprised to discover a really great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an over the top funny book. I loved every page. Two thumbs up.
ToniSimpkins More than 1 year ago
I found Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan to be a delightful read. The characters were well developed. The plot was interesting to watch unfold. I truly enjoyed this book and would recommend it as a great summer read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting read about asian culture and cultural clashes among the many types of chinese-based upbringings. But in reality, this book should have been called the real housewives (and husbands) of Singapore, except that their wealth surpasses anybody's imagination. These are some filthy rich, spoiled and abnouxious individuals that pick and choose what they like about chinese tradition and the capitalism of the Western world. The story is enjoyable, though I did not find it as funny as some reviews say. There are a lot (a lot!) of characters involved here, so it helps to have plenty of time when you sit to read it. My main disappointment with the book is that it was rushed in the end. It contrasted with the level of detail and easy pace that characterized most of the book. It wrapped up so fast that I continued looking for additional chapters. As a result, it left many things unresolved. A pity.
B-2 More than 1 year ago
So-so. It’s not like this book is bad. It’s just that its title pretty much contains its entire plot, characters and style. The rest of the book is just a junkyard of luxury restaurants, spoiled brats, Chinese billionaires, jewelry, mansions, snobs, and clubs. Monotone and predictable. I lost interest and couldn’t finish it. I grade books as Buy and Keep ( BK), Read a Library Copy (RLC) and Once-I-Put-It-Down-I-Couldn’t-Pick-It-Up (OIPD-ICPU). This one was .OIPD-ICPU for sure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pride and Prejudice meets Downton Abbey's Real Housewives... in Singapore. (some minor spoilers ahead!) What a fun, great read! At times the sheer amount of characters got confusing, but overall Kwan did a great job wrangling such a large cast. While sometimes the dialogue felt a bit flat, the narration (including the footnotes) felt so easy and comfortable I could easily overlook it. It kept a brisk pace with only a few hiccups (for example, I lost some interest in Astrid's arc after she confronted Michael the first time, since I wasn't totally clear where it was going and if it was going to be worth following.) I was pleasantly surprised with how much richness there was to this novel: the commentary and observations on society, the surprising moment when a dislikable character has a moment of humanity-- or when the one you thought was okay turns into a jag. I would've liked more depth to Rachel's character, a little more oomph, but she was nonetheless a fun heroine. Highly recommend, looking forward to more from this author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was nothing more than a chick lit book set in Asia. This story has been done over and over and over in different settings and in different eras. The ending seems thrown together as if the author needed to quickly end the book. If you want to read well-written stories with an Asian perspective, read The Joy Luck Club or Snow Flower and the Secret Fan or even Memoirs of a Geisha. Granted, they are not all set in modern times, but they are all well-written with compelling narratives. I really wanted to like this book and wish that I had.
bookchickdi More than 1 year ago
A friend of mine told me that Kevin Kwan's novel, Crazy Rich Asians, was a very funny book and pressed into my hands telling me to read it. So I did. From the very beginning, a family tree page, I was laughing out loud. The main characters are Nick and Rachel. Nick comes from a very wealthy family in Singapore, and Rachel was born in China, but as a baby moved to America with her mother, a real estate agent. They both live in New York and work at a university. Nick's childhood best friend is getting married back home, and Nick wants Rachel to accompany him and spend the summer in Singapore. That is where the fun begins. The wedding is over-the-top Kardashian style, but I'm not sure even that clan could imagine how opulent and over-indulgent this wedding will be. We meet Nick's family, including his grandmother who lives in a Buckingham Castle-type home that is so secluded it isn't even on a map. Nick's mother Eleanor is a controlling woman, who frightens everyone including her posse of friends and family who both fear her and want her approval. His father hides out in Australia to avoid the two women in his life. (And who can blame him?) Eleanor fears Nick will marry Rachel, a woman whose family is not only not wealthy, but has skeletons in the closet, so she conspires with others to break them up. (That includes a mean girl gang whose vicious bridal shower "prank" is truly awful.) There are many characters here, but Kwan does a wonderful job giving each of them fair time and creating interesting people you want to read more about. (And we will get more- Kwan's sequel China Rich Girlfriend publishes in July- hooray!) The descriptions of the houses, clothes (one character regularly shops for couture in Paris) and even food is stunning and so vivid, I can easily see a movie or TV series of this. One of my favorite food passages takes place at a popular food stall: "A few minutes later, the four of them were seated just outside the main hall under a huge tree strung with yellow lights, every inch of their table covered with colorful plastic plates piled high with the greatest hits of Singaporean street cuisine. There was the famous char kuay teow, a fried omelet with oysters called orb luak, Malay rojak salad bursting with chunks of pineapple and cucumber, Hokkien-style noodles in a thick garlicky gravy, a fish cake smoked in coconut leaves called otay otay, and a hundred sticks of chicken and beef satay." Crazy Rich Asians drops the reader into a world unlike one most of us can even conceive of, and man is it a blast spending a few hours there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read. Can't wait to see what else he writes! I felt like a fly on the wall most pages. Great sense of comedy in conversations and the right touch of seriousness in other areas. Highly recommend for a fun, can't wait to get back to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bought this based on a professional review I heard on NPR, if I recall correctly. Definitely not a guy book, might appeal to some ladies. Have always been curious about this subject, but this is not that interesting.
Christina_I 11 months ago
I absolutely love this book. I became attached to more than one character and couldn't stop reading. I will say that if you are not use to the orientation of large families, this book may be a difficult read. It was challenging at first to remember the family constellation and how everyone was related to another. I thought the author did a beautiful job with balancing between characters. There were also a few twists in here that I did not expect. It kept me guessing with each character I was invested in. If you're up for a comical drama, this is a great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
((e.e)) "it can wait." She murmured against your lips.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this a lot!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy to read but did not enjoy all the descriptions of food and surroundings, very simple story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An entertaining read but I didn't find myself connected to any of the (many) characters especially the lead ones. I think they could have been developed more because as the story unfolded I really didn't care how it ended.because I had not gotten that attached to them. The incredible luxury, culture, society and family dynamics made the book fun and interesting to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Finally a book that moves as fast as my brain!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Having spent much time in Asia, especially Hong Kong, Beijing, Shanghai and Singapore, this is a true portrayal of the one half of one half of the one percent. Kevin Kwan has depicted characters I've met and known and put a very humorous spin along with a sympathetic feel for this stereotyped club. The power the older family members still have over the younger generation...even if not geographically close ...is very strong in this culture. If you've ever spent time in Asia, you will recognize this unique portrayal of huge wealth and family expectations. Can't wait for the further adventures in book number two out in June!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was pleasantly surprised with this novel. Bought it on a whim and it turned out to be great. Can't wait for the sequel. Read it now!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for the sequel
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After all the detail and jumping around with the characters, I expected more from the ending.  There were great points underlying the entire store, however.  Just okay.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago