×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Credit after Bankruptcy: A Step-by-Step Action Plan to Quick and Lasting Recovery after Personal Bankruptcy
     

Credit after Bankruptcy: A Step-by-Step Action Plan to Quick and Lasting Recovery after Personal Bankruptcy

4.0 15
by Stephen Snyder
 
You can establish mainstream credit after bankruptcy...in less than eight months. Whether you filed bankruptcy several years ago or last week, this book will show you how to make a dramatic and lasting recovery. Stephen Snyder and his wife, Michele, each had their Chapter 7 bankruptcy discharged in 1993. They were both so cash poor at the time that they had to borrow

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Credit after Bankruptcy: A Step-by-Step Action Plan to Quick and Lasting Recovery after Personal Bankruptcy 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Lots of good pratical advise that I was able to put to immediate use but the continual preaching and religious stuff is tiring and overplayed. Just be prepared to do some major skimming in some sections.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I purchased the book just prior to being discharged from a chapter 13 bankruptcy in June 2004. The book advised me on many things that I did not know about 'secondary' or bad credit lenders. You should be aware that when you have a poor credit score, there are no miracles...just good information. Bad Credit lenders are waiting for you to charge you high interest and fees. His advice stopped my husband and me from signing bad loans many times. We kept the faith and continued looking until we received 5% financing from a credit union. Take the advice! Stay away from bad credit lenders and on the lot financing. Most of all! Do not let lots of dealers check your credit.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book about 2 months ago because I was unable to attend the seminar and thought I could gain some helpful insight. I agree with several of the previous comments...Mr. Synder seems to be more in the 'commercial advertising' business than in the CAB business. I say this because the book is FULL of commercials but void of any accurate phone numbers, addresses or CURRENT websites. Additionally, there was a chapter on where to find secure or non secured credit card...the average person would think they would find names, addresses or phone numbers in this chapter, right? Wrong! Again, all you get is 'man, they raised my credit limit', 'man, they really worked with me', but what you don't receive are helpful information (actually you don't receive anything) only a statement from Stephen saying 'I could have included the information in my book, but since this stuff changes so much I'll refer you to a special company who has all this information available for you'. Guess who he refers you to? His own personal CAB website, which by the way is NOT 'open for business'? The 'revised' book I purchased has been out for over 2 years and the 'Join After Bankruptcy' group that he steers you to, (which is printed on page 212 in the back of his book) the phone number rings busy or either tells you 'where not quite ready for business so go to this website'. Once you get to the website you realize it's just a website that Stephen's putting together and 6 out of the 8 pages that comprise the entire website say the same thing 'where not quite ready for business'!! Why have people go to a website or supply a phone number where there really is NO business in existence at all?!! I believe Stephen, in the beginning, had good intentions to help people after his ordeal, but now I think it's just about Stephen helping Stephen. I understand a business is in the business to make money, but when your business is supposed to help someone you at LEAST need to provide the help you claim to have. Even if you decided to associate whatever price for the service (which by the way you did in the price I paid for the book) you need to provide the actual service. Not a bunch of...'this person was helpful', with NO name or contact information on who this person is, or 'this credit card company was so helpful in helping me re-establish my credit' but with no company name or contact information. I could go on but I think by now you get the point! Don't waste your money buying the book and maybe Mr. Synder will eventually get the message that you need to provide people with the actual information in your book instead of the theory behind how helpful these folks where.
Guest More than 1 year ago
At the start of the book it was very informative but he kept advertising people he used (i.e. lawyer & real estate agents, etc..) except for important people such as the banks and credit card companies. He also spent a long chapter on religion which I think he could offend people who aren't religious. In the end I wanted to know more but got blindsided with him referring me to other people and organzations. I wanted to know how he specificaly got to where he was creditwise. I did get somethings out of it. I think I was ahead of the game because I already had two unsecured major credit cards in less than 3 mos after banruptcy. He also needs to update what's new. A lot of credit card companies give out unsecured cards instead of secured cards they may start off with a higher interest rate and a annual fee of $29-59 a year. I am going to try and secure a mortgage for my first Condo by the end of the year.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was interested in rebuilding my credit-- My religion and politics haven't suffered due to bk.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this book 6 mths after BK and was a bit skeptical on the reviews. If your not a religious fanatic, skip the 'Personal Development' Chapter; however, most of the advice builds you up bit by bit to reestablishing your credit on your own, which is possible. We headed alot of the advice and have slowly began to build ours again. First Advice (against the book): get all 3 of your credit reports. We found out a MAJOR mistake our BK lawyer made and we would have not known about if we didn't get the reports. In a nutshell,the book is extremely helpful and practical although the + $20 price. I could not locate it at the nearest library-too new. This is worth buying.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the most challenging things to do is re-establish any kind of credit after bankruptcy. Steven clearly shows you the steps you need to take to start getting your credit right back on track and more importantly how to not let it happen again. Many thanks for giving me a 7 year head start on my credit.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I like this book very much. It helped me deal with the stress of a BK. I would recommend it to anyone who is going through a BK or has gone through one. I learned a lot about my credit I had no idea before. Enjoy this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is BY FAR the best resource I've encountered concerning bankruptcy! There is no stone unturned. My credit score has increased because of the techniques in this book. The references to religion are VERY helpful and I share his views totally. In response to a previous reviewer, I don't believe the author's readership will suffer because the information is just that great.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After I filed bankruptcy in December 2000, I knew that it would take a lot of work to get my credit on the road to recovery...I recieved an invitation to Mr Snyder's seminar in May of 2001, and since then, I have taken some of the steps described in his book to get my credit report cleaned up, re-established my own checking account and maintained it in good standing, and I am preparing to get a secured credit card. The religious views were also helpful, as they helped me prioritize my finances.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is truly a guide to recovery after a bankruptcy. Stephen clearly gives step by step methods to recovery. He gives specifics as what to do..how could ask for more?. He basically gives a guideline as to what worked for him. So if the religion is bothersome to some, then over look it. To each is own. When someone tells their story, it would be unfair to leave out certain aspects just because of others beliefs. If that worked for him, then that is what he is sharing. Why sugar coat it?
Guest More than 1 year ago
Immediately after reading the book, I jotted down some relevant pointers and contacted a number of creditors and began the long arduous process of negotiating with them. I have not filed bankruptcy....yet, but this book is great for individuals who may wish to learn how to re-build a solid credit. But in Summary , I gave it a 4 stars, it was a bit too opinionated for my taste. The author's personal religious viewpoints were not necessarily damaging to the book, but will surely cost him readership. I was not too interested in his personal views on politics and religion. Nevertheless, a great book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
THE BOOK IS GOOD FOR DEALING WITH ESTABLISHING CREDIT AFTER BANKRUPTCY, HOWEVER, UNLESS THE BOOK IS ABOUT POLITICS OR RELIGION, THE AUTHORS NEED NOT INCLUDE THAT INFORMATION. THERE ARE PLENTY OF BANKRUPTCY CANDIDATES THAT DONT WANT THE AUTHORS RELIGIOUS OR POLITICAL OPINIONS.THIS IS A COMPLETE TURN OFF FOR A LOT OF PEOPLE.WITH THE EXCLUSION OF THIS INFORMATION, THE BOOK WOULD PROBABLY HAVE GOTTEN 5 STARS
Guest More than 1 year ago
After reading this book, I immediately started to put into action the steps to recovering after bankruptcy. I filed Chapter 7, 2 years ago, and have been depressed ever since. I cried during the bankruptcy hearing, and have not been able to recover from having made that horrible decision. I still wish that I could turn back time and fix the mistakes I made financially, but I can't now, and this book really helped me see that I can rebuild my credit and still live my life, without feeling like a failure. It's really a great book, it has internet sites, and addresses and phone numbers to help you rebuild your credit, you will find it a useful tool. I wish I had it right after filing bankruptcy instead of wasting 2 years and doing NOTHING to rebuild my credit. I did not think that I could 'improve' myself after filing bankruptcy. Buy the book, it's worth every penny.